We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
PaulaC85
Glasgow, United Kingdom

Decent clean budget hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 30, 2019via mobile
Basic budget accommodation but the room was immaculately clean and the staff were very helpful, particularly Carlos who spoke excellent English, and was very friendly and welcoming.
Location very close to main attractions so can walk to these easily which is huge bonus . The entrance to hotel is a bit dark and dingy and can’t be seen well from main road and hotel feels a bit dark in places as not many windows. There are probably nicer areas of Santiago to stay but it’s not that big a deal if you are plan on spending most of the day out sightseeing.
Other reviews have commented it is slightly dated though during my stay it appeared as though they were in process of modernising, and I found my room to be quite pleasant and modern so seems they have taken on board the feedback.
Unfortunately wi fi is still non existent which was a bit frustrating.
Breakfast is pretty good.
Overall a decent , clean, centrally located place with pleasant reception staff. Fine for a few days for somewhere to just sleep in and use as a base to enjoy this lovely city.

Date of stay: January 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$52
  • Priceline
    C$38
  • Lol.travel
    C$37
  • Vio.com
    C$38
1.4 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$244
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$244
  • Trip.com
    C$212
  • Hotels.com
    C$244
4.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$108
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$90
  • Vio.com
    C$68
  • Hotels.com
    C$90
0.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
C$203
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$203
  • travelup.com
    C$142
  • Expedia.com
    C$203
6.1 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Pool
C$288
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$257
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$216
  • Hotels.com
    C$257
4.1 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Pullman
    C$244
  • travelup.com
    C$168
  • Expedia.com
    C$244
5.3 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$312
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Mandarin Oriental
    C$313
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$231
  • Expedia.com
    C$312
7.4 km from Hotel Libertador
Free parking
Pool
C$227
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    C$229
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$178
  • Expedia.com
    C$212
4.8 km from Hotel Libertador
C$339
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    C$340
  • travelup.com
    C$285
  • Expedia.com
    C$340
7.8 km from Hotel Libertador
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
33
114
157
52
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
114
157
52
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 387 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

Nice if a bit dated hotel. Staff friendly. Rooms massive. Never tried the breakfast. Wi fi however was horrendous. Had to go to the Starbucks around the corner for internet. Good shopping nearby. Would stay again if they updated their wi fi

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Flynnm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 10, 2018 via mobile

While we were there, there was a hole in the ceiling. Concrete was falling on the ground in the common area. The only place that had internet. Even there, the internet was almost non-existent. Everything is very old. Breakfast tables were very dirty. They probably wash the table cloth once every 3 months. Only good thing is the location. We went there only because our travel agency forced us.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Antonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 3, 2018

The Libertador Hotel is 3 star so very average but OK for a few nights. Helpful pleasant staff, OK breakfast but wifi only on 2nd floor which can be a pain. Very good situation in city and very walkable to many places including restaurants, banks, ATM's, and markets. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ecat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

Transit hotel, small hidden entrance area. Efficient reception. Slow lifts. Wifi only works on second floor. Room good size, large bed very soft, tv no remote, floor bitty and a fan. Toilet clean, modern, shower plenty of hot water but no spray. Breakfast first class.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank K7668APandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

I’m not thrilled with this hotel. And unfortunately my stay isn’t over yet.
Pros: It’s centrally located a short walk from most tourists places and visits: Casa de la Moneda, 5 minutes, Cathedral and all around Plaza de armas, 10 minutes, etc.
Pillows are great and breakfast is very good too, with hot food and continental breakfast.
Cons: tiny sauces and glasses at breakfast, mattress too soft, no air con or glasses in the room, small room, TV barely pick up a handful of clear channels, internet is CRAP or non existent and only in common areas (what?!), the already annoying magnetic card key system fails a lot BUT while other hotels sort the problem out in seconds, the so called “reception” (a tiny cubicle at the entrance) in this one can’t do it and you have to wait until the following day!!!
Overall, below standards and no worth 3 stars. Try to find other hotels if possible and only use this one if you run out of options.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Mar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews