We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If on Budget - this place in excellent”
Review of VIP Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Hotel
Ranked #189 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If on Budget - this place in excellent”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Given the expensive choice of hotels in Singapore, I think this was just right a choice for me and my family.

The room (family room) was nice and the bathroom seemed newly done up.

The bedshhets were very clean and chnaged each day. The bed was very very comfortable.

The hotel is in the business district and based in a very good residential area called Balmoral street.

The choice we made hence was good as there is silence in the area.

Taxi's and MRT are easily accessible.

Choice of breakfast though is not good but not does not take away too much from the good stay it provides.

Its based in close proximity from Little India so food for Indians like us is not a problem.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManojArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    26
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
11
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Location is great, rooms spacious, Internet @ SGD 3 a day! Great budget hotel for a traveller. Quite a big pool to relax at the end of the day. Very basic & simple breakfast. Quite strict with checkin & check out time, but can leave luggage to pick later ...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei, Brunei
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We've been vacationing in Singapore for over a decade, and at last found a great place to stay. Huge rooms (27 sq meters where as downtown the same priced room is only 9 !), a staff you can talk to and who did there jobs with pleasure and utter quietness at night. Situated in a upscale neighborhood on a tiny street with no through traffic, it's like you are in a cocoon of peacefulness and stability. A well established inn (since 1973, with many remodels, and now complete) run by a real innkeeper, Mr.Tan, who has designed his lodgings for his guests to like, not just endure. It feels like the sort of inns who visited in a different time, when people cared if you came back!
Yes: you do have to take a cab to get to the "sights", but they are cheap and if you are young, the MRT is 10 minutes away by foot.
Yes: there are a handful of restaurants ranging from the cheap and good to the fabulous and expensive, all 5 minutes away on foot, and a upscale grocers just down the way.
A great pool with built-in jets to ease those aching muscles from walking all over Little India, too.

All of this for the least than the cost of the windowless cubicles downtown.
AND...no hidden costs or tricky fine print.

We will never stay anywhere else but the VIP.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, Handicap friendly, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank datul_lamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabiru, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2nights while visiting Universal Studios. We found that it was only some 7 minutes from the nearest MRT station and the Newton food market. The rooms were nothing special, clean and big in size. It worked for us as all we wanted was some where comfortable and quite. The breakfeast was simple, with the same menu each day. We also found the staff to be friendly and always willing to assist.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel was nice, evenkind a far from mrt, ot takes 10 minutes walking to the nearest station, but overall we love this hotel.
The staffs are very helpful and service is great even for bfast they serve same bfast everyday hehehe..

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayinbandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

VIP was a disappointment as it is not centrally located though around 20 mins from orchard rd. The breakfast served was unappetizing and rationed as if famine prevailed in Singapore. The card key of the room didn't function properly and one night a whole wing of the hotel was suddenly plunged into darkness as there was a short circuit somewhere in that wing. We had to leave the door open and when we inquired at the reception ,the male staff there was very rude . They did not even provide us with a candle or torch and we had to wait in the corridor for a few hours . Did not feel safe in the hotel and will never go back there. Can't pay money to see grumpy and cold faces of a hotel staff . A welcoming smile from the staff is not a financial investment from management . Fortunately stayed only 2 days there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nila99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel was OK but nothing exceptional. It was clean but very faded round the edges and needs a revamp. The pool was out of order as it was being rebuilt and as we had booked because it had a pool that was disappointing - a bit of false advertising going on there! The first receptionist we encountered seemed very uninterested in us and more or less just pointed us to the room and let us take care of ourselves. The breakfast was very small and had little variety.
We only stayed one night, I think if we had been staying longer in Singapore we would have moved elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#251 of 312 in Singapore
829 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#243 of 312 in Singapore
706 reviews
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#177 of 312 in Singapore
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RELC International Hotel
#176 of 312 in Singapore
272 reviews
Strand Hotel
#149 of 312 in Singapore
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Hotel

Property: VIP Hotel
Address: 5 Balmoral Crescent Vip Hotel, Singapore 259895, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — VIP Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIP Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing