We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #243 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for three nights during the Singapore GP 2011. Very convenient location, walking distance to Newton MRT and and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel.
Room was spacious and the bed was comfy..the neighbors in the other room were a bit noisy and could hear them from my room...which is a slight negative.
Staff were friendly and attentive...offered me a 1.30hour late checkout without any fuss. Breakfast is ok, but not much variety when it comes to dessert. The swimming pool.

Overall i would say its a nice place to stay, provided you are not looking for luxury but good accommodation.

Room Tip: Well its a city hotel so guess higher you are, less noisier it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneesha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

*This is based on a first visit to Singapore.
*If you've had a long flight, relax and grab a taxi from the airport, (S$26).
*I arrived at the hotel at 9 a.m. and, as anticipated, my room was not ready (3 p.m. check-in). Friendly and helpful staff advised me it would be ready for 12. I returned after an enjoyable breakfast and walk in the surrounding area at 11 a.m. My room was ready!!!
*Baggage can be left securely at reception with attentive staff.
*I found all relevant staff friendly, efficient and helpful.
*In-house Trishaw Coffee house great for breakfast. Let the staff know if you are self-serve or table service. I had table service because I wanted to try the Nasi Goreng (a rice dish).The meal and 2 coffees cost less than S$20.
*My room, 823, is accessible by an efficient 3 lifts system. The room was certainly spacious and comfortable. If you like exercise, jog around the bed a few times!!! Furniture and fittings are suitable, with a few "tatty edges" which in some ways can add to the experience rather than detract.
*Importantly, the room was clean.
*I don't watch TV on holiday, but there is a large screen TV in the room.
*Bathroom is clean and suitable. The shower 'blasts' so is very invigourating.
*AirCon is comfortable unless you prefer the "arctic blasts" sometimes provided in Florida hotels.
*There is a safe, minifridge, hairdrier and spacious wardrobe but little drawer space and no iron.
*Big bonus for Brits - same electrical provision as home - no adapters needed. For other travellers, take a British adapter.
*Tipping isn't a big deal, yet, but is becoming more evident and is appreciated rather than expected.
*For a first night experience, and if you like walking, Stroll down Newton Road and Scotts Road soaking up the atmosphere until you hit Orchard Road. Be prepared to be hit by an eclectic mix of Upmarket right through to the other extreme. I did this at 8p.m. on a Tuesday, so it is safe walking at night and people were very friendly in the hustle and bustle of Orchard Street. At night it reminded me of a cross between London's Oxford St./ Piccadilly and Times Square. I ate at a Chinese pavement eatery on Bras Basah Road and strolled back to DHOBY GHOUT SRT station at 10,30 p.m. where easy and efficient underground travel took me from D.G. (which is NS24 on the red north/south line) north towards JURONG EAST and 3 stops to NEWTON (NS21). Cost S$2. 10. A 5 minute stroll and you're back at the hotel.
*Singapore is dominantly English speaking with a great mix of Western and Asian cultures.
*Exchange a S$10 note for some loose change at reception on arrival, certainly if you intend to use any public transport. Always try to keep some loose change at all times.
*Singapore has a great public transport system with a bus stop immediately outside the hotel and the underground station only a 5 minute walk away.
*People pride themselves on personal and environmental cleanliness.
*Go to Marina Bay before dusk and stroll around the footpath (3.5 km) as dusk turns to darkness. There is a lights/lasers/music/water feature display from Marina Bay Sand which has a great view from the Fullerton side. Your camera finger will be burning!!
*If you intend to take the cable car to Sentosa ( I would recommend it), it is S$26 return from Tower 1 outside HARBOUR FRONT (SRT) exit. Finding the Ticket Office can be confusing so head for Tower 1, turn left and go clockwise around the building until you reach the Ticket Office.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Vernon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Not a pleasant stay at all!! The staff wasn't helpful, the room was old, smelly and pretty dirty (dust, hair and stains). The bathroom was really old and there was hair inside the bath. Not a good location. I would not recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Location is great and accessible to MRT- however, rooms are desperately looking for a refurbishment- so boring and tired and housekeeping very poor - run down furniture, uncomfortabe bed, breakfast buffet so primitive and 1950;s food being served. For a hotel in Singapore, you can do much better- provided early check in which was great

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyChin_Chin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December. Hotel is centrally located near 2 shopping centres, bus stops and train station. For the location, this hotel is unfortunately, not up to standard. Hotel rooms are spacious but in bad need of refurbishment. Upon check-in, we found that the room had not been cleaned - there were bits of dried noodles all over the floor, and a room service tray with used cutlery/crockery outside, which stayed there the whole afternoon/night long. I called reception to ask that the room be vacummed, was told "OK", but no one bothered coming to clean up at all! Entrance of hotel has a steep, narrow ramp right in the middle of the stair area, with no clear sign near the ramp to warn people of it. We saw 2 hotel staff struggling to push/pull a load of luggage up the ramp (really bad OH&S issue here).

My good pair of tweezers mysteriously vanished after housekeeping cleaned up, after our 1st nights stay, and a complaint made to reception brought a luke warm "i'll check with housekeeping" from the obviously uninterested staff whom I spoke to!

Will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank strawberrychocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My family and I stayed here for 12 nights and found it to be more than adequate. The room size was good and it was clean and fresh smelling. The service from the staff was very good and the front office staff in particular were extremely helpful and informative especially when we pestered them for information we could have found with better online research!

Location wise it's pretty good too. It's only 10 minutes walk from Novena Shopping Centre and MRT and about 15 minutes walk from the Newton Hawker Centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NUFCadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

A standard quality good hotel located in a pleasant street a short walk (in the heat) to Novena MRT Station and shopping centre. Stayed there on a Singapore Airlines stopover package. Bus stop at hotel entrance, but could not get information about fares and destinations from reception. Good rooms and breakfast acceptable. Late check out was readily given at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1937Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#167 of 317 in Singapore
755 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#98 of 317 in Singapore
2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#149 of 317 in Singapore
1,779 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#146 of 317 in Singapore
3,739 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#139 of 317 in Singapore
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $110 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing