We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orchid Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$260
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$322
US$274
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$156
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Naumi Hotel(Singapore)
US$216
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$905
US$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$120
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
96
215
102
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
215
102
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstanjong pagarmrt stationdouble bed and a single bedmaxwell hawker centrespacious roomwalking distance to chinatowneast west linebusiness districtthird floorfood centreminute walkgood sizerooms are bigwalk in showerswimming poolexcellent locationhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Orchid hotel is a new hotel in the Tajong Pagar area. The rooms are big, the bathroom a delight and the bed & pillows so comfortable. The hotel is across the road from markets, hawker food stalls, restaurants and shops. Less than 100 metres away is the entrance to the MRT station and from there Singapore is accessible. A very easy walk to Chinatown. Combined a business trip with a few leisure nights and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Orchid is right on Tajong Pagar MRT station which provides easy access throughout Singapore and and a one, easy change link to Changi Airport.

The staff are very professional and rooms are spacious,well-appointed and decorated.Singapore can be expensive for hotel accomodation and I believe the Orchid represents very commendable value for money.There is a swimming pool,sauna and small gym on the 3rd floor.

Chinatown is only a few minutes walk away and downtown a short trip away by MRT.Get yourself a NETS card and explore the city.

The justly famous Maxwell Food Centre is a stroll up the street and if local food at super prices is high on your list,as it always is on mine - The Orchid may be just the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unexpected from the simple lobby outlook, the rooms were excellent and real value for money. Location is great too. Would recommend as hotel is new, everything is perfectly in good working condition.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunderaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed this week for a couple of nights at the Orchid Hotel. I was very satisfied with the value for money. The hotel premises were impeccably clean, modern and well maintained. The pool was beautiful and perfect for lap swimming. The staff (special mention Jasmine, lovely smile) were very friendly and helpful. The fitness room, which I didn't get a chance to use, appeared to be very modern and well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel and it was a pleasant enough stay. I stayed January 5th to January 9th. I have previously stayed in the Amara hotel which is just around the corner, (both are around 3 minutes walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT station) and was a little concerned when I found out I was staying in the Orchid due to some renovations being undertaken at the Amara. The Orchid is considerably smaller than the Amara and nowhere near as "grand". However, it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms large and modern, (the hotel is new!) The swimming pool is nice - an open air terrace pool and the gym whilst very small, (just 1 treadmill, a stairmaster, and a bike and some weights), is perfectly adequate - I was the only person in there on each of the four occasions I used it. Where the hotel does not score well is with their breakfasts. They are quite frankly rather poor. If you want western food, there are some fried eggs which typically are cold, some scrambled eggs and some croissants/pastries. The selection of pastries is very small. For more eastern food, there are some noodles, (rather greasy) and some rice which is quite nice and one or two other bits and bobs. The juice is not freshly squeezed but rather tastes as if it is from concentrate. The food is ok for a short stay but if I was staying any longer than a week then it would get painfully monotonous - and as I suggested the quality of the food is not great either, (at least at breakfast - I did not try lunch or dinner).
The location of the hotel is great - so close to the MRT station and a short walk into Chinatown and apparently the price is just about half that of the Amara.
A made to order omlette bar would be a great addition to the breakfasts and would be relatively inexpensive to add too.
I'd be happy to go back but not for a long stay.

Room Tip: Top floor - 20th floor are very nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rasputin1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews