We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at a relaxing hostel”
Review of H Rado Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H Rado Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights here on my way south. Very clean and tidy hostel with a friendly feel to it, staff were great spoke English really well. Not much atmosphere to the place felt more like a hotel for me and was a bit expensive. I would stay here again if I come back through Santiago.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017

I stayed here for 6 nights in a 6 bed female room in early January. It turned out to be one of my favorite hostels in all of my travels. I flew in early morning from San Pedro, so I wasn’t able to check in right away, but was able to store my bag and head out to explore. When I did check in much later that night, I was still able to get the bottom bunk I had requested, because the guy at the front had made a note in the system. Small detail, but I really appreciated that!

It’s a tall, narrow building, with a small front entrance, so it’s easy to pass it. It’s also quite secure – front desk has to buzz you in and out every time you enter/leave. But there is always someone sitting there, so it’s never an issue, and I liked knowing how secure the place was.

The whole place looks very modern, it’s decorated very well. They were in the process of installing AC in the rooms. In the meantime, we had huge fans in our room that blocked out any street noise from the open windows, and it was never too hot. If you can’t sleep with white noise, you will not like that. I, on the other hand, slept like a baby.

Front desk staff was awesome. I dealt with Christian (I think?) and a woman, who’s name I never did get (apologies!), but both were awesome. I always had 100 questions, and they always had the answers. So helpful.

Room access is via a swipe card. The lockers are huge. I travel with a small backpack, but I saw some putting their suitcases in with no issues. Bring your own lock. The ensuite bathroom was large and clean. There was always hot water, and the pressure in the shower was great. Towels are not provided, but I think you can rent one. I had my own, so cannot comment. The Wi-Fi worked really well, both in the rooms, and in the common areas. The beds were big, sturdy, comfortable, and the bedding was clean. The room itself was quite spacious. I never felt like I was climbing over other people, or their things, to get around. If the bathroom was busy, there is a common bathroom on each floor.

Breakfast is served on the top floor in the kitchen. The kitchen and common area is big, all open concept. When you go to breakfast, there will be a place set with juice, yogurt and fresh fruit (already cut up for you). There will be ham and cheese platters on the table. From there, you get your own toast, cereal and coffee/tea.

The outdoor section of the common area has a huge patio, seating, a grill, and awesome views of the neighborhood. The indoor section of the common area has a foosball table, lots of seating, a big TV, and access to satellite radio, so you can play whatever kind of music you like. It’s a fantastic set up for socializing and hanging out before going out.

Speaking of going out, this place is in the most perfect location. The area is full of clubs, bars, pubs, restaurants – whatever you want. It’s such a lively area, and comes alive even more, every night. The nearest subway (Baquedano) is about a 3 minute walk.

The atmosphere of this hostel, the building itself, the staff, the price, the location – all of it – made for an amazing time in Santiago. I loved the city, so I will definitely go back. And when I do, I won’t even look elsewhere, I’ll head straight for Rado.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NurseBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

The hostel itself is good, big, very clean, has a nice roof top terace, a bug and well equiped kitchen and big common areas.

But it doesn't feel like a hostel it's more a hotel. The "staff" is really just like a receptionist in a hotel but doesn't tell you anything about Santiago, what to do or where to go. Moreover the whole building is more like a hotel but not a place to hangout or meet people.

It's located in Bellavista district where on the weekends is party time, so if you don't like noise in the night don't come here it can get very loud. But the "hostel" thus is located very close to some nice restaurants, bars and clubs.

It depends what you are searching for: party = yes, calm place to meet and talk to people = no.
But very clean and all basiscs you need.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank ChriguR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location, always clean and organized. People friendly and always ready to help. Perfect view from the rooftop. Great place to know people and make new friends. The location is near some good restaurants and bars. I recommend it.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Thaisaselvatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Firstly, the location is amazing. It's close to the party area( Patio Bellavista), subway and Bario Bellavista. The service is great and very well organized. The breakfast is great too though simple. The rooms closer to the street are very noisy so if you are a light sleeper you will be up early. The place is very safe and had big lockers in the dorm room which could fit my 55L backpack and a few more things. The view from the terrace is AMAZING!!!
Overall, I would stay here again and worth the money!

Room Tip: get a room away from the street. The upper bunk beds don't have plug points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samhita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Superfriendly warm staff. Perfect location in Bellavista. The breakfast was outstanding. I booked this hostel by coincidence and found out afterwards that it was the best choice you can make in Santiago. Wifi works good. Rooftop is cozy and modern. A bit more expensive like other hostels but these couple of pesos are worth it!! All in all a Must if you go to Santiago. Thank you Christian for the nice support on the booking of tours, hostels and bus rides.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Raeid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

This hostel is great and was the best hostel I stayed in during my 2 week trip to Chile. The rooms and bathrooms are all new and very clean. Breakfast was very good and the views from the 4th floor rooftop are incredible! Staff was very kind and helpful as well, definitely would recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#117 of 202 in Santiago
613 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Santa Lucia
Hostal Forestal
Hostal Forestal
#4 of 507 in Santiago
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 507 in Santiago
1,049 reviews
Happy House Hostel
#5 of 507 in Santiago
762 reviews
Princesa Insolente Hostel
#15 of 507 in Santiago
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H Rado Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H Rado Hostel

Address: Pio Nono 5 | Barrio Bellavista, Santiago 7530279, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 507 Speciality Lodging in Santiago
Price Range: $27 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — H Rado Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mission is to provide our guests with Hotel quality design and infrastructure, and the relaxed environment and liberty to interact with other people that a Hostel encourages.We differentiate ourselves through quality service, infrastructure and professionalism.Our boutique hostel was fully built during 2011 to provide better design, spaces and infrastructure to satisfy the expectations of travellers looking for more. We're in the heart of Barrio Bellavista, just steps from some of the best restaurants, cultural centres and nightclubs in the country. Our private rooms are designed to feel like hotel rooms, while our common areas provide a comfortable space to interact with your friends or meet your fellow guests. The common areas include a 30m² kitchen, computer room, living room and great terraces. There's over 200m² of common space available!! We carefully selected the best furniture, decoration, safety equipment and lighting for this four-story building to provide comfort for our guests. Come discover Santiago from the finest boutique hostel around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your H Rado Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing