We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$268
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$191
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$157
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel G Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
71
256
206
56
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
256
206
56
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeylang roadmrt stationminute walkbudget hotelscheap foodtriple roomfood courtclose to the airportmini fridgelocal foodrooms are smallaljuniedprostitutionacsgdtoothbrushespassword
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 611 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We have been to Singapore 3 times but this is the first place we would actually recommend! It’s only a 15 minute walk from the Metro station and close to a 7/11 supermarket as well as a few good Chinese eateries. The room was “compact and beaujout” should we say but it had everything we needed; a good shower, TV, comfortable bed with duvet and good wi-fi so we were super happy to chill here after a day sightseeing.

The price is good, it's quiet, the location is good - what more could you ask for??

Next time we visit Singapore, we are definitely staying here and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Angie B,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for your kind review. We hope to have the oppotunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Value for money. The beds are comfortable, aircon is strong, wifi is strong. No restaurants within hotel but there are a lot of affordable local restaurants and fast food nearby. Not along the bus line, you have to walk for 3-5 minutes. The MRT is 10-15 mins away. Along the red light district but its actually very quiet. It's not like the streets in Bangkok with women along the street, nope. I didn't even notice those were brothels coz there were no women around.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shugarmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Dear Shugarmarie,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We are glad our strategic location has managed to serve you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

everything is really excellent except for the front office staff. I checked in on the 6th of March around 8pm. really tired due to delay flight and all I want is a bed for me to lay down. ok nvm. when I was going to check in, this F.O guy named (raihan, not sure), give me a face and expression like I owed him a million dollars? with his unsatisfied tone of voice "check in?" seriously?? and then the next guy beside him also look moody and a bit unsatisfied of working. hello?!?! if you got no intention of working as a service staff,then I suggest you work in the back office. with no greetings I don't mind but why cannot give a smile? coming to enjoy services but what I got is "this" service? if you got your personal problem or whatsoever please don't bring it to work or to your guest!!!!! TQVM

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShirleyLXY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear ShirleyLXY,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We were disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience, we certainly empathise regarding the points you've mentioned in your review especially the poor service you had received. The level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party. We hope this isolated incident will not mar your impression of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

The hotel is fine in some sort but it is located near the "red light" district. Unless you really want to enjoy that, I suggest avoiding book here!
I also asked if I can store one of my luggage at the hotel for couple days, and they asked for money for doing that!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Pedram E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we always take feedback on board as it is the only way to ensure we are delivering an excellent service to our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

We stay there for 3days and 3nights.
Room is not very spacious but is was vrry clean and smell so good!

From the check in process it was very smooth and very easy, no need to wait for long time.
Staff are very helpful, they expalin well what to do.
They let us borrowed the adaptor as we forget to bring. free of charge.

Only one thing, we put the sign to clean up the room on our second day, but fortunately they dont clean.

Overall stay is awesome.
Definitely will come back and recommend the Hotel to others.

Thank you.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank 31Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerCare_Azmi, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Star, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Dear 31Rich,

Greetings from Hotel 81 Star. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're glad our service has made your stay memorable.

With regards,
Customer Care Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews