We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location...but starting to look a bit worn”
Review of Hilton Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Singapore
Ranked #64 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent location...but starting to look a bit worn”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have stayed in this Hilton property many, many times. In Singapore new hotels seem to be opening round the clock. While this hotel is modern in comparison to Hilton Hotels in other places, compared to some of the other hotels around Orchard Road, this one is starting to show it's age. Knowing Singapore, I suspect they will begin refurbishing the guest rooms in the near future (a guess, not a fact).

The location is great. Just a few minute walk to the MRT. Shopping and eating all within a stone's throw (isn't shopping and eating what Singapore is all about????).

As an elite Hilton Honors member, I always hope for a room upgrade. For this visit, the hotel was fully booked. Upgrades to the Executive Floor was not possible.

Love the buffet breakfast. In addition to the usual American fare, there are Japanese and Indian dishes. Eggs can be cooked to order.

If they refurbish to rooms in the near future, I would up my review from 4 stars to 5 stars. Still a good property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Jaynyc2,

Thank you for being our regular guest at Hilton Singapore, it is a pleasure knowing that your stays with us continue to meet your expectations.

We very much appreciate your insights on the hotel and are delighted that you are happy with our buffet breakfast.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip back to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    1,043
    384
    89
    41
See reviews for
447
620
284
1,024
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at Hilton Singapore from 5 April to 7 April 2012. This was the third time I stayed at Hilton Hotel in the last six months. Guess I didn't have to say much for my repeated stay at Hilton Hotel Singapore. My husband checked in few hours earlier than me, as my flight arrived into Singapore in the early morning. The front counter staff only took one minute to give me the card key to the room. As I was experiencing some back pain, it was nice for the concierge to insist in helping me with my luggage. The only problem was that my husband forgot to ask for a room not facing the main road. As I am a light sleeper, the morning traffic noise can be a problem for me. But my husband certainly had the most beautiful sleep. I won't hesitate to book into Hilton Hotel again for its comfortable bed and pillow, the clean room and friendly staffs who never fail to give me a smile.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Elizabeth L,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Singapore, my team and I are happy to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality during your stays.

Your feedback is very important to us because not only does it provide us with insights on your stay, but it has also given us information on your room preference. We have duly recorded this in our system to ensure that your preferred room away from the main road is reserved for your future stays with us.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to your return soon.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Apart from the obvious privileges of staying at a Hilton, for the money you pay, things are very basic. The rooms have started showing age, and the lobby was packed with people all the time. it is funny that everyone talks about the location in Singapore- getting to one end of the country to the other takes around 40 min. Nevertheless, Orchard road is a nice spot to be on, and there is a quaint Shawarma stand outside for a late night snack. But the biggest turn off is that they charge you for the internet! Imagine, in this day and age! In a 240 USD room! Ridiculous! Small B&Bs in Laos offer free wifi to their backpackers! Come on, there are better places on Orchard Road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_gorilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear m_gorilla,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Singapore, and for your frank review.

As you have pointed out, the hotel is located in a prime location on Orchard Road. Guests have easy access to all forms of public transportation including buses, taxis and the MRT to easily get to virtually anywhere in Singapore.

We appreciate the importance for our guests to stay connected. Therefore, in addition to wired and wireless Internet access in our guest rooms, guests can also enjoy two hours of complimentary Internet access in our public areas.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Delicious satay and desserts at Hilton Club lounge, convenient location, comfortable bed. Many different selections for breakfast buffet, nice dim sum but eggs were cooked with too much oil. If you plan to go to Universal Studios, there’s a free shuttle pick up stop at the opposite Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChanH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear ChanH123,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay at Hilton Singapore.

Thank you for your kind feedback on our Executive Lounge and breakfast buffet. We have also shared your comments about the eggs at breakfast with our Executive Chef, who will take steps to rectify this.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back, should you return to Singapore in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

stayed here for business for almost a week. the very advantage of this hotel is it is along Orchard road and a close walk to the SMRT Orchard station (around 7-10 minutes walk). hotel itself is nice, with luxurious shops inside. room is good and standard for Hilton. may stay there if business permits soon, but I would prefer the Marriott better as it is more near the shopping establishments and train station

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasperjugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear jasperjugan,

Thank you for staying at Hilton Singapore, we very much appreciate your valuable feedback from your recent stay with us.

It is nice to know that our hotel met with your expectations and we hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Singapore.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed with the family for 1 week. The staff was quite good specially the concierge. The food was good quality and breakfast buffet was great but staff a bit grumpy, serving from the regular eggs and bacon but also dim sums, indian food and excellent breads. The Italian restaurant upstairs was very good with a very relaxing atmosphere facing the pool. The pool is small as probably not used too much. This is more a business hotel and not a resort. Fitness is excellent with good machines. Bar staff very nice but expensive. Location is excellent and very central.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear sandra w,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Hilton Singapore. It was a pleasure having you and your family with us.

Your honest feedback is much appreciated. While we are happy that you found our restaurants, facilities and our Concierge satisfactory, we have noted your comments regarding the service during breakfast. The team will do their utmost to uphold the high service levels and courtesy expected of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

It was our first trip to singapore and this hotel was perfect as a base to relax and also explore singapore. We were in an executive level room with access to the executive lounge nice to enjoy breakfast and evening canapes and drinks. (if you can afford i would go for the room type that includes lounge access) Our room was spacious and modern and had everything required. The staff were fantastic, very friendly & helpful. The location is great, right on Orchard rd which has great shopping. the gym is great and the pool area is great to swim and also look out over singapore

Room Tip: choose an executive club lounge room if you can afford the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSingapore, General Manager at Hilton Singapore, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear sunnyholidays,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Singapore on your first trip to the Lion City!

We are delighted that you were happy with your stay experience and our hospitality.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Alain Mahillon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,355 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#40 of 312 in Singapore
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#71 of 312 in Singapore
9,520 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#88 of 312 in Singapore
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Singapore

Property: Hilton Singapore
Address: 581 Orchard Road Hilton International Singapore, Singapore 238883, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#43 Family Hotel in Singapore
#58 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Singapore 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Orchard Road, Singapore's popular entertainment and shopping district, Hilton Singapore is close to both ION Orchard and Takashimaya shopping centers. This award-winning Singapore hotel is a convenient 20-minute drive from Singapore Changi International Airport and close to Singapore's popular attractions. Try the Opus Bar & Grill's prime-cuts that are dry aged in-house for 14 to 36 days and grilled over an open-flame charcoal grill, or sip on a cocktail inspired by Asian food at the bar. For authentic Italian cuisine, il Cielo is known for its high culinary standards using organic produce. Perched on the 24th floor of the hotel, the Sky Bar is the perfect oasis to relax over drinks while taking in sunset views of the city. Revitalize with an organic juice and healthy lunch from the Glow Juice Bar and Cafe. For the sweet-toothed ones, the D9 Cakery offers an impressive six-meter showcase of delicious cakes, pastries and more. Enjoy shopping in luxury boutiques without leaving the hotel in the Shopping Gallery. Stay active during your stay at this Singapore hotel. Swim laps in the rooftop pool, work out in the fully equipped fitness center or indulge in rejuvenating beauty treatments. Make business easy at the Hilton Singapore hotel. Stay connected with colleagues and catch up with work with contemporary business amenities and secretarial services. Hold business meetings or conferences in our versatile meeting rooms accommodating 18-550 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Singapore Hotel Singapore
Hilton International Singapore
Singapore Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing