We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wall is thin”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orchid Hotel
Ranked #91 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wall is thin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

All the previous comments about the hotel are true, good value, large room, clean and convenient but the wall is thin, if your neighbor is loud you could hear their conversation as most of the rooms are connecting. Stayed there three nights, on the second night was awaken at 1:30 am by my neighbor who just checked in. Luckily they checked out the next day. BTW, asked for a bottle opener on the third night and been told they do not have any despite there is an in-house restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a non connecting room (limited quantity on each floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJFORFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    185
    89
    13
    5
See reviews for
93
91
30
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Orchid hotel is a new hotel in the Tajong Pagar area. The rooms are big, the bathroom a delight and the bed & pillows so comfortable. The hotel is across the road from markets, hawker food stalls, restaurants and shops. Less than 100 metres away is the entrance to the MRT station and from there Singapore is accessible. A very easy walk to Chinatown. Combined a business trip with a few leisure nights and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarTraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Orchid is right on Tajong Pagar MRT station which provides easy access throughout Singapore and and a one, easy change link to Changi Airport.

The staff are very professional and rooms are spacious,well-appointed and decorated.Singapore can be expensive for hotel accomodation and I believe the Orchid represents very commendable value for money.There is a swimming pool,sauna and small gym on the 3rd floor.

Chinatown is only a few minutes walk away and downtown a short trip away by MRT.Get yourself a NETS card and explore the city.

The justly famous Maxwell Food Centre is a stroll up the street and if local food at super prices is high on your list,as it always is on mine - The Orchid may be just the hotel you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crooked Nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unexpected from the simple lobby outlook, the rooms were excellent and real value for money. Location is great too. Would recommend as hotel is new, everything is perfectly in good working condition.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunderaj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed this week for a couple of nights at the Orchid Hotel. I was very satisfied with the value for money. The hotel premises were impeccably clean, modern and well maintained. The pool was beautiful and perfect for lap swimming. The staff (special mention Jasmine, lovely smile) were very friendly and helpful. The fitness room, which I didn't get a chance to use, appeared to be very modern and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel and it was a pleasant enough stay. I stayed January 5th to January 9th. I have previously stayed in the Amara hotel which is just around the corner, (both are around 3 minutes walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT station) and was a little concerned when I found out I was staying in the Orchid due to some renovations being undertaken at the Amara. The Orchid is considerably smaller than the Amara and nowhere near as "grand". However, it is perfectly adequate for a short stay. The staff are friendly and the rooms large and modern, (the hotel is new!) The swimming pool is nice - an open air terrace pool and the gym whilst very small, (just 1 treadmill, a stairmaster, and a bike and some weights), is perfectly adequate - I was the only person in there on each of the four occasions I used it. Where the hotel does not score well is with their breakfasts. They are quite frankly rather poor. If you want western food, there are some fried eggs which typically are cold, some scrambled eggs and some croissants/pastries. The selection of pastries is very small. For more eastern food, there are some noodles, (rather greasy) and some rice which is quite nice and one or two other bits and bobs. The juice is not freshly squeezed but rather tastes as if it is from concentrate. The food is ok for a short stay but if I was staying any longer than a week then it would get painfully monotonous - and as I suggested the quality of the food is not great either, (at least at breakfast - I did not try lunch or dinner).
The location of the hotel is great - so close to the MRT station and a short walk into Chinatown and apparently the price is just about half that of the Amara.
A made to order omlette bar would be a great addition to the breakfasts and would be relatively inexpensive to add too.
I'd be happy to go back but not for a long stay.

Room Tip: Top floor - 20th floor are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasputin1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stayed 2 nights with 5 adults and 1 toddler. The best part of the hotel were the rooms, very new therefore very nice and comfortable. We had connecting rooms. Everything in the room was clean and new.The pool was closed at the time of our visit, but from the looks of it, is very basic. The buffet breakfast would probably suite the Asian palate very well - we enjoyed it tremendously. The hotel staff was kind and very helpful, although some of them were not native English speakers.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SumiRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Amara Singapore Hotel
#77 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsett Singapore
#81 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
M Hotel Singapore
#87 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hotel

Property: Orchid Hotel
Address: 1 Tras Link, Singapore, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing