We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
41
51
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
51
20
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 126 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mela Blu Apartments. If we return to Santiago, Chile, we would definitely stay with them. They are GREAT, close to most of the attractions, economical (very important for most people), at a stone's throw from the Metro (Subway) Station Universidad De Catolica, surrounded by several restaurants, next to a corner store and within 10 minute walk from a Grocery Store. The accommodation in our apartment #724 was adequate and comfortable for a family of four. We were there from Jan 25, 2013 to Feb 3, 2013 and we booked this Apartment (#724) for our daughter and family of four for Feb 12-16, 2013. What more can we write! Great, comfortable, economical and close to most attractions and downtown.

Room Tip: Sorry, we are not really qualified to recommend one apartment over another in this complex. However, one of our relatives stayed in Apartment #715 and felt that our apartment, #724, was better than #715. They saw our apartment several times but, unfortunately, we did not see theirs. Ours was a corner apartment on the 7th and last floor. We feel that the corner apartments are better than those in the middle of a row.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sardar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The location of the Mela Blu appartments is very convenient, downtown Santiago, and several restaurants are in the same court or just around the corner. This also means though that it's quite noisy, even during weekdays, sometimes it was hard to sleep.

The appartment itself gave us a wonderful home for our stay in Santiago. The bed is very comfortable, highspeed internet is included and even cable-TV. The kitchen might be basic, but it's enough to cook spaghetti or risotto or anything else if you're not too particular.

The price seemed fair to us, even if there's housekeeping only once a week (more on request though).

There's a security guard at the entrance of the court and a concierge in the building, all through the night, so there's someone there to check you in even if you arrive in the middle of the night. Speaking english though is no good if you're dealing with the administration office. You have to speak some basi spanish if you want to make yourself heard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2012

After leaving to ship, we got a free night at the ritz Carlton hotel, which was lovely. Next day we transferred to Melo Blu hotel. A little hard to find as it is an apartment in a court yard of 5 or 6 terrific restaurants. Once we found it, we're greeted bu Wally at the desk of the building telling us to go to Carlos on the 4 th floor. Found Carlos, professional and helpful, speaks some English but understands more than he speaks. Gave us a key to our apartment. Unfortunately he had no apartments available on the back side of the building. I had read reviews that it was noisy at night from the restaurants below but couldn't have imagined how loud it actually was. David hd ear plugs so worked out fine. The place is like a small one bedroom with a kit he state. Granite countertops in the kitchen, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot. Nice bed, tiny bathroom but adequate, could use a little talc on the draperies but they worked. No air conditioning and no daily maid service. All of this being said, if I could get a back apartment I would probably stay there again. The location is close to everything, museums, restaurants etc, one place we especially enjoyed was cafe del opera, about 3 blocks from hotel, Alexi, the manager really made us feel at home and the food was top drawer. I had scrambled eggs with bacon and arugula on a very thin baguette and it was yummy. We loved Santiago and will probably go back someday.

Room Tip: Definitely get a back side room. Call uncorked tours for a full day wine tour. Been to Napa and Sonoma and not of these compare. Wine tastes were like a full pour, the restaurant had 5 glasses on the table and they kept pouring....then another pour of reserve wine to walk through the vineyard. We thought $195 per person was high but believe me it ended up being the best buy possible. Very special and personal. Go for it you won't be sorry.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookie10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2012

These apartments are cheap, but very tacky. A pity, because the location is superb. Everything, from broken toilet seat to disintegrating curtains. The kitchen is very basic, with cutlery, crockery and a couple fo saucepans. It is certainly not fully equipped (went out and bought electric beater and mixing bowls).

The other big issue is noise. As the apartments are built around a courtyard (with five open air restaurants in the court-yard), ti si very noisy. Unfortunatley, the apartments are not air-conditioned, so windows have to be left open (or suffocate in the 35 deg. celsius heat).

With a small amount of money, these apartmnets could be great. The location is Lastarria is great, very close to all central city attractions, and the immediate locale is quirky. Supermarket just one block away.

A great opportunity wasted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the courtyard (to avoid noise). Unfortunately, this may leave you with virtually no view at all.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llewellyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2012

First I would like to say we really couldn't have found a better place for a long weekend. Relatively low price and smack in the middle of restaurants and bars. Mela Blu is situated in a tiny backyard off Lastarria with many restaurants on the ground level. Some noise from the restaurants will be heard in the evening so if you are very sensitive to noise you should concider other options. We always travel with earplugs and the noise was not bothering us at all. The rooms were very nicely equipped and the reception help out if there was anything we needed. All in all a very pleasant place to stay in Santiago and very close to all the downtown sights. Lastarria has plenty of bars and restaurant just outside the entrance of the appartements, and we never had a bad meal here. It was a 20 minutes stroll up to Bellavista and there you will find even more bars and restaurants. Bellavista however tends to get more noisy in the evenings, ecpecially for the weekends, so I prefer staying in Lastarria. We found it safe to walk between Lastarria and Bellavista in the evenings and we had a great time in this area.
Mela Blu was perfect for us. We were three adults so we needed a place with separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. Sooper place, as our guide would say :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddjob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews