We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Romandia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Romandia
Ranked #26 of 152 Santiago B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I spent about a week at this great bed and breakfast (I would not consider it a hostel because the feeling was much more that of a home and there was a lot of privacy and comfort). Maria Teresa was the caretaker at night and in the early mornings and she made my stay incredibly comfortable. There were a few issues with the electricity and the room when I arrived (it was winter and I wanted to make sure the heat would work!) and she was attentive and quick to resolve the problem. She was consistently kind and generous and even gave me detailed directions (after spending quite some time doing online research) to a local market where I could find rare ingredients for making a specific meal for my grandmother who was sick. The place was clean, comfortable and conveniently located close to my family's residence in Santiago. I recommend this place completely. And I thank Maria Teresa immensely for her special way of making sure guests were happy here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecacristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
10
26
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hostal is in a converted house, but it is quite cold and noise travels, so the 24 hour reception can be quite disturbing at night. There are some nice members of staff, who are helpful. There was a member of staff, possibly the owner, who was not particularly friendly, very clinical and cold. The hostal is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, quite far from the centre of the city.
I probably would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoTrav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

we spent 4 nights here and it wasn´t long enough! the hostal is set in a beautiful converted house and provided the perfect base for our stay in santiago. the owners were super helpful - the chattiest, loveliest people you could hope to meet. they organised a great all-inclusive skiing day trip (which we highly recommend), ordered numerous taxis for us, and generally helped us with our every need. breakfast was plentiful and the communal dining area was great for meeting fellow travelers. the area of providencia is a great neighbourhood with restaurants and cafes not far from romandia. it was a great choice for us!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bora Bora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very helpful people, comfortable beds, enjoyed the breakfast... felt like going to a friend's home!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandpitrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Im staying in Hostal Romandia for 3 month now. It is a beautiful hostal, great location, nice area here in providencia and the owners of the hostal are very very friendly and helpful people.
Last weekend the earthquake in santiago was a big shock for me because I never experienced something like that before.
But I was surprised when I left the house two days later to go downtown. I havent seen any destroyed or damaged buldings and the city just didnt looked like an earthquake had taken place.
Eventhough many tourists cancel their trip to Chile, friends from Germany will come to visit me. The highways to the coast arent damaged, nor any streets in the city and even the airport works normal again so that we have the possibility to travel.
I also saw many tourists in the center of the city behaving as if nothing happened and enjoying their vacations in Santiago.
So if you planned a trip to Chile and Santiago dont be afraid of the bad news and horrible pictures you see in tv. Its something horrible that happened last week, but people try to go back to normal life.
So enjoy Santiago, because its worth visiting =)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenitaFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

My two friends and I stayed at this hostel for a few days in July. It was the nicest hostel we stayed in during our travels. Very clean, good breakfast with a nice variety, accomodating staff. It's on a safe, quiet street near the Italian Embassy. The bus picks up a few blocks away with easy access to the Metro. I'd happily recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fromAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

This place is a fantastic choice in Santiago. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it, it was the perfect place for us. The house is very modern, comfortable and tranquil. The staff are extremely nice and accommodating.

The beds are fantastic, extremely comfortable with big fluffy pillows, the downside being that we couldn´t get out of bed in the mornings! This was not a problem though as cheerful Alicia was prepared to serve breakfast at anytime of the day for us, she´s an absolute gem!
We should add that the breakfast is great (you get far more choice than the usual bread and jam offered in most B & Bs).

We would definitely recommend this place to people who are looking for a great value, quiet and comfortable stay in santiago. People who like to party should stay elsewhere.

Hostel Romandia was a perfect end to our 6 months of travelling around Latin America. Top marks!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Providencia
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
Bed&Breakfast Blumenhaus
#36 of 152 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Providencia
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
De Blasis Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 152 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Providencia
Alma Bed&Breakfast
Alma Bed&Breakfast
#22 of 152 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
Marilu's Bed and Breakfast Hostel
Santa Lucia
Casaltura The Boutique Hostel
Parron de Colores
#19 of 152 in Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Romandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Romandia

Property: Hostal Romandia
Address: Roman Diaz Street N 1403, Santiago 8320000, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Romandia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We want to invite you to our recently opened Hostal Romandia. Located in one of the most beautiful and peaceful places in Santiago. You will find comfortable places were you can relax and also meet new people. We have the best services to make your stay in Santiago one of the best. We count on with 8 rooms (16 beds), single, twin and triple. - 4 bathrooms (hot water) - Delicious breakfast included - Daily room cleaning - High speed Internet access for free - Tourism information - 24 hour English-speaking front desk - Terraces - Food services (snacks) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Romandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing