We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cool, comfortable, clean & convenient base for your explorations in the island state” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
hangout@mt.emily
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A cool, comfortable, clean & convenient base for your explorations in the island state”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The Good

- Staff were happy and helpful. Smiles were easy to find (actually, smiles were easy to find all over Singapore). Questions were always answered thoroughly & knowledgeably.
- Rooms are generally a good size. The two rooms I stayed in had ample room for two people. - Good sound proofing.
- Big buffet breakfast included in the room price. Some strange choices (early morning lasagne anyone?) but much appreciated.
- Laundry facilities on-site. Really useful and cheap. I don't know why more places don't offer washers and dryers.
- Free unlimited use of internet-enabled computers and building-wide wifi.
- Large common room with pool table and big screen tv.
- Awesome rooftop terrace with a nice view of the city centre and a shower pool to splash about in.
- Cleanliness in rooms and in all public areas to a high standard.
- Dorms are nicely laid out. Custom-built lockable cupboards separate each bed offering a bit of extra privacy.
- Quiet neighbourhood with a small, leafy park right on the doorstep. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It was lovely to come back to after a busy day of sightseeing.
- A general feeling that the place is well-run and that the staff care. Comforting for nervous travellers.
- Air-con! Wonderful, wonderful air-con!

The Bad

- I wasn't bothered by it, but some may find the short daily walk and MRT ride to and from the hotel a little tiresome.
- Due to its hybrid setup, it's not the best place to meet people and make new friends.
- Plain rooms. Lots of Ikea furnishings.
- Some private rooms don't have windows.

The Verdict

If you're on a tight budget but require a few more home comforts for your money, this is the place for you. Ignore any concerns about the location. It's really not that far a walk and you'll be glad of the peace once you get back after being on the go all day. For the money, you could only really expect the hotel to be clean and comfortable. It is, yet you also get free wifi, free breakfast, a funky common room and rooftop terrace to hangout in, helpful staff on call 24 hours a day, big, airy rooms with air-con, laundry facilities and even bikes to hire. What's not to like? Book far enough ahead, and you could bag yourself one of the biggest bargains Singapore has to offer.

Room Tip: Some rooms come without windows. Worth considering whether that matters to you when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    317
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
137
200
119
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at Mt Emily after relaxed and lavish stay in Malaysia and Singapore earlier. As we have planned whole day of sight-seeing and also Santosa Island for couple of days, we were looking for a no frills but clean and nice hotel / hostel which is convenient for commuting with no big hole in pockets.

The location is not as great as something right on Orchid Road or CBD but in a nice and peaceful residential area with Little India MRT is few steps away ( one needs to take short route to reach MRT through the garden opposite of Mt. Emily - don't worry, the reception is very efficient and they will guide you for the first time). While I have been to Singapore many times before, this was the first time we used MRT extensively, and I have to say that it works perfectly well. Though the cabs are easily available in Singapore if you are tired or coming back in the late night to hotel.

The room was nice and clean. A bit smaller but that was expected. Bathroom too was clean and nice with good shower. While we didn't specifically ask for the room with window, we got the one with window overlooking the adjunct Mt Emily Park.

Breakfast was simple but nice - the arrangements in breakfast area were good too.

Mt Emily gets full marks on efficient and helpful staff. The front desk lady helped us plan our sightseeing and also helped us to book the coach to visit Zoo and Night Safari.

All in all, nice and value for money place but with no frills.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darshans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

You found the best hostel with shared dorms in Singapore if not one of the best in the world. It is not only me saying this but some others I met here.
No bunk beds but single ones separated by a wardrobe with a locker for your own things. So you have some privacy compared to the regular shared dorms. Personally I did not like the very coolish air condition so much.
The facilities are spacious, very good and clean. The rooftop (7th floor) allows for chilling and has a great view downtown.
The location is good and quite.
Staff is always helpful and friendly.
Once I looked for alternatives in Singapore (I had a cold and the air condition wasn't helpful). None gets near to the hangout standard. I preferred checking in back.
When in Singapore this is my place.

Room Tip: The beds in the dorm are affected differently by the air condition. See which suits you best: coolis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoMadKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed for three nights in a triple room, a basic room with three comfortable beds and large windows. There is a slight damp smell in the room, but we are able to eliminate it after switching on the air conditioning. Both the room and bathroom are very clean, which was great. The breakfast included was good, with a choice of bread, cereal, and cooked food such as fried rice, sausages, bread pudding, baked beans etc.

The location is convenient, only a short walking distance to Little India MRT. It is located on top of the hill though, therefore you have to walk up a few flights of stairs which can be a bit tiring after a whole day of travelling.

There is a communal area on the 2nd floor. Sofas, an LCD TV, pool table, computers with WiFi access and free coffee are provided for your entertainment. We also enjoyed the rooftop garden with a great night view located on the 7th floor.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel, and considering it is very expensive to find a comfortable private room accommodation in Singapore, it is quite value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChizuruOkada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Singapore was a great city to visit on tourism purpose……greenery is all around Singapore……but the stay at hangout hotel situated at the upper wilkie road, opposite to mount emily park was a great choice to make.......excellent interiors, very neatly maintained rooms, good friendly staff, internet access, round the clock coffee/tea availability......everything was at its best...........i only missed a swimming pool and tv facility inside my room........anyway as i was roaming around singapore, used to arrive very late into the hotel and go off in the morning....overall a good hotel certainly............i rate 4.5 points out of 5.................In case it had a swimming pool access, it would have been 5 out of 5……….

Room Tip: Request for a room with window in advance..........coz all the rooms dont have windows.......beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKCHOUDHURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is definitely more hostel and less hotel. However that said we enjoyed our no-frills stay. Pros and cons below -
Pros: Centrally-located, walking distance to nearly everything. Reasonably priced. Fantastic restaurant (upscale, unlike the hostel, but no matter, we loved the food). Reliable and free wifi. Friendly staff. Onsite laundry. Lookout spot on rooftop.
Cons: tiny rooms with no windows. cold showers (though with Singapore heat, we didn't miss the hot water). we indicated that we did not want housekeeping between the nights but they came anyway.

Room Tip: Not sure if you can request a room with a window, but doesn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobalEater123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanazawa, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Nice little hostel - service was excellent. Staff were really friendly and helpful, and the free breakfasts were great! Good free wifi connection. Slight walk from little India MRT but not too bad.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,206 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#11 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#7 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Fisher BnB
#4 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Property: hangout@mt.emily
Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — hangout@mt.emily 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing