We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ecat17
Australia

Reasonable Hotel in Santiago

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 3, 2018
The Libertador Hotel is 3 star so very average but OK for a few nights. Helpful pleasant staff, OK breakfast but wifi only on 2nd floor which can be a pain. Very good situation in city and very walkable to many places including restaurants, banks, ATM's, and markets. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$244
  • Booking.com
  • Tapestry
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$154
C$90
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$90
0.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
C$203
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$171
  • Hotels.com
6.1 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Pool
C$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$205
  • Hotels.com
5.3 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$340
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    C$340
  • Hotels.com
7.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$205
  • Expedia.com
    C$391
4.0 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    C$37
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$216
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
4.1 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$231
  • Mandarin Oriental
7.4 km from Hotel Libertador
Free parking
Pool
  • Novotel
    C$229
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$178
  • Hotels.com
4.8 km from Hotel Libertador
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
33
114
157
52
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
114
157
52
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 387 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Transit hotel, small hidden entrance area. Efficient reception. Slow lifts. Wifi only works on second floor. Room good size, large bed very soft, tv no remote, floor bitty and a fan. Toilet clean, modern, shower plenty of hot water but no spray. Breakfast first class.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank K7668APandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

I’m not thrilled with this hotel. And unfortunately my stay isn’t over yet.
Pros: It’s centrally located a short walk from most tourists places and visits: Casa de la Moneda, 5 minutes, Cathedral and all around Plaza de armas, 10 minutes, etc.
Pillows are great and breakfast is very good too, with hot food and continental breakfast.
Cons: tiny sauces and glasses at breakfast, mattress too soft, no air con or glasses in the room, small room, TV barely pick up a handful of clear channels, internet is CRAP or non existent and only in common areas (what?!), the already annoying magnetic card key system fails a lot BUT while other hotels sort the problem out in seconds, the so called “reception” (a tiny cubicle at the entrance) in this one can’t do it and you have to wait until the following day!!!
Overall, below standards and no worth 3 stars. Try to find other hotels if possible and only use this one if you run out of options.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

This is a small hotel, which was very clean, well located, good food, and helpful personnel. This property is dated, but the management appears to be updating the rooms. There is no lobby to speak of, and when we were there only one of the two elevators was working. I probably, however, would have chosen a newer hotel and paid more money.

Room tip: My room faced the main street and I had no problem with noise.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed here as part of a tour group and I was pleasantly surprised that it was ok. The entry and lobby are a bit grim but our room on the fifth floor was clean and even had feather pillows. The rather oddly coloured bathroom sported a bidet and also provided ample linens. There was hot water with a good level of pressure. A desk fan was provided.

Certainly not the height of style, but quite acceptable for the price. The location is ok and within walking distance of the main plaza and the chic Lastarria neighbourhood.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TigsyB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 6, 2018

I stayed in Hotel Libertador for a night as part of a South American package tour in which I participated. To get to the entrance of the hotel, you need to go through a green gate and then walk about 100 feet. The glass entrance door to the lobby is pretty small, meaning only one person with their luggage can enter in at a time. The front desk is quite small too, fitting a maximum of about 2 persons. There is an area to the side of the front desk with about 3 chairs.

There are a couple of elevators, both of which seem to be a little bit slow. What's interesting is that the elevator buttons are located on the back wall versus the front. There are good-sized stairs available as well to get from floor to floor (the hotel has about 10 floors in total).

As I only stayed overnight and our group had to leave really early in the morning. I was not able to partake of any meals so can't speak to the meal service of the hotel.

The room that we stayed in was small, enough to fit just 2 full-sized beds. In our room, there was a table long enough to hold a 32-inch or so TV with some space to spare. There was also a small table with a lamp in between the two beds and other than the outlets for the tv and the lamp, there weren't any others to be found. The beds were not of great quality but were comfortable enough to sleep on. There is a small closet (no way to hang clothes). The bathroom is clean but could use better toiletries (the only ones provided are soap and shampoo). There is also a hair dryer provided. The shower doors are a little flimsy so could use a major upgrade. There was not an air conditioner in our room so we had to open the windows and turn on the table-top fan to the highest setting.

All in all, Hotel Libertador is a very basic hotel with very basic amenities. If you are looking just for a place to crash or in transition to a different city, then this hotel may be enough for one's needs but I would definitely not recommend it if you're looking for more comfort and extra amenities.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TravelGal9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews