We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, value for money. Great hotel.”
Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #82 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, value for money. Great hotel.”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unexpected from the simple lobby outlook, the rooms were excellent and real value for money. Location is great too. Would recommend as hotel is new, everything is perfectly in good working condition.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunderaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    192
    89
    13
    5
See reviews for
95
95
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed this week for a couple of nights at the Orchid Hotel. I was very satisfied with the value for money. The hotel premises were impeccably clean, modern and well maintained. The pool was beautiful and perfect for lap swimming. The staff (special mention Jasmine, lovely smile) were very friendly and helpful. The fitness room, which I didn't get a chance to use, appeared to be very modern and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel and it was a pleasant enough stay. I stayed January 5th to January 9th. I have previously stayed in the Amara hotel which is just around the corner, (both are around 3 minutes walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT station) and was a little concerned when I found out I was staying in the Orchid due to some renovations being undertaken at the Amara. The Orchid is considerably smaller than the Amara and nowhere near as "grand". However, it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms large and modern, (the hotel is new!) The swimming pool is nice - an open air terrace pool and the gym whilst very small, (just 1 treadmill, a stairmaster, and a bike and some weights), is perfectly adequate - I was the only person in there on each of the four occasions I used it. Where the hotel does not score well is with their breakfasts. They are quite frankly rather poor. If you want western food, there are some fried eggs which typically are cold, some scrambled eggs and some croissants/pastries. The selection of pastries is very small. For more eastern food, there are some noodles, (rather greasy) and some rice which is quite nice and one or two other bits and bobs. The juice is not freshly squeezed but rather tastes as if it is from concentrate. The food is ok for a short stay but if I was staying any longer than a week then it would get painfully monotonous - and as I suggested the quality of the food is not great either, (at least at breakfast - I did not try lunch or dinner).
The location of the hotel is great - so close to the MRT station and a short walk into Chinatown and apparently the price is just about half that of the Amara.
A made to order omlette bar would be a great addition to the breakfasts and would be relatively inexpensive to add too.
I'd be happy to go back but not for a long stay.

Room Tip: Top floor - 20th floor are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasputin1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights with 5 adults and 1 toddler. The best part of the hotel were the rooms, very new therefore very nice and comfortable. We had connecting rooms. Everything in the room was clean and new.The pool was closed at the time of our visit, but from the looks of it, is very basic. The buffet breakfast would probably suite the Asian palate very well - we enjoyed it tremendously. The hotel staff was kind and very helpful, although some of them were not native English speakers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SumiRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel during a recent trip to Singapore with a bunch of my colleagues from around the region. We were initially underwhelmed, as the hotel certainly did not give the impression of being very classy and the reception staff were not very welcoming and didn't speak very good English either. The bellboy was fine though.

The room however was a pleasant surprise. It was of course clean, being a new hotel and all, but it was also modern looking and comfortable. The bathroom flooring was the most interesting aspect, as the tiles appeared to be made of leather and were really nice to walk on as they are soft and don't get cold. Beds were decent, if not outstanding, but for the price it was good enough. Internet service provided was adequate if not blazing fast. The breakfast was awful though, not much to choose from and most of the Asian dishes were extremely salty to the point of being inedible. Definitely skip this.

All in all, the positives for Orchid Hotel are its proximity to the MRT as well as its comfortable rooms. Negative points would be the breakfast and the reception staff. One of my colleagues had a great deal of difficulty communicating with them as he was trying to check out, so that definitely needs improvement. In conclusion - decent option for a mid-sized budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is a newly opened hotel in Tanjong Pagar Singapore, which is 3 mins walk to MTR station. The room is huge, all deluxe (standard) room comes with a queen size bed and a single bed and there's still a lot more space in the room. I was having problems with the low water pressure for first 2 nights but the hotel got it fixed and it made it a perfect stay. Very value for the money as well. The rate comes with breakfast and internet. There's nothing to shout about for breakfast but there's a lot of restaurants or shops (bakery) opposite the hotel. It's not a grand/ fancy hotel compared to nearby hotels like Amara or M Hotel, but for the location and the size of the room, it's definitely a good stay. It's good for business as it comes with free Internet and good for family trip as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Full_of_surprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#75 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#86 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#78 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing