We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
eleanor G
Newport, Rhode Island

Central location

Review of Riviera Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 12, 2018
The hotel is very tired and could use some attention. The rooms are very small, but clean with comfortable beds. It you have many electronics you should bring a cord for multipal devices. The breakfast is boring but substantial. The staff are the ones who make your stay there a pleasant experience.
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jun 18, 2019
Dear guest,

We are very thankful for your comment and appreciate the time for reviewing us.

We are a family hotel located in a century-old building in downtown Santiago, so the spaces are not as large as newer hotels however we pride in providing the best service with our gracious staff, we truly appreciate you commented on that, and regarding the breakfast option, this is something we're definitely working on to improve even further.

We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you in the near future,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$328
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$329
  • travelup.com
    C$200
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
3.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
C$78
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$68
  • Lol.travel
    C$36
  • StayForLong
    C$49
1.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$109
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
  • Agoda.com
    C$82
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
0.4 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
C$317
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$316
  • Lol.travel
    C$268
  • Hotels.com
    C$316
3.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$156
  • Priceline
    C$179
4.4 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$191
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$191
  • travelup.com
    C$133
  • Expedia.com
    C$191
5.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$315
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Mandarin Oriental
    C$313
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$233
  • Expedia.com
    C$315
7.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior view
C$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$108
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$92
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
4.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$280
C$235
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    C$235
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
  • Priceline
    C$235
7.5 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
18
68
51
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
68
51
11
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 151 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

This hotel is the chosen starting point for a travel group I often use.

Pros: The desk staff were nice enough. It's in a good location, with amenities close by.

Cons: It was noisy if you had a room at the front looking out to the street. I slept in the narrowest single bed I've ever encountered. In fact one morning I rolled from my back to my side and fell out of the bed! (And I'm not *that* big!). Breakfast was okay.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank MooseTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Had a very pleasant stay at Riviera. Although there was a language barrier, staff were (very) patient with my broken spanish. I was also getting over the cold and a staff member had taken noticed and offered me cold and flu tablets! I was not expecting that at all but it was highly appreciated!
Breakfast was simple, staff would toast bread fresh for you when you sat down. Otherwise the selection was basic.
Rooms were clean and well lit. Beds were comfy. Yes, you do get the noise from the street but that didnt bother me. WiFi signal was good for the most part. Ended up moving rooms during my 2nd night and it was a little touch and go but ok.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stellkatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, very sweet staff who were really helpful despite the language barrier. Right near a park and about ten mins walk from the main square and cool neighborhoods for dinner and drinks.

It is noisy at night (though nothing earplugs can’t handle) and the bathrooms are tiny, though the water pressure is excellent. Decor is a bit dated.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Hellyd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

The hotel is very old fashioned in its appearance and it general it is on the smaller side- there are not many tables to sit at for breakfast.

The rooms are simple and small- there are not many plugs and the wifi is so-so in the rooms.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful- after having a nightmare with the shower hose and shower head disconnecting, they were quick to sort out the bathroom which had quickly turned into a water park!

The hotel is fairly central but the area itself is very disappointing.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 282malak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Clean, basic but adequate. The rooms are really small at this hotel. As in you can pretty much touch the walls with outstretched arms. Bathroom is possibly the smallest I have ever seen. It should be on George Clarks incredibly small places !
Having said all of that it's clean and the folk running it are lovely.
Very central in Santiago and only 3 blocks to my fav area and fav rest Bocanariz

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lisatH7834EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews