We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great value room...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 34

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 34
Ranked #190 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great value room...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

booked through an agent, this hotel was perfect for what we needed. Great location ( red light district is hardly noticed), only 10 mins from MRT statiion. Room was cozy but clean and had everything you needed including BBC News and a film channel! I would use again for 1-2 night stays in Singapore! Allowed us to store bags which was really useful and also reception staff helped answer questions. Free Wifi a big plus!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    40
    14
    8
See reviews for
20
26
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

I checked in late(2am) with no problem. This was my second stay at this hotel and probably my 10th time staying in the Geylang district. Singapore can be very expensive, so I stay in Geylang on a budget, while waiting for connecting flights. The other hotels in the area are dirty, noisy and constant targets of the immigration police raids, due to the short-time room rentals(Red-light district).
Pros: The Santa Grand is very quiet, with a convenient location. Area is safe. The MRT station is about a 5 minute walk. There are a wide variety of restaurants and food stalls with fair prices here. The bed is hard, but that is how I like it. Hot pot for coffee and small fridge provided. Small flat screen TV good.
Cons: The room is a bit small and there is no personal lockbox/safe for your valubles.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoneFishing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

The hotel is nicely decorated, feel cozy in the ambiance. I was there just for one night.
Some couple walk minutes to the MRT station. The staff were friendly and helpful.
All in all a remarkable experience, the ideal hotel for a good bed when you're in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Driftawayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombardia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed for 3 nights at Santa Grand Aljunied: the hotel is in Geylang, one of Singapore "red-light" district. Notwithstanding this, the area is absolutely safe, quiet and full of nice restaurants, some of which are open all night long. Though the area is a bit out of the city centre, you can easily reach any place by underground, the MRT station being just a 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
The room I stayed in (standard) was quite small with a french bed (beware:hard mattress! but I slept well anyway), a fridge, tv set, aircon and free wireless.
Cons: a bit noisy due to road traffic, and no safe deposit either in room nor at reception.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fring11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
313 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

This hotel was evidently refurbished from an earlier old dilapidated establishment. As a result some parts are new and modern while others show its history. For example the room was very modern and nicely furnished, but the bathroom was very ugly and old. This is an economy hotel with very small but adequate rooms. Staff are helpful but English is poor. For some reason I could not access the free wifi -- works in other hotels. The location must be the worst aspect. It is quite a long walk from the nearest MRT station and that dirty part of town is highly unattractive and full of migrant labourers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

As an middle aged American male visiting Singapore this was the perfect hotel for me. This is a great hotel but there are some things you should know before selecting it. I'll try to cover all the aspects in my review.

*Room* - The room was clean but very "Asian" What I mean by that is it was SMALL by American standards. Also the bed was HARD. I liked that it was hard, but I am used to hard beds from other Asian trips, but if you need a soft bed look else where! When I say hard it is almost like they took a wooden box, covered it with a thick mattress pad, and then put sheets around it.

There was an A/C that worked well and was very necessary for Singapore. There is also a mini fridge which was great for keeping water. The hotpot was very nice and FAST. It looked brand new. I was pleased that they supplied packets of instant coffee, tea, and "CeReal" along with spoons and real ceramic cups. The "CeReal" was some kinda of instant corn/porridge/oatmeal type breakfast food. Not much and not substantial, but a nice way to start the day and a nice touch, especially for a low end hotel.

The internet worked well and was free (one of the reasons I picked the hotel).

The LCD TV was nice as it took up little room, although my set occasionally had sound issues, but that could have been the cable signal and not the TV itself. There also seemed to be a DVD player, but I never used it or really bothered with it.

There is *NO* alarm clock so bring your own or use your mobile/cell phone if it has that feature.

The closet was SMALL and shallow, so you have to hang your clothes at an angle to get them to fit.

The toilet and shower were in a room, but the sink was in the main room. I've seen this setup before and it was fine for a single traveler. The bathroom did have an extra drain in the floor, so when the sink was used you could hear the sound of the water from this drain. Not a problem, but just odd.

The shower required quite a bit of a step UP to enter. It looks like typical Asian showers that are designed to allow people to SIT in them. The shower worked perfectly fine and I was very happy with the temperature and pressure, again just something for foreigners (Americans) to be aware of if stepping UP and DOWN into the shower is a problem physically for you.

*THE HOTEL* - I arrived at about 2 am from Changi Airport and had no problem checking in. The hotel did a good job of making up the room and replacing towels. The desk did ask me on the second day if I needed the whole room made up and I told them all I needed was the garbage thrown out and fresh towels. When I got back the garbage hadn't been emptied. When I mentioned this to the desk it became clear that "garbage" wasn't a word they really knew as they speak more BRITISH English, so refer to it as the "Rubbish Bin" not the "Garbage Can"... Otherwise I never had communication issues at the hotel. The lobby area and the lounge are both quite nice. The gym looks excellent and I had intended to use it, but it was hot enough in Singapore that just walking around each day was a good workout! I have a picture of the gym, note that the gym has ZERO privacy if that is a concern. The desk said that to use the gym you have to ask for it be unlocked.

The hotel desk has a notice about a free shuttle service that runs in the morning. I never used it and it was never clear to me when/how it ran. It is a short walk to the local SMRT (metro/subway) station so was never an issue.

*LOCATION* Now lets discuss the location as this is a big plus and a big minus depending on who you are and what you are looking for. Singapore is a VERY modern city and this hotel is located in the "Red Light" district... What that means is that many Singaporeans live their whole life in Singapore and NEVER come to this neighborhood because of the reputation. HOWEVER the "Red Light" district in Singapore is better than like 50% of the entire parts of MOST cities... Leaving the hotel in the morning and the area looks almost deserted and empty. It is ONLY if you return to the hotel late at night (say after 9 pm) that the area looks scary with lots of people, mainly men/laborers, walking about. If I were a single women traveling by myself, or a family with young children, I would either make it a point to be back earlier in the evening, or find another hotel. Of course another option is to take a taxi (cheap and easy in Singapore) and just have it drop you right at the hotel.

The UPSIDE to this neighborhood is that food is CHEAP and plentiful. This area is especially known for fruit sellers and the fruit is also cheap and plentiful. As an American there were PLENTY of fruits here that I had never seen before but only read about and enjoyed trying them all. Eating durian is a must, at least to try it, but do NOT buy any to bring back to the hotel unless you have an AIR TIGHT container (zip loc) type bag or similar to seal it in as it DOES smell! Do not be afraid to try the various food stalls/markets. They look scary but are fine. Generally you go up to the stall you like, tell them what you want...and then sit. They bring the food to you and you pay them for the food when they do. When you are done you leave the tray/plate/etc on the table.

The whole area is definitely NOT touristy but instead feels more "authentic" The best way I can explain it is this...if you LOVE visiting Disney World and love how everything is neat and clean and controlled, there are definitely OTHER hotels in Singapore for you...but if you like visiting a place to see the "real" life of people there...then this is an excellent neighborhood to stay.

I enjoyed my visit to Singapore and am glad I stayed here. Feel free to contact me through TripAdvisor (especially Americans) if you have questions...

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Al-Burj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, co
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

We booked this hotel for four nights at SGD 85/night, and well, you get what you pay for, and in Singapore this doesn't get you much at all. At least not when the hotel bookings are tight and there are no "deals" to be found. Its not in a nice neighborhood, not really close to much (although the metro stop is walking distance), and abuts a very noisy four-lane street. But the room... ugh! It reeked of clinging smoke, all of the furniture was falling apart and cheap and the bed was lumpy. But real the clincher was the cigarette burn holes in the bottom of the (plastic) tub/shower. I could imagine a family of five in the tiny room, with chain-smoking dad sleeping in the tub, abandoned cigarettes slowly burning down to the filters. We ate our first-night deposit and fled to a significantly more expensive place (220 SGD). Sometimes you just have to suck it up and pay the price. To be fair, if we absolutely had to stay on budget, this might have been the best we could find, a truly depressing thought.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#149 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#144 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#130 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#182 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#132 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
#147 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 34

Property: Hotel 34
Address: 34 Lorong 22 Geylang Hotel 34, Singapore 398691, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Aljunied)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 34 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 34 is an eight-storey character hotel, comprising of Superior, Deluxe and Family rooms - giving a very intimate and homely atmosphere to all guests. The rooms reflect a modernistic style specially designed using different colour combinations to create varying moods. Just 18 minutes from Changi International Airport and a stone throw away from the city centre - Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre, Suntec City Mall and the financial and business districts at Shenton Way. Hotel 34 is ideally located for both regional business and leisure travelers. In addition, Hotel 34's location within walking distance of Singapore Indoor Stadium means that for iconic regional performances, we are able to host regional travelers for very short stays for whom convenience to the venue is the primary concern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 34 Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing