We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, safe and comfortable stay in the city centre!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mela Blu Apartments
Ranked #181 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Right in the heart of the city, near the University Catholica and its metro station, these apartments are neat and clean and excellent for both short and long stay. Very well maintained, well furnished and tastefully laid out, these are very secure and very friendly. You can come down the lifts to the most exiting cafes of the city, which serve a wide variety of gourmet food and dining under the large umbrellas is a very pleasant experience. Both Plaza de Armas, the city centre and Belavista, the cultural epicentre of the city are walking distance from here. The staff is very helpful and help in arranging the city tours and trips to the Andes and the beaches of Velpraiso and Vena del Mar. No wonder people tend to come back year after year to stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are better than back facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surajitbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mela Blu Apartments. If we return to Santiago, Chile, we would definitely stay with them. They are GREAT, close to most of the attractions, economical (very important for most people), at a stone's throw from the Metro (Subway) Station Universidad De Catolica, surrounded by several restaurants, next to a corner store and within 10 minute walk from a Grocery Store. The accommodation in our apartment #724 was adequate and comfortable for a family of four. We were there from Jan 25, 2013 to Feb 3, 2013 and we booked this Apartment (#724) for our daughter and family of four for Feb 12-16, 2013. What more can we write! Great, comfortable, economical and close to most attractions and downtown.

Room Tip: Sorry, we are not really qualified to recommend one apartment over another in this complex. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sardar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The location of the Mela Blu appartments is very convenient, downtown Santiago, and several restaurants are in the same court or just around the corner. This also means though that it's quite noisy, even during weekdays, sometimes it was hard to sleep.

The appartment itself gave us a wonderful home for our stay in Santiago. The bed is very comfortable, highspeed internet is included and even cable-TV. The kitchen might be basic, but it's enough to cook spaghetti or risotto or anything else if you're not too particular.

The price seemed fair to us, even if there's housekeeping only once a week (more on request though).

There's a security guard at the entrance of the court and a concierge in the building, all through the night, so there's someone there to check you in even if you arrive in the middle of the night. Speaking english though is no good if you're dealing with the administration office. You have to speak some basi spanish if you want to make yourself heard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

After leaving to ship, we got a free night at the ritz Carlton hotel, which was lovely. Next day we transferred to Melo Blu hotel. A little hard to find as it is an apartment in a court yard of 5 or 6 terrific restaurants. Once we found it, we're greeted bu Wally at the desk of the building telling us to go to Carlos on the 4 th floor. Found Carlos, professional and helpful, speaks some English but understands more than he speaks. Gave us a key to our apartment. Unfortunately he had no apartments available on the back side of the building. I had read reviews that it was noisy at night from the restaurants below but couldn't have imagined how loud it actually was. David hd ear plugs so worked out fine. The place is like a small one bedroom with a kit he state. Granite countertops in the kitchen, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot. Nice bed, tiny bathroom but adequate, could use a little talc on the draperies but they worked. No air conditioning and no daily maid service. All of this being said, if I could get a back apartment I would probably stay there again. The location is close to everything, museums, restaurants etc, one place we especially enjoyed was cafe del opera, about 3 blocks from hotel, Alexi, the manager really made us feel at home and the food was top drawer. I had scrambled eggs with bacon and arugula on a very thin baguette and it was yummy. We loved Santiago and will probably go back someday.

Room Tip: Definitely get a back side room. Call uncorked tours for a full day wine tour. Been to Napa and Son...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pookie10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

These apartments are cheap, but very tacky. A pity, because the location is superb. Everything, from broken toilet seat to disintegrating curtains. The kitchen is very basic, with cutlery, crockery and a couple fo saucepans. It is certainly not fully equipped (went out and bought electric beater and mixing bowls).

The other big issue is noise. As the apartments are built around a courtyard (with five open air restaurants in the court-yard), ti si very noisy. Unfortunatley, the apartments are not air-conditioned, so windows have to be left open (or suffocate in the 35 deg. celsius heat).

With a small amount of money, these apartmnets could be great. The location is Lastarria is great, very close to all central city attractions, and the immediate locale is quirky. Supermarket just one block away.

A great opportunity wasted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the courtyard (to avoid noise). Unfortunately, this may leave you with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llewellyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

First I would like to say we really couldn't have found a better place for a long weekend. Relatively low price and smack in the middle of restaurants and bars. Mela Blu is situated in a tiny backyard off Lastarria with many restaurants on the ground level. Some noise from the restaurants will be heard in the evening so if you are very sensitive to noise you should concider other options. We always travel with earplugs and the noise was not bothering us at all. The rooms were very nicely equipped and the reception help out if there was anything we needed. All in all a very pleasant place to stay in Santiago and very close to all the downtown sights. Lastarria has plenty of bars and restaurant just outside the entrance of the appartements, and we never had a bad meal here. It was a 20 minutes stroll up to Bellavista and there you will find even more bars and restaurants. Bellavista however tends to get more noisy in the evenings, ecpecially for the weekends, so I prefer staying in Lastarria. We found it safe to walk between Lastarria and Bellavista in the evenings and we had a great time in this area.
Mela Blu was perfect for us. We were three adults so we needed a place with separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. Sooper place, as our guide would say :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oddjob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

This place is great value and in a good spot as long as you don't mind the sound of the people from the restaurants below enjoying themselves (we didn't! No thumping music, just chitchat and occasional raucous laughter).

The apartment we stayed in was decoratively a little tired and the fabric headboards could do with replacing but this didn't spoil our stay.

The free WiFi was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny_and_Marcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#39 of 525 in Santiago
205 reviews
Landay Hostel
#80 of 525 in Santiago
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#13 of 204 in Santiago
372 reviews
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#350 of 525 in Santiago
31 reviews
Atton Vitacura
#30 of 204 in Santiago
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mela Blu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mela Blu Apartments

Address: Jose Victorino Lastarria 70, Santiago 8320152, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mela Blu offers a new experience in furnished apartments in Santiago. Located in Lastarria's exclusive patrimonial neighborhood, steps away from the city's principal artery and metro, the neighborhood offers tranquility and security in contrast to the hectic downtown life. We offer apartments in first rate buildings completely equipped to meet your needs. Our apartments are designed to be both welcoming and modern, combining functionality and confront in an exceptional location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mela Blu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing