We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Comfortable Bed and Free Wi Fi!”
Review of V Hotel Lavender

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
V Hotel Lavender
Ranked #151 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 9 June 2012

For the first timers to Singapore, getting to the V Hotel Lavender is pretty easy via public transportation. It should only cost a few dollars to get to the hotel. From the airport, the MRT (train) is located in Terminal 2. Depending on which airport terminal you arrive in, you will either have to take a shuttle or tram to Terminal 2. From Terminal 2, take the escalator down to the MRT (train) station and you will see trains on both sides. Since the airport is the last stop, take either train. The train will stop at the Tanah Merah interchange and doors on both sides of the train will open. Exit the side of the train that will allow you to transfer to other train just outside that is heading toward Joo Koon. Stop at the Lavender station and walk toward exit B. Once you get up the steps, look toward your right. Hotel V will be at your diagonal behind the food court. Thus, you can either make a quick right and then a left, or walk past a bunch of shops and make a right. Either way will work. Total trip time should be around 30 minutes or less.

On my first encounter with the check in staff, I was greeted with straight faces. But upon interacting with them, I would say they are pretty friendly. I even had some friendly conversations with their staff in the elevator. You will need to use your card key to operate the elevator.

Please bear in mind, I booked a Standard room which is the smallest available. So your room may be different. As stated in some reviews. The room would not be considered spacious. But it's good enough for me. The ceilings are high and the window goes all the way up to the ceiling as well. There is a ledge next to the window where you can put your luggage. The ledge is about 2 feet wide. The queen bed was spacious. There is about 2 feet of space surrounding the bed from the wall, window ledge and business desk opposite the bed. Two bottles of oxygenated water are provided each day. A coffee maker and coffee powder is provided daily. The in room safe is spacious. and even has a light when opening the door. From what I understand all Standard rooms will face a concrete wall. Room 42 (regardless of floor) will have a concrete wall about 5 feet away from the window whereas room 1 will have a concrete wall about 2.5 feet away from the window. Initially, I was disappointed. But this is actually a nice advantage as you can keep your curtains wide open for sunlight while maintaining a sense of privacy unless you know Spider Man is in town. BTW. Both room 42 and 1 are located near the escalator.

Two large bath towels are provided in the bathroom with no hand or face towels. But if you really need a face or hand towel, you can just buy your own at Chinatown or Little India. The shower stall is a bit cramped. When putting my hands to my waist, my elbows can touch the walls. Like other reports, my bathroom did smell like a sewer in room 1 but not in room 42. So I guess not all rooms have the sewer smell problem. On my two stays here, the bar of soap was consistently in the drawer of the business desk in the room instead of the bathroom where I would normally expect the soap.

Wi Fi worked flawlessly for me. But you have to ask the front desk for the slip of paper with the username/password (good for 24 hours) for each day of your stay. So you might want to ask for all the slips when you check in to avoid having to go downstairs every day for a new username/password. Computers are also available downstairs for $4.00/30 minutes.
The room climate control on the wall works fine. Temperature is adjusted at 0.5 C increments. At low fan speeds, noise is minimal. Lighting in the room is impressive with four light switches to adjust to your comfort level.

The water in the swimming pool is a bit cool due to the lack of sunlight from all the rooms blocking the sun that surround the pool. There is a bathroom and two enclosed private showers for guests of the swimming pool.
Bed is firm but very comfortable. The pillows are just right for me. The cushioned chair for the business desk is quite comfortable and suitable for hours of sitting without discomfort.
Check out is 11:00 am, with penalties for checking out after 11:00 am.

There is a food court downstairs open 24 hours which works out very well if you find yourself waking up hungry at 3:00 am from jet lag.

Overall, I would stay again. The bed is comfortable, the climate control works fine and the location is very convenient. For the money, I'm not sure I can do better.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
8  Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,509 - 2,515 of 3,789 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Rooms are tiny, but anyway OK since it is quite clean. No mini bar at all. Even though everyone says it has a good location with MRT station, I would not recommend to stay at this hotel if you have limited time of travelling, since it is not located in any center or attraction and it takes you at least 40 min to 1 hour to go to any such attraction if using MRT.
Breakfast is extremely bad for a 4-star hotel, you can only compare to a hostel. My family normally does not have anything to eat for breakfast since all 4 days we stayed, no chang at all in the very poor menu.
We paid 250S$ per night for a a triple room via booking.com but do not think it is worth our money!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeTintit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have read reviews before deciding on staying at V. The dreadful services, long wait for lifts and small. thus, I went without having any expectations at all! We had no problem in checking in, in fact we were upgraded to a bigger room. The problem was that the bigger room was small. Housekeeping was surprisingly fast in meeting our requests, in comparison to previous complains. The mirrors on the walls were very amusing to me, take it with a sense of humor. The location was indeed the key factor why people come here. Located right above the MRT, lots of shops, restaurants etc. it s an okay place to stay in if you are traveling in a party of two or alone. Not recommended if u have kids. My daughter kept on bumping her head on walls and corners due to the constraint of space!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Radinsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed 1 night and arrived at a very busy hotel. Reception area more like a waiting room with constant people coming and going and no wow factor at all. The room was a joke it smelled of smoke very badly and was incredibly small, this was not a major issue as we were there one night and out most of the time but had we been there a few days it would have been a issue. Bathroom very tiny and once 2 people came in and brought luggage very little space.View was of a facing tower block! There is a left luggage in the foyer but it is not secure and has literally hundreds of people passing each day. The pool area was nice enough, surrounded by concrete and apartments-ie no sun but good pool, though when busy not at all relaxing. the hotel is handy to MRT which is below and easy to use (convenient for the airport) and also a great food court at the bottom of the hotel complex. Singapore is expensive for accomodation but still feel there is much better out there, this is a get them in, get them out place with no real comfort feeling.

Room Tip: Make sure it is non smoking if that is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank housekeeping30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were forced to stay at this hotel due to booking very last minute and right in the middle of the Aviation show in Singapore therefore almost all accommodation was already booked out.

On face value when booking we thought it could be OK - I mean paying over SGD$200 per night you would expect at least half decent....oh how we were surprised

The room was so small it was barely big enough for one person. The bathroom could literally only fit one person in. Try getting two people in there!

As the property is very very large the lifts took forever to arrive once called - this was really irritating and once you did get the elevator the stopped on every floor

What we were truly disappointed about was the room servicing. After a long day out we got back to the room at about 6.00pm and the room had not been serviced. After querying this with reception they stated that they have up until 8.00pm to service each room. WHAT! They mentioned that we need to ask for our room to be serviced in the morning if thats what we wanted. How disappointing.

The breakfast was very average - in fact below average. We just ended up having a juice and then the second morning we dined somewhere else for breakfast even though breakfast was included.

One bonus for this hotel is its location though - it is next to the train station and ideal for those wanting to utilize public transport. This is truly the only positive I can think of.

Room Tip: Just avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jmclarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. My main criteria was a hotel next to a metro and this hotel meets it. It's convenient with a food court, bakery and Wendy's just around its door step and of course, the Lavender metro stop (which also has a 7-eleven). Like the previous review, i was also greeted (or should i say was not greeted) with silence. the receptionist was terrible. no hello, no smile. only 1 sentence exchanged "i will charge your card a total of xx, here are your room keys". The hotel room was small, though, the bed was comfortable enough. I woke up a couple of times in the wee hours of the morning thinking i heard someone trying to come into the room. Couldn't tell if it was the cleaners but light sleepers may have a problem, the door didnt seem to keep noise out. Did not book with breakfast so can't comment on that. For the price i paid, would definitely consider a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becksangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I checked into this hotel after a long a tiring trip - Chandigarh to Delhi and then on to Singapore after an overnight stop.
You reach the hotel, and see a row of unsmiling faces at the reception. There are children running all over, and nothing but noise - and then , no sign of any welcome with the check in.
Go to your room, and be you understand what the term 'Pigeon Hole ' means.
There is no place to keep your suitcase, except on the windowsill, and the closet, the lesser said the better.
Breakfast - just about acceptable - Just about!!
And the hotel is not cheap. The only advantage is if you want to move about in the metro - as it is above the station.
As a budget hotel - its OK.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaspal551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#156 of 317 in Singapore
1,891 reviews
1.7 km away
V Hotel Bencoolen
V Hotel Bencoolen
#152 of 317 in Singapore
1,391 reviews
0.6 km away
Destination Singapore Beach Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
Parc Sovereign Hotel - Tyrwhitt
#134 of 317 in Singapore
978 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#59 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
1.3 km away
Summer View Hotel
Summer View Hotel
#112 of 317 in Singapore
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Hotel Lavender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Hotel Lavender

Address: 70 Jellicoe Road, Singapore 208767, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $115 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — V Hotel Lavender 3.5*
Number of rooms: 888
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
V Hotel Lavender is an exciting new hotel located just above Lavender MRT station with direct access (via MRT/tube/subway) to/from the airport and various parts of Singapore (for instance, only stops to City Hall or Promenade Station). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your V Hotel Lavender reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Hotel Lavender Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing