We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to everything I want to do in Singapore yet away from the hustle and bustle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Convenient to everything I want to do in Singapore yet away from the hustle and bustle.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This place charms before you even see it. As your taxi turns up into Fort Canning Park, you know you are in for a treat. Overlooking the city, it is removed from it, yet walking instance downhill to many major attractions. The rooms are futuristic and it's 2 restaurants and two pools are unique as well. Yet the price is well below some ofthe over rated stars of Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Freddiemf,

It is gratifying to know that you are able to reach out for what you need to do conveniently during your recent stay with us.

Hotel Fort Canning is the first hotel in Singapore that introduces VDA intelligent hotel system which integrates lighting, air-conditioning, curtain, internet, entertainment and mood controls; all in one touch-screen panel. You don’t have to leave the bed at all to get some of these jobs done right at your fingertips.

We are flattered by your kind compliments and will continue to strive even better for our guests.

We look forward welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    339
    107
    43
    45
See reviews for
127
565
63
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Hotel was in good location, clean, well managed and the included breakfast was terriffic. Enjoyed morning runs in the gardens surrounding hotel and felt very safe. It was a little confusing for the cab driver to find, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear NewYork5family,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that Hotel Fort Canning is your preferred choice of accommodation. Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated and we are happy to know that your gastronomic experience with our breakfast buffet selections was filled with satisfaction.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed here recently as my usual choices were booked out (conferences in town).

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has been renovated to a very high standard and the rooms unique and are ultra modern.

The only downside is that you must take a cab and there aren't always cabs waiting at the hotel. This is the tradeoff for staying in the middle of an inner city park, which is peaceful.

I was a little dissappointed by a few things in my room that required maintenance - the door handles on most room doors seemed broken - they aren't used because of the lock system used but this looked shabby. There were some other minor defects in the room also.

Breakfast wasn't wonderful, but was adequate.

Amenities were of a high standard and the TWG tea was a good touch. If my usual favourites weren't available, I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Had a premium room - anything smaller would be too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPW-BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear PPW-BNE,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

Your kind words of praises to the hotel are very much appreciated.

We have reviewed the concerns that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the involved department for improvement to be made.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel opened almost 2years ago. I stayed there few months after they opened & then again quite recently. Nothing has changed. Taxi drivers still get lost & drive around in circles trying to get there. There is no one to welcome you at the driveway. It's ok. I may not be important. But at least someone to assist me with the luggages? Where is the service?
Only 1 Front Office staff & she is busy on the phone with another couple waiting to be assisted.
After a long long wait finally on the way to my room. I remembered the first time i stayed there i was assisted with my luggages & even walked to my room. This time nothing was even offered. It's ok. Like i said, i may not be important. On the way to the room the corridors were littered with dried up glasses of wines, pizza boxes & even worst!!! Left over food!!! Absolutely Disgusting!!! There was even a bad smell when i passed by one left over food tray outside a room. My room door handle was exactly the same as the first time. Hanging loose & may drop off anytime. It's either the same room if not all the door handle are all broken. Nice room like the last time but not clean. Stains on the sheets. Ball of dust behind room door & under the writing desk. Very surprised they still have not fixed the mirror for shaving in the bathroom & still no ironing board in the room(very basic for a 5* hotel) & it takes forever when you order one BUT i have no choice! Good that they fixed the heater(no warm water the last time)
Breakfast:C'mon you can do better for $300++ per night! No quality!!! Low quality!!! Street food in some cities are of better quality! Very disappointed! Finally check out & it takes forever! No one helps or even offers luggages assistance AGAIN!!! Thought my frustrations will be over soon & head to the driveway & no taxis!!! I have to "book one" & wait for another 10mins for one!!! FYI: I'm a very patient person & don't usually demand anything BUT these are very basic service a 5* star hotel would provide OR these are a few very basic expection anyone would have if they are paying $300++ per night. If you can't provide the very basic. You should revaluate your star ratings & stop giving your guests like me false hopes. I'm sure anyother guests will agree to this. Hope to see improvements in future. Thank-you.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with city view works for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patientsgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear patientsgtraveller,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you had experience during your recent stay with us.

We take great care to ensure that important matters such as these are properly managed. On this occasion we have clearly not succeeded in meeting to your expectations.

We have also addressed your feedbacks to the various departments concerned for immediate improvement to be made.

We hope that these incidents do not mar your memories with us. Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 3 times and the last being in early January '12. Each time we have always find it a unique & satisfying experience. Although it's in a colonial building, the deco & fittings are state of the art. Free wi-fi is throughout the premises & the rooms are ipad friendly. Even the TV in the room can surf the net. Complimentary espresso is provided in the room & the lobby for in-house guests.
The last time we stayed in the Premium Luxe room, and found the design of the room is special. The bed is in the center of the room, it only faces the TV. Table & wardrobe are 'hidden' behind the high headboard. When I slept, my husband could still work on the laptop without disrupting me. The bed & pillows are really comfortable too. The room has a separate living room with TV to watch different programs or cater to visitor - well thought out.
Although the location is not in the busy shopping belt, the serene atmosphere suits us. It has a well maintained gym, not too far from our room. Breakfast is healthy with nice spread as we try not to over-indulge. The Glass House serves excellent local & western delights on their menu. Italian fare at the Garto Pardo Restaurant is absolutely superb.
Yes, we look forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Jun W

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad that Hotel Fort Canning is your preferred choice of accommodation. We are flattered by your kind compliments and will make every effort to serve our guests even better.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This building has been beautifully restored into a Hotel and retains many of the colonial characteristics.

The staff were very freindly and helpful all through our stay and we had confidence that they were always at hand if we had any problems.

We arrived early and they were fabulous in getting us a room after a short wait. We relaxed at the pool for a couple of hours and were quite happy there, even in the rain. The poolside furniture is of a high quality and you couldn't ask for a better setting. It is the best pool we have seen in Singapore.

Our room was delightful. The original balcony had been enclosed and remodelled into the bathroom, very quirky but it works well. The room was spacious and the height of the walls are magnificant. The bed was extra comfortable and the room as a whole must have been planned by a very good designer. The coffee machine was a bonus.

We ordered room service one night and it came to us in a Tiffany set, it was a treat but not as good as the food that can be had in a Hawker Centre.

The complimentary early evening drinks were enjoyable and although the lounge area is rather small, everyone would spread out to the adjacent outdoor area making it a very pleasant place to be. The snacks were not spectacular as they had very little available. As they only serve wine to the guests they would be far better to just concentrate on providing a wider range of cheeses with crackers. Another suggestion would be to have a small snack menu for guests to order from.

We were concerned about the location but found this to be no problem at all once we found the easy route in and out, there was very little climbing. There are two seperate lifts, one that serves the basement floors and hence the car park and another on the other side that takes you to your room. Once we got to the ground floor we would walk across to the car park lifts and take this to the car park and walk through the nearby car park mall, take the lifts there and the train station was just across the road.

The location of the Hotel is great and you feel the atmosphere of the park, we spent most of the day exploring Canning Park, it was very enjoyable and a great way to start our vacation.

A previous reviewer suggested to ask for a room with a city view as the rooms were brighter and although I was doubtful we did do this and soon found that it was definately the best choice. One side of the Hotel (the parkview) faces a high wall which both blocks any views and sunlight.

Our breakfast at the Glasshouse was a real treat. It is in a building seperate to the Hotel and again very modern but sophisticated. The choice was not huge but the quality was excellant and very much made up for this.

We really enjoyed our stay and they deserve every one of their five stars. It is a place I would not hesitate to stay at again as long as I was with hubby because it is so romantic.

We thank all the staff for their friendliness and hospitality.

Room Tip: I think a room with a balcony would have been perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear PegususPerth

Thank you so much for selecting Hotel Fort Canning as your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore. I hope your stay with us was an unforgettable and memorable one.It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind praises to the hotel as well as your heartening compliments to our team are very much appreciated and it will undoubtedly motivate them to strive even better for our guests.

We have reviewed the concerens that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the department for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.


Yours sincerely
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

It's a real shame. The conversion of the building was brilliantly done, and the location, while inconvenient in some respects, is a treat if you're in Singapore on business and are being ferried to meetings by car or taxi anyway. The problem is that the whole place is so darn badly run. They have obviously cut staff to what they think is the absolute minimum number of bodies, but it's not enough to run the place adequately. Twice I called room service and got no answer at all. Once I called the front desk to complain that room service wasn't answering and the front desk didn't answer either! Even worse, the employees they do have are clearly inexperienced and hired primarily because they are cheap. Most were of good will, but simply confused and inept. There wasn't a single day that I didn't have to call and tell the front desk that housekeeping had failed to do something like leave enough towels. And only once did I get any response to my complaint. Whoever the general manager is, he is either the most ineffectual manager in the history of the hotel business or just willfully blind to the inadequacy of his staff. And it really is a darn shame. A beautiful conversion of a historical building has been ruined by cheap and adequate management. Put Ritz Carlton in there and you would have something. Now you have...well, not much.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SukhumvitRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Sukhumvit Road


Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

We were dismayed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we can understand your frustration. We pride ourselves on delivering our guests a great experience at all times, we would like to assure you that the challenges you encountered are not an indicative of our usual service standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for any in convenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and it is only through valuable feedback like yours that we can improve the level of our customer services and satisfaction.

We hope this incident does not mar your memories with us. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely
Leslie Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
1.1 km away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.5 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.0 km away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
1.1 km away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing