We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchid Hotel
Nearby Hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$297
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wangz Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$104
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel G Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$527
US$313
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
99
218
103
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
218
103
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanjong pagarmrt stationdouble bed and a single bedmaxwell hawker centrespacious roomwalking distance to chinatowneast west linebusiness districtthird floorfood centreminute walkgood sizerooms are bigwalk in showerswimming poolexcellent locationhotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 444 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed this week for a couple of nights at the Orchid Hotel. I was very satisfied with the value for money. The hotel premises were impeccably clean, modern and well maintained. The pool was beautiful and perfect for lap swimming. The staff (special mention Jasmine, lovely smile) were very friendly and helpful. The fitness room, which I didn't get a chance to use, appeared to be very modern and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel and it was a pleasant enough stay. I stayed January 5th to January 9th. I have previously stayed in the Amara hotel which is just around the corner, (both are around 3 minutes walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT station) and was a little concerned when I found out I was staying in the Orchid due to some renovations being undertaken at the Amara. The Orchid is considerably smaller than the Amara and nowhere near as "grand". However, it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms large and modern, (the hotel is new!) The swimming pool is nice - an open air terrace pool and the gym whilst very small, (just 1 treadmill, a stairmaster, and a bike and some weights), is perfectly adequate - I was the only person in there on each of the four occasions I used it. Where the hotel does not score well is with their breakfasts. They are quite frankly rather poor. If you want western food, there are some fried eggs which typically are cold, some scrambled eggs and some croissants/pastries. The selection of pastries is very small. For more eastern food, there are some noodles, (rather greasy) and some rice which is quite nice and one or two other bits and bobs. The juice is not freshly squeezed but rather tastes as if it is from concentrate. The food is ok for a short stay but if I was staying any longer than a week then it would get painfully monotonous - and as I suggested the quality of the food is not great either, (at least at breakfast - I did not try lunch or dinner).
The location of the hotel is great - so close to the MRT station and a short walk into Chinatown and apparently the price is just about half that of the Amara.
A made to order omlette bar would be a great addition to the breakfasts and would be relatively inexpensive to add too.
I'd be happy to go back but not for a long stay.

Room Tip: Top floor - 20th floor are very nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasputin1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed 2 nights with 5 adults and 1 toddler. The best part of the hotel were the rooms, very new therefore very nice and comfortable. We had connecting rooms. Everything in the room was clean and new.The pool was closed at the time of our visit, but from the looks of it, is very basic. The buffet breakfast would probably suite the Asian palate very well - we enjoyed it tremendously. The hotel staff was kind and very helpful, although some of them were not native English speakers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SumiRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed in this hotel during a recent trip to Singapore with a bunch of my colleagues from around the region. We were initially underwhelmed, as the hotel certainly did not give the impression of being very classy and the reception staff were not very welcoming and didn't speak very good English either. The bellboy was fine though.

The room however was a pleasant surprise. It was of course clean, being a new hotel and all, but it was also modern looking and comfortable. The bathroom flooring was the most interesting aspect, as the tiles appeared to be made of leather and were really nice to walk on as they are soft and don't get cold. Beds were decent, if not outstanding, but for the price it was good enough. Internet service provided was adequate if not blazing fast. The breakfast was awful though, not much to choose from and most of the Asian dishes were extremely salty to the point of being inedible. Definitely skip this.

All in all, the positives for Orchid Hotel are its proximity to the MRT as well as its comfortable rooms. Negative points would be the breakfast and the reception staff. One of my colleagues had a great deal of difficulty communicating with them as he was trying to check out, so that definitely needs improvement. In conclusion - decent option for a mid-sized budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is a newly opened hotel in Tanjong Pagar Singapore, which is 3 mins walk to MTR station. The room is huge, all deluxe (standard) room comes with a queen size bed and a single bed and there's still a lot more space in the room. I was having problems with the low water pressure for first 2 nights but the hotel got it fixed and it made it a perfect stay. Very value for the money as well. The rate comes with breakfast and internet. There's nothing to shout about for breakfast but there's a lot of restaurants or shops (bakery) opposite the hotel. It's not a grand/ fancy hotel compared to nearby hotels like Amara or M Hotel, but for the location and the size of the room, it's definitely a good stay. It's good for business as it comes with free Internet and good for family trip as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Full_of_surprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews