We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most modern and friendly hostel I've been”
Review of Wink Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wink Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most modern and friendly hostel I've been”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've never experienced such pods before, they are none in hostels in Europe or in Americas. It's really great, you really feel some privacy, you're not disturbed by the other in the room. There is a living room with a XBox, Dvd player ; a big kitchen...
Also, people working there are really great, smiling, helpful. You'll love them !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredericGermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hey - Kind of you to share your thoughts, and thanks for your generous comments! Safe travels and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    231
    40
    7
    2
See reviews for
30
93
346
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

i had a great stay..the bunk beds are like capsules, to ensure more privacy. it is very clean..which is exeptional compaired to other hostels. stuff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Hey Constantin,
Thanks for taking time to write. We enjoyed having you and look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This is a hostel that you will not regret staying at! Amazingly friendly staff that make a point of knowing your name; relly cool pod design for a little bit of privacy; an extremely clean facility when the cleaners even lift the mattress and clean under it; a good, basic, FREE breakfast; FREE wifi and computer usage; minutes from the MRT and Chinatown markets; I could go on! I would recommend this hostel to anyone, and will definitely come back if I come back to Singapore once again. The owner is really great, too, wanting to hear feedback so that they can continue to improve! He wants it to be successful, and given their business model and approach, I guarantee they will be a success!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlablue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thanks very much (!!) for taking efforts to share your feedback here, directly to us, and via e-mail! Really appreciate the time, care and thought you gave. We'd keep plugging away to try living up to the standards you mentioned..... Again thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

It was my 1st experience staying in a hostel. The place is very clean, safe for a solo traveler even at night. Took only 5 minutes from mrt to the hostel, which is at the opposite site of people's park center. Although it costs higher than other hostels, it was totally worth it, I had no complains at all!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jukiechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hi - Appreciate that you gave us the chance to be your first hostel partner! Glad you are sharing the experience and that it did not turn out too bad. Thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed at Wink for three nights in February. There is nothing about the entire hostel that I can find fault with. The quality of the beds and dorms, the breakfasts, the level of security for your luggage, the individual pods and lighting arrangements, the lovely air conditioning, the cleanliness, the location were all unsurpassed. I want to say a special thank you to Candy, the night time receptionist, for helping me out with my travel to the airport when I had to get an early flight. She was helpful and cheerful and deserves a special mention. Thank you to Candy and everyone at Wink who made my stay brilliant!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Hey Lizzy - Many thanks for your encouraging and kind comments! Travel well and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Wink was one of the most accommodating hostels in which I've ever stayed. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the room was quality. It was one of the more expensive hostels, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montague77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Hi - Thanks for the feedback! I'd share your comments with the team whom I'm sure will be very encouraged and motivated with your kind remarks. Safe travels and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

It's been many years since I stayed in a hostel, maybe the YMCA in downtown Johannesburg in 1990? Anyway, my wife and I decided to give Wink a shot because the traditional hotels in Singapore seemed overpriced and decidedly average. We also liked the idea of trying out a pod-based venue for 2 nights. We chose Wink over Matchbox because the former said they cleaned the bathrooms at least 3 times a day, while the latter said they did it once a day. In the end Wink met expectations, although the friendly staff was better than expected. You go into a place like this knowing that you might get awakened during the night, and that was certainly the case. But our roommates were well behaved. Our room was also freezing. I think everyone was too deferential to each other to suggest adjusting the a/c. The bathrooms were indeed clean. My wife said the girls' room was packed. I never saw anyone else in the men's room, although I heard a guy evacuating a lung full of mucus in one of the other showers. My main quibble would be the paucity of hooks in the pods. There was not enough room to hang both a damp towel and clothing. So bring your own hammer and nails.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cb h, Owner at Wink Hostel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Hi, Thanks for taking time to write. We're very happy you chose Wink to re-try hostelling after so many years! Yes - agreeing on the right AC temperature in a shared room is a great conversation breaker!! But jest aside, if your room-mates prefer cooler temperature, we'd be happy to provide additional light-weight duvets for folks like you with warmer preferences. Sorry we did not learn of this during your stay. We'd also re-look at more hooks for rooms, balancing against feedback not to over-clutter the place. Again thanks for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 312 in Singapore
336 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#59 of 312 in Singapore
784 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Pod - Boutique Capsule Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
594 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#14 of 227 in Singapore
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wink Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wink Hostel

Property: Wink Hostel
Address: 8A Mosque Street, Singapore 059488, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wink Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a historic shophouse that's nestled in the cultural heart of Singapore, Wink is a premium Pod hostel that offers travellers private sleeping sanctums that are inviting and decked in plush designer finishing. Want to indulge in a little luxury while on a budget? Looking to meet new friends while mixing it up with fellow travellers in a friendly environment? Then Wink is perfect for you! Our secure tap card system grants access to spacious dorms that are air-conditioned, fully carpeted and furnished with cushy couches, perfect for kicking back and just chilling with pals. Ladies dormitories are available and come complete with vanity counters. All dorms have Wi-Fi access. You will find our custom pods come in unique designs with plentiful headroom and side-allowances, presenting you with a comfortable and individualised space that caters to your needs. Every pod is fitted with ambient backlight, sound resistant walls, a cushy backrest, reading LED light, power socket and smartcard access locker located right at the foot. A 6 inch orthopaedic mattress draped in lush soft linen and accompanied by a sumptuous duvet rounds out the experience. Breakfast is served daily in our guest kitchenette that comes fully equipped with cooking hob, microwave oven, grill and refrigerator. Other facilities include showers & toilets, a relaxing café lounge, internet stations, laundry & ironing and 24 hour reception. Centrally located in bustling Chinatown, Wink is mere minutes away from numerous must-see heritage and cultural attractions. Nearby Clarke Quay and the bohemian Club Street also serves up an exciting array of nightlife and dining destinations. With Chinatown's Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station and several bus-stops a short walk away, you will find Wink the perfect location from which to start exploring Singapore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wink Hotel Singapore
Wink Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing