We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad… just overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Ranked #248 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Nakhodka, Russia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not that bad… just overpriced”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We spent four nights there in the beginning of April… and it’s not a horrible place, like you may think from some of the previous reviews… It’s just very basic – room is small and most space is taken by the bed, but the bed is clean and was made every day. And yes, the shower room is tiny and everything inside gets wet when you take a shower.

It’s just very overpriced for such a basic room, but I guess it’s no surprise in Singapore… so don’t expect too much when you decide to stay there and thus you won’t get disappointed

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    75
    82
    38
    36
See reviews for
38
54
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night before my transit flight
1/ You can find lots of restaurant and hawker center nearby the hotel, between 2 or 15 minutes walk
2/ Room size is quite small comparing to my previous booking in hotel 81 bugis
3/ Airport shuttle cannot provide drop you off at the main entrance of the hotel, you need to have 1 minute walk instead. Similar arrangement for pick up service
4/ Other service is in average as per hotel 81 standard

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spider999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

It's a budget hotel but the rate is not low. There should be better choice if you pay the same rate. Yes the location is good. MRT station is just 1 minute away. There is wide range of choice for dining or shopping. But I really cannot stand the size of the room and there are ants and little flying objects in my room. Soundproof is not done well and you can hear people walking and talking outside. I won't recommend this hotel unless you feel that location is your utmost concern.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halenhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

you can har all noise from the outside.they dont have proper bedding. the sheets are disgusting old sheets that didnt fit te bed.aircon is dirty and generally this hotel is overpriced for the standard.yak!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I helped my relatives from Malacca to book this hotel, which is only 10 mins walk from my home in Chinatown. The location, food & shopping here is no doubt very good, but the hotel receptionist attitude sucks big time. When I read the past reviews, I felt even more ashamed of my own fellow countrymen.

As I arrived at the lobby, I informed the plump, male receptionist that I have a booking for a room of 2. He stared at me, seemed to expect something from me. Then he asked rudely, "Do you have proof that you have made a booking?" I was a little shocked at the way he asked, but as usual, when I travel overseas, I would take out my identity card & credit card (since it's credit card booking) so that receptionists could check the confirmation on their computers.

He looked at my ID & CC & said that those are useless & can't prove that I had booked a room. I was like, huh? Then what can prove it? He didn't want to check the computer. He expected a print out confirmation of the room that I booked online. I apologized & said that I don't have it with me, but surely my ID & CC are better proofs than a print out which can be misplaced & land in anyone's hands? He got frustrated & said that without the print out, he could cancel my booking straightaway.

Deep down I wanted to cancel it & walk off, but I don't want to kick up a fuss with a receptionist who's unhappy working there, & I didn't want to keep my relatives waiting beside me. So I just apologized again & asked him to check the computer for my confirmation. He reluctantly did.

The room is clean, but very tiny & cramped. There's only space for small backpacks, not luggages. There's no remote control for the flat screen tv, so you gotta look at the side of the tv closely to operate it. Air con remote control buttons are damaged for some. It's not worth US$95 at all. I have paid US$60 for many big & clean hotel rooms with breakfast in the US & Australia before.

Please stay away from here.

If you need free wireless internet access, go to Macdonald's at Chinatown Point just across the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The receptionist was just awful even for a Budget Hotel Standard. I was treated like a refugee. Complaints on room amenities are received with bad attitude although complaints are rectified. Overall in room standard is clean and but cramp and noisy through the night.

Overall impression Bad Service, Good Location but Not Worth the Money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hengky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Great location in Chinatown - that's where the good news ends. Taxis cannot drop outside because of parking restrictions (ok, not the hotel's fault). The reception area is styled to look like a French brothel - I can live with that, but check-in was painfully slow despite them having all the information in advance.

The room was ghastly. Clean, but desperately in need of maintenance. The Internet connection didn't work, the TV remote was missing I couldn't change channel, turn the sound down or switch it off. The bed mattress was covered in thick PVC making it very uncomfortable, especially as the aircon control was smashed up - so it could only be switched on or off. This meant waking up every few hours to switch it on or off depending on how hot or cold the room had become.

Worse than all this the hotel reeked of cigarettes. I'm a smoker, I can usually cope - but this was bad!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#174 of 312 in Singapore
345 reviews
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#196 of 312 in Singapore
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#271 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
662 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#117 of 312 in Singapore
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Property: Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Address: 181 New Bridge Road, Singapore 059418, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 81 - Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing