We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
0
1
4
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
0
1
4
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I always stay at the Queen Resident since 2011 because of its excellent location next to Outram MRT station. Accross the road there is the Peal Center where you can shop and eat. Chinatown is just a short walk. The rooms at Queen Resident are very spartan - Single room offers a small bed with thin and tired linen, one pillow, a steel cabinet, a table and electric fan. Inside the steel cabinet you will find a couple of hangers and a bath towel. Also a small trash bin.That's all you can expect to see inside the room. Since the toilet and bathroom are shared, the cleanliness depends heavily on the last user. If you are lucky you will find it clean, otherwise, you have to check the toilets and bathroom at the other floors.

Booking a room here entitles you to a free entrance to the sauna and steam room. You can also use the swimming pool, and internet facilities. There are guys offering massage for a price. They are mostly Chinese and Indonesians.

Considering the expensive cost of hotel rooms in Singapore, I believe Queen Resident is a good option for people who do not wish to splurge on accommodation. As a tourist, I only need a bed at the end of the day. And the time I spend inside the hotel room ranges between 5-7 hours. The price you pay here is just a fraction of the cost in other hotels. I will still opt to stay here for economy, privacy and security rather than pay a dormbed and share the room with strangers. If you know what to expect for the modest price you paid you will never get disappointed.

Room Tip: No difference between single and super single rooms so just opt for single and save the extra bucks.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I planned on staying here for 3 nights, but only stayed 1, I booked a Queen room, but was put in a standard single room with no window. I asked to move rooms but was denied!! The rooms are very noisy.
The owner was very rude & abrupt!!!
The room was tiny, it had a single bed and a small small table at the end of the bed, the sheets looked dirty and were torn, the walls were dirty and stained. The shared showers are dirty as with the toilets and on the sauna level the showers only had cold water. The toilets had no toilet paper, just a garden hose hooked up to a tap!
The sauna was Dirty and extremely dark with water dripping from the ceiling from the showers on the level above!! There where people sleeping in the sauna at night and at times during the day.

There is no pool, the Jacuzzi was no working when I was there, but I don’t think I’d use in it anyway because above it is the outdoor area (smoking area). Cigarette butts where falling through the decking into the Jacuzzi below. People where coughing and spitting and as I said before.....through the decking into the Jacuzzi.
Yes the rooms are cheap and the hotel is in a good location, but I really don’t think it’s worth the sacrifice!!!! Stay somewhere else and attend a different sauna.

Room Tip: Dont stay here at all!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I stayed there on July 30, 2013. I booked a Super Single Room for 4 nights at the first time, but then we got an information about the bad reviews of the hotel, so I decided to change our booking to be one night only before we check in.

And this is the best decision that I ever made, the whole hotel looks tired, old, dirty and not well maintained, the aisle, the room, the shared shower room, the wall, the linen, the mattress, the pillow, the bed sheet is totally need to be renewed.

The room was very small even it was called a Super Single Room, can't imagine what the Standard Single Room looks alike.
Don't be misunderstand with the website, there is no bar or special event held in this hotel now, and the Sauna is only open after 5PM.

the location is quite good, next to Outram Park MRT station, and close to Chinatown.

Room Tip: better to book one night first, and see if you like it or not, as if you already pay for some days and you already pay in advance, the money is not refundable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rio-Infriya-YUANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Negative

1. The room is too small.
2. Too many money boys! All of them are already illegal for overstaying
3. Very dirty, messy!
4. I saw a man "indian" cleaning the balcony at the 2nd floor, automatically the dirty water will go to jacuzzi at the 1st floor.
5. At Sauna, the crowd are ugly, oldies and yuckie!
6. At the bathroom a.) Toilet is very dirty b.) No Tissue or either soap c.) They just use hose instead of bidet, the hose is very dirty and not useful because it has a hole that the water will go to your face!!
7. 1st floor for reception is very dirty, you can see a dog "Dalmatian" always going around at the 1st floor and barking and stink!
8. All floors from 1st to 5th floor are very messy, some of them stink and need a total renovation!

If you already came to BABYLON "Gay Hotel" at Bangkok it's a totally different!! DONT EVERY COME HERE!
This is not a gay friend hotel!

Positive

1. Cheap Price
2. Near Chinatown and Outram Park Station
3. Nearby Resto or for food trippings

Me and my boyfriend just go to Absolute Sauna for fun, it's only at Chinatown just walk away from New Bridge Road.

Room Tip: Not a Friendly Gay Hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Duncansheik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2012

absolutely woeful the most frustrating sleep of my life for an entire 3 day period,wait hang on I dont think i slept at all! I would have rather covered myself from head to toe in vegemite and sat homeless under a bridge in pyonyang eating kimchee (the really hot one that burns hot) than stay in this dirty, filthy,windowless, unorganised, prostitute infested, boring, lifeless piece of concrete FORTUNATELY LOCATED in the heart of singapore. still wanna stayhere?
DO NOT
SLEEP AT CHANGI TERMINAL 1.”

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aussietraveller2647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews