We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mela Blu Apartments
Ranked #180 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My friend and I have been traveling in Chile for about three weeks and have a lot of experiences with excellent places to stay. Mela Blu is not in that category. It is extremely noisy as it is located near a lot of gathering places for eating and drinking. The locals start their night on the town around 9 pm and party until 3 or 4 in the morning so bring your ear plugs. Maid services are offered once a week; get ready to clean up after yourself! Breakfasts are not offer like other places we have stayed for the same cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dottie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Short walk to Santa Lucia - a beautiful garden park on a hilltop, museums, close to metro train stops in a neighborhood filled with great little restaurants.

This was our first trip to Chile and our Spanish skills are limited. No worries. The manager was very helpful about how to find our way around. Wi-fi worked great, rooms were decent sized and the kitchen was well-equipped. We had a 1 bedroom unit. Comfortable bed, dining table and chairs, a couch that could have slept someone and kitchen supplies for 4. Fine for the 2 of us - would be crowded for 4 adults. TV had many channels - mostly spanish - we found a couple in english.

It was a little stuffy at first - no AC - but the manager provided a fan and opening the windows in the evening would cool the room down. We spent most of the day time out and about touring and would close the windows and shades while we were away, then open them in the evenings.

It is an apartment in a several story building located in an area with a lot of restaurants and clubs that open in the afternoon and evening. Mornings are quiet, evenings can be noisy. Our room was on the quiet side of the building so noise was not an issue for us. When we arrived after flying all night, the neighborhood was quiet and safe enough that we were able to take a short stroll to the local grocery to stock up on coffee, water and snacks. After resting, we walked around the area and found a lovely little restaurant with local chilean beers.

The manager is only there during day time hours so plan accordingly. There is a building concierge so on our return at the end of our trip we were able to get into our apartment late in the day. The building concierge was also happy to help us with a last minute money exchange and let us leave our luggage on the last day when we had to check out several hours before our flight left.

Everyone connected with the apartment was helpful and we were able to communicate with our limited Spanish skills.

One note for international travelers - be sure you have the right type of electrical plug. We did not and tried several stores before finding what we needed. This plug was not available at the airport, travel stores, drug stores- we finally found it and a converter at a hardware store. Same experience in Argentina so check the plug needs before you travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in warm weather and the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleofsightseers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Don't trust the good reviews left by others. It is a terrible place to stay, although the price may look attractive. It had a strange smell, something like chlorine from the swimming pool. My wife had a bad headache when first check-in the room. It is extremely noisy!! The entrance of the apartment has to go through the restaurants and if you have heavy luggages, you have to carry all the way through the crowded people. We slept only one night and left the place for another hotel and we made the right decision.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It is located in a incredible place. Nearby everything. Museums, nice bars and restaurants. Side by side subway station in front of PUC university. You can just wake to the Funicular, Neruda`s house, Bellas artes and providencia. The room is a small bijou. Well furnished, nice bed, with many cafes oustide. Very safe place. The wifi is not so good. The signal is best on bedroom. I had a small problem with the drain on sink on bathroom but it was latte to request to anybody so I solve myself but you need to check the cleaning. The one cleaning service per week. You can read about calefaction but you can find a heater on wardroub. Is a very good place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itamarvidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Very good and qualitative. This is a large apartment with a living room, kitchen, bedroom. Almost all new. Bed - very good sleep. At the site of numerous noise downstairs cafe.
Not working wi-fi.
Near grocery stores.
Two steps to the main street and the subway. A taxi to the bus terminal - 2,500 pesos.
Assessment is reduced idle wai-wai

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexanderShcerbakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Pros:
Very nice furnished apt. Bed and pillows were fantastic. Everything is new and modern in an IKEA sort of way.

Cons:
Wifi never worked. We spoke with the manager about this twice and both times she said she would talk to someone about it and be right back but she never returned. They seem to be aware of this problem but have done nothing to fix it.

The other issue was the noise. Our apt was right over the courtyard with all the restaurants, so it was noisy into the night. We did get used to it eventually though and earplugs helped. Not sure if all the apts face the courtyard though.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Right in the heart of the city, near the University Catholica and its metro station, these apartments are neat and clean and excellent for both short and long stay. Very well maintained, well furnished and tastefully laid out, these are very secure and very friendly. You can come down the lifts to the most exiting cafes of the city, which serve a wide variety of gourmet food and dining under the large umbrellas is a very pleasant experience. Both Plaza de Armas, the city centre and Belavista, the cultural epicentre of the city are walking distance from here. The staff is very helpful and help in arranging the city tours and trips to the Andes and the beaches of Velpraiso and Vena del Mar. No wonder people tend to come back year after year to stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are better than back facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surajitbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#39 of 525 in Santiago
205 reviews
Landay Hostel
#80 of 525 in Santiago
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Lucia
Su Merced
Su Merced
#12 of 204 in Santiago
374 reviews
Providencia
Atacama Low Cost
Atacama Low Cost
#350 of 525 in Santiago
31 reviews
Centro Histórico
Agustina Suite
Agustina Suite
#148 of 204 in Santiago
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mela Blu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mela Blu Apartments

Address: Jose Victorino Lastarria 70, Santiago 8320152, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 525 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mela Blu offers a new experience in furnished apartments in Santiago. Located in Lastarria's exclusive patrimonial neighborhood, steps away from the city's principal artery and metro, the neighborhood offers tranquility and security in contrast to the hectic downtown life. We offer apartments in first rate buildings completely equipped to meet your needs. Our apartments are designed to be both welcoming and modern, combining functionality and confront in an exceptional location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mela Blu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing