We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #63 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful find”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We decided to spend just one night in Singapore before heading on to our next destination and we found Grand MERCURE a practical choice as we wished to be near the airport.

Our room was elegantly designed , spacious, clean and functional the king size bed was comfortable the coffee / tea making facilities a welcome sight and so was the electronic safe
We slept soundly. the taxi we requested arrived on time.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel's Feast@East Buffet restaurant and on both ocassions we were very satisfied with the superb quality and variety of food choices and service with a smile...

Location wise, it's not my preferred choice if I want to be in the heart of the city, However there is a shuttle that brings guests to the nearest metro and a cab is always a reliable means of transport.

One minor slip..... After breakfast , we went back to our room to get our stuff to check out but the reception as early as 7:40am was a bit disorganized invalidated our room key prior to checking out so I had to make the unnecessary hurried dash to the front desk to have our room key re-activated and she said she assumed we brought our luggages with us at the restaurant and without any apologies at all.

Still, I would rate it 4/5 based on the purpose of our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allthatisbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with the location, room and facilities, and service provided by our team. It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your meals at our Feast @ East Restaurant.

Our hotel is, in fact, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries and many more. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. Our guests have always found our complimentary shuttle services to and from the Changi Airport and Paya Lebar MRT Station useful.

Please accept my most sincere apology as your departure experience did not meet your desired level of service. You can rest assured that we will be looking at your comments in details for immediate rectification.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.


Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    2,312
    776
    132
    59
See reviews for
1,550
1,304
436
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The hotel locates in between Changi airport and downtown Singapore. It's not near any MRT station but it's about 5 min walk to a bus station (bus No 32 will take you to most attractions in Singapore). When we arrived at the reception, we normally went to the Check in counter reserved to A Club Elite member. However, when we got to that counter, a reception clerk gestures us to move to where she was standing instead of her coming to welcome us! Quite rude! Then, when I mentioned about a possible upgrade to a room with a view of the sea on a higher floor, she abruptly told me that none was available and didn't even mention she would look for something better. She made no effort to recognize us as Gold member nor she made any offer to that effect as well. Then later when we need direction help at the Concierge, they're just as rude as the receptionist. They offered short answer to the point that I felt like i should leave them alone. The hotel did offer shuttle to MRT station or airport but service to MRT is only avail able during weekdays! Room even deluxe room was small and old! This should not be a 4 star hotel! When I asked about the complimentary water bottle that guests normally get, the answer is water from the tap is drinkable in Singapore so they don't offer any bottle for that! Too much disappointment for a hotel of such standard in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is with much regret that we did not meet your desired level of service during your recent stay with us. Please accept my most sincere apology as our team was not able to make you feel valued as an A-Club elite member at our hotel, and your accommodation request was not handled properly. You can rest assured that we have taken the necessary actions for immediate service improvement.

Our hotel is, in fact, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries and many more. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore. Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel.

We are also excited to share that we have recently completed our upgrading works on the fourth level; with a new landscape around the pool, new fitness centre, 11 new cabana style rooms with direct access to the pool, new function rooms and a brand new restaurant: breez bistro.bar, of which we hope you will be able to experience and enjoy during your next stay with us. A comprehensive upgrading plan already has been set in place to progressively revamp the hotel facilities in 2012.

We have well noted your suggestion for complementary bottled drinking water to be provided. In light of our commitment towards being environmental friendly, we encourage our guest to drink from the tap that runs safe drinking water guaranteed by the Singapore Government. Alternatively, guests may consume the bottled mineral water from the mini-bar at a minimal charge.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Good points
The GM greeted us on arrival and wished us a pleasant stay,felt impressed and it raised my hopes!
Clean spacious rooms, free shuttle bus which was very efficient, free computer in lobby, cheap food in tacky surroundings at Parkway Mall opposite. Good choice of frequent buses pass hotel. Knowledgeable Hall Porters who were willing to help.
Good v Bad
DIY laundry facility cost 14 dollars a load to wash and dry
Swimming pool although we didn’t get time to use it, read why later!
Choice of restaurant with lovely looking menus all very very expensive
aircon noisy and cold although we could turn it off in our bedroom cold air whipped under our door.
Needs improvement
Breakfast buffet, they could offer fried eggs how you like as Mercure Sydney airport, instead went for omelette. Felt sorry for the chef, not enough heat in the solid top to cook it properly. Got to buffet 30 mins before it closed and we were rushed to get our food before counters stripped of food. It wasn’t cheap nor was it a relaxed occasion it was gulp and go.
Phone charges are horrific, our bill for one call was £60 eek! How can they justify these charges? Yes I could have made the call for 10 dollars if I ‘d gone to the phone box outside hotel, but at midnight a lone female no thanks.
Reception need a bit more help. They clearly couldn’t cope. We had to wait 2.5hours for our room getting in at 4.30pm. We were given a complimentary drink for waiting time it was inadequate. They allocated a room with a connecting door inspite of requests not to have a connecting door in room. We booked and confirmed at check in that we wanted a late departure at 50% more. We were locked out of our room on returning next day at 4.30pm. Unimpressively reception tried to blame my mobile phone for lock out. Mobile not working and left in room so it was not guilty.Wasted 20 minutes sorting that our and queuing.

Room Tip: From front desk rooms on left side and front of building are further away from aircon machinery
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gapyeargrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with the facilities and service provided by our team.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries and many more. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore. Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. Our guests have always found our complimentary shuttle services to and from the Changi Airport and Paya Lebar MRT Station useful.

We have well noted your comments on our facilities and meal charges. Please also accept my most sincere apology as we were unable to provide a quiet environment during your stay; and that our arrival and departure process have not been the most efficient and effective. We will be attributing a quieter room for your future stays. Your feedback has also been shared with the Chief Engineer for immediate rectification.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#101 of 312 in Singapore
568 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Singapore
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#58 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with DAILY COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing