We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your average Hilton”
Review of Hilton Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Singapore
Ranked #65 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Better than your average Hilton”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hilton Singapore is located on a very busy section of Orchard road, and a 10 minute walk from the St Regis (a hotel that I really like) as well as the Hyatt (Scotts road) and Marriott (Orchard Road) the Orchard Road MTR (subway) station.

Getting here: A taxi from Changi Singapore airport is only about SIN $25 (~USD 20) unless you arrive late and there is a 50% surcharge after midnight. It is only about a 20 minute ride in. The MTR (subway) is a lot less expensive and will drop you off at Orchard Road station which is a 5 – 10 minute walk to the hotel, but will take longer than a taxi.

This hotel has fairly large rooms and updated furnishings and carpet in the rooms. The bed is very comfortable and after a bit of jet lag it feels great. The bathrooms are small, probably due to the age of the building.

The hotel is on a busy section of Orchard road and there are lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. It is a good alternative to the St Regis hotel which I think is a nicer and more posh hotel, but given the price gap between the Hilton and St Regis it was impossible to justify the St Regis on this trip. If the prices are the same, or close, I would take the St Regis every time.

The executive lounge is located on the 22nd floor, and breakfast is more limited than the full breakfast down on lobby level. The lounge has very good hours from 06:30 to 23:00 daily.

The one complaint that I have is the last two visits I have had rooms that face Orchard Road and there is a deadly combination of jet lag and street noise. I was on the 18th floor this time, and even on the 22nd floor executive lounge, you can hear the street noise. It isn’t horrible, but I have to wonder if better windows would help. As an alternative, ask for a room that doesn’t face Orchard road, especially if you are a light sleeper.

Nicer than your “typical” non-Asian Hilton hotel, the staff delivers solid and respectable service levels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does NOT face Orchard Road - Jet lag and street noise is not a good mix.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear ordflyer,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Singapore, we are delighted that the hotel and our service met your expectations.

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the external sound from the street and will ensure that you are allocated a room according to your preference on your next visit.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    1,059
    388
    88
    41
See reviews for
455
625
285
1,036
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Decent location for Singapore, for all those shoppers; yet not in the middle of the mayhem of Orchard Rd. Old Hotel, one of those Hilton's built throughout Asia during the late 70's early 80's although they have in the last few years renovated the rooms. Unfortunately not much they can do with the bathrooms and they are still tiny! If you stay here, pay the difference and book the Club floor, it is well worth it; that is if you like your free drinks and nibbles in the evening; also take note like most hotels in the world, the windows in the rooms do not open; HOWEVER there is one set of rooms on the Club Floor with balconies and they are worth paying for; you have a bigger room and can escape the locked in feel of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear oznick,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Singapore, we are pleased to know that you appreciate our Excecutive floor, especially our Executive Plus rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In my case this hotel lived up to it's name. We have never stayed at this property before, we have always stayed down on the other end of Orchard Rd. which tends to have cheaper hotels, cheaper shops and cheaper places to eat. However the room rate at the Hilton was great so we decided to change hotels and we were not disappointed we were able to find numerous places to eat and shop that were reasonably priced. We would stay at this Hilton hotel again. The room was great and the staff was the best of the best. I will say like all Hilton hotels the mini-bar and room service have prices that are 3 times higher than they are outside the hotel, if Hilton would just be reasonable they would sell more products in house, no one likes to be taken advantage of, management just doesn't get it.....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTRON83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear CAPTRON83

It is a pleasure knowing that Hilton Singapore met your expectations. Thank you for staying with us and for your compliments to the team.

We appreciate your feedback and will review our mini bar selection and offering.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

At first I thought this will be just another old Hilton hotel, since I booked this hotel merely for the location. So I was expecting a worn out shabby room, but the minute I stepped into the room I could say that the room actually exceed my expectations. Nice carpetting, sharp interior, clean, just-the-right-size and good lighting. Another thing I love is the amneties, full range of Crabtree and Evelyn. I also tried out their room service: chocolate cake for dessert (heavenly), Chinese breakfast set and also Japanese breakfast set, I think both are value for money! Other facilities like pool and gym is so-so, but yes, it was nice to have a rooftop view of Orchard from the pool. The service is the good-old Hilton fashion that I adore: helpful door men, friendly house keeping, very good room service, easy check-in and check-out process. I would actually give a five star if it weren't for the noise on Friday night, I could hear club-beats blasted on top bass from 10 or 11pm through 1am.

Room Tip: Make sure the receptionist give you a room away from the noise, expecially near the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theprincessw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear theprincessw,

It is a pleasure to know that our room, amenities and in-room dining exceeded your expectations. Thank you for all your valuable feedback.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the inconvenience from the street. My team will ensure compliance with your specific room request on your next stay in Hilton Singapore.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My wife and I always stay at this hotel for a couple of nights on the way to,or from India the Middle East and Europe .
The location is excellent specially for those who like a walk or run in the morning ; the hotel is close to the fabulous Singapore Botanical Gdns. From the check in staff to the service on all fronts the hotel is excellent .
As the Hilton is situated on Orchid Rd one is only a stone's throw from all major shops excellent restaurants and movie theaters .
The rates are competitive and there is an excellent gym and health club .
If you are travelling with Sing Air one can also take advantage of a discounted rate via the" Singapore stop over" program .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear gibboa,

Thank you for your review and especially your compliments to our hotel. It is a pleasure to know that you and your wife always enjoy your stays with us and that you are happy with our service and facilities.

Indeed, the team work very hard to uphold a consistently high level of service for the well-being of our guests. We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback.

Thanks again for your kind review and for making Hilton Singapore your preferred hotel. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was there for 7 days in the month of August 2011. The location is excellent and major malls are in the close proximity. Rooms are quite comfortable. Food and available variety is praiseworthy. Staff is very courteous and helpful. On a particular day, I was not feeling well. The staff arranged an appointment with a physician in a nearby hospital.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GujTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear GujTraveller,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Singapore, we are delighted that your stay last August left you with a positive impression.

The comfort and well-being of all our guests are very important to us and we are pleased that you were well looked after during your stay.

Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Location is the key. Good rooms with comfy bed - bathroom seems out of date.

Fantastic service in reception makes me feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear xMike,

Thank you for your kind feedback on the hotel, our rooms and especially our service.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 312 in Singapore
2,413 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#42 of 312 in Singapore
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,557 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Conrad Centennial Singapore
Conrad Centennial Singapore
#18 of 312 in Singapore
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Singapore

Property: Hilton Singapore
Address: 581 Orchard Road Hilton International Singapore, Singapore 238883, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Orchard Road, Singapore's popular entertainment and shopping district, Hilton Singapore is close to both ION Orchard and Takashimaya shopping centers. This award-winning Singapore hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Singapore Changi International Airport and close to Singapore's popular attractions. Try the Opus Bar & Grill's prime-cuts that are dry aged in-house for 14 to 36 days and grilled over an open-flame charcoal grill, or sip on a cocktail inspired by Asian food at the bar. For authentic Italian cuisine, il Cielo is known for its high culinary standards using organic produce. Perched on the 24th floor of the hotel, the Sky Bar is the perfect oasis to relax over drinks while taking in sunset views of the city. Revitalize with an organic juice and healthy lunch from the Glow Juice Bar and Cafe. For the sweet-toothed ones, the D9 Cakery offers an impressive six-meter showcase of delicious cakes, pastries and more. Enjoy shopping in luxury boutiques without leaving the hotel in the Shopping Gallery. Stay active during your stay at this Singapore hotel. Swim laps in the rooftop pool, work out in the fully equipped fitness center or indulge in rejuvenating beauty treatments. Make business easy at the Hilton Singapore hotel. Stay connected with colleagues and catch up with work with contemporary business amenities and secretarial services. Hold business meetings or conferences in our versatile meeting rooms accommodating 18-550 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Singapore Hotel Singapore
Hilton International Singapore
Singapore Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing