We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do the Bariloche-Puerto Varas crossing in 1 day”
Review of Hotel Peulla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Peulla
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Peulla has absolutely nothing to recommend it except for the view of the mountains and the hotel here is really very ordinary. The food was awful, there is nothing extra in the rooms such as tissues or shower caps or water. The hotel is just a clearing station for the company that runs the tours. Do the crossing in one day and spend the extra night in Puerto Varas which is a pretty little town.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 24AngelaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had no choice as to where we had to spend half a day because we were crossing the Patagonian Lake in Chile. They dropped us here without telling us what to expect.
The staff was not friendly. The receptionists were rude. We did not check into the hotel but we were left here. There were a few excursions offered but we did not take any. Lunch was expensive and service was not efficient. We had to flag down the waiters as they were not even making eye contact with us! We had soup, pasta and stew. The food was not good. The landscape was attractive. There was a rundown abandoned hotel next to the hotel There were beautiful flowers in the back of the hotel. What do you do in the middle of nowhere where you had no choice but to stay until the next bus service came to pick you up? I will not go back here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELdglobenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Spacious room that opens to a backdrop of mountains and nature. Not much to do here except some activities like "canopy", hiking, boating etc.

Rooms have been renovated recently with heating everywhere but no air-con at all. Got a bit warm in the afternoon and the only solution is to open the windows. Ended up with lots of insects inside the room.

Breakfast was plentiful but fruits were all canned ! Lake crossing is the only way in and out and can be rather expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diskali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A typical quick in and out tour group hotel. No eating alternatives are available - you're trapped!
If you are on a Half Board option the food is awful and breakfast is the most basic ever.
The waiter at lunchtime was very rude when we refused coffee. We had a large corner comfortable bedroom with good views. If your thing is ziplining/rafting/kayaking or safari jeep trips then come - if not stay away. Not much information available from the hotel - only seem interested in selling their own overpriced excursions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Peulla (not Puella) is a wonderful, amazing, atonishing, breathtaking place. Staying there, however, requires a infrastructure because there is nothing around and the arriving there only happens by boat (catamarã), crossing the marvelous Lago de Todos los Santos. That means one depends on that catamarã, once a day to get in and out Peulla and needs a hotel service (or some other service, but there is not other service) to spend some time in there. They offer some very good programs around the park and they are really special. More, the guides work very well, they are kindly, friendly and make the whole thing to be very, very pleasant and funny. And that is all.

The hotel itself is very old (103 yr old), but well maintened. However, it is not good. You can "smell the years" in the bedrooms and bathrooms, there is no frigobar, no heather control by the guest, and the service is very very very poor.

The restaurant folks is not ready for many people (that happens when people crossing to Argentina stay for lanche), they are unkind to you and food is not tasteful. When there are only a few guests it works better, but not really good. And that food is really expensive.

So, go to Peulla if you want to visit a real sanctuary of the nature. But go back the same day. Do not spend the nigth in the Peulla Hotel. It doesn't pay what you will pay for. And there is no need to stay, unless you are traveling somewhere else (to Argentina) and have to cross there and spend the night. Again: there is absolutely nothing to do there when the excursions are over.

But , I still have to say they have another hotel (Nature), just next door , that is about 3 or 4 yr old, looks very good and confortable (there is elevador...), very well decorated, not smelling (I come in for visiting) and, of course more expensive. Can't tell about the service or food but, maybe, it can be better. The owner is the same, but it looks much better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuelyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

For those on the lake/mountain excursion from Puerto Varas, CI to Bariloche, AG, you must stay a night at one of two hotels in this small enclave in a stunningly beautiful valley in the middle of glorious no-where. The reviews say that this place is less than great, and it looks run down outside. Inside, we were pleasantly surprised at the size and appointment of our room- quite large with great bathroom. Very quiet is a plus, but little to do for 24 hours while interred in this town, the tour agency (or the hotel) will entertain you with overpriced, underwhelming "excursions", while 20 km up the road is a spectacular national park with glaciers and views of the Andes. We hiked the road instead and had a great adventure, meeting a farmer who gave us a lift and added local color to our visit. The restaurant was ok, not the best of our trip by far, but you've come for the natural beauty, so relax, read a book in the lounge, and enjoy your stay. Internet is not high speed and fitness center is unkept. I would not pay twice as much for the newer hotel next door.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

We stayed at Hotel Puella in the middle of the Lakes Crossing from Puerto Varas to Bariloche.

The hotel is over a 100 years and has an old world charm about it. The rooms were adequate (3 star standard) and looked to have been renovated in the last few years.

The only other hotel in Puella is the Natura Hotel which is a lot more modern only being a couple of years old.

The lakes crossing was spectacular and I would recommend ,rather than trying to rush to do it in one day, spending a night in Puella.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Peulla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peulla

Address: Puerto Montt, Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Parque Nacional Vicente Perez Rosales
Price Range: $67 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peulla 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Peulla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing