We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AvidGlobeHopper
Birtley, United Kingdom

Tiny rooms with tiny bathrooms

Review of Riviera Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 21, 2018via mobile
We arrived after a long day of travelling to find a pokey room with barely enough room to store our bags. You can't turn around in the bathrooms and the showers are so small that you touch the shower curtain and the wall whilst using it. Breakfast was ok - toast and cheese/ham but nothing special. The good thing about this hotel is it's central location but I otherwise wouldn't recommend it.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Jun 10, 2019
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected after a long day of traveling. We hope this was not because of our false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing an honest and warm service for all of our guests.

We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Yours truly,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$328
  • travelup.com
    C$200
  • Hotels.com
    C$329
3.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
C$78
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$68
  • Lol.travel
    C$36
  • StayForLong
    C$49
1.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$109
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
  • Agoda.com
    C$82
  • Hotels.com
    C$109
0.4 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
C$317
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$316
  • Lol.travel
    C$268
  • Hotels.com
    C$316
3.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$179
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$179
  • Vio.com
    C$156
  • Priceline
    C$179
4.4 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$191
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$191
  • travelup.com
    C$133
  • Expedia.com
    C$191
5.7 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
C$315
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Mandarin Oriental
    C$313
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$232
  • Expedia.com
    C$315
7.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Exterior view
C$109
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$108
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$92
  • Expedia.com
    C$109
4.1 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$280
C$235
No prepayment needed
  • Novotel
    C$235
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
  • travelup.com
    C$234
7.5 km from Riviera Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santiago
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
18
68
51
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
68
51
11
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 151 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Whilst clean enough the rooms are incredibly small - barely enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom is also very small and the water pressure wasn’t good. The location isn’t too bad though. I probably wouldn’t stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank RedhairMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel!

We are sorry to hear that your room was not exactly what you had expected. We hope this was not because of any false advertisement, as our century-old building used to be a family house, so this is why the rooms are not as spacious as the modern ones but very cozy, and we do make sure our staff is always well trained in providing a familiar service for all of our guests.

We appreciate that you like the location because as you said, we're right in the heart of Santiago downtown, by the Santa Lucia Hill, Lastarria Artsy Neighborhood and Fine Arts Museum.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

A hotel that's close to just about everything, in a safe and relaxed neighbourhood and with a park nearby (the Santa Lucia). A metro station is handily placed, the tiny breakfast bar - sometimes overcrowded if a group is staying and they all want to have their first meal of the day together - does good juice and the usual cheese and jams, and the - again cramped - reception seems to function alright.
Allow time to check out, because if you're standing at the desk with your bags, there's no room for anyone to get past you, and you're constantly having to say 'Excuse me'.
The rooms are clean, tidy and well-maintained, the small en suite showers are fine (the mini baths are too small to sit in, so you just use it as a bowl-shaped shower tray) and there's enough cupboard space.
We enjoyed a three-day stay here. It's very central and handy for everything, it's quiet at night - the city babble dies down by about 9pm - and it's reasonably priced.
All in all, no major issues.

Room tip: Sixth or seventh floors are quietest
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PUMBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us.

We're reading all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words.

As most guests express, our location is definitely one of the highlights, with the main subway line station just less than a block away, across the Santa Lucia Hill and the Lastarria's artsy neighbor, so we appreciate this was a great highlight for you too and would love to welcome you again in the near future,


Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just two blocks from the Santa Lucia metro station. It is a small hotel which is kept clean and tidy. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny. Beds are comfortable, and most of the rooms have a/c. The staff are friendly and helpful, and speak some English. The breakfast was disappointing, and scant. However, there are other breakfast options nearby, and also there is a nice little convenience store next door.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Director General at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with us.

We're reviewing all the comments with our customer experience team to implement some new improvements to our day-to-day operation so thank you for your kind words.

We've made some improvements to our breakfast menu since your last visit! We listened to our guests' feedback!
Also, we have A/C in all of our rooms in preparation for hotter summers.

We're also very glad that you enjoy our friendly staff, as they're who make our hotel a very charming one.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this note,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

The hotel is very tired and could use some attention. The rooms are very small, but clean with comfortable beds. It you have many electronics you should bring a cord for multipal devices. The breakfast is boring but substantial. The staff are the ones who make your stay there a pleasant experience.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RivieraHotel_CL, Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019

Dear guest,

We are very thankful for your comment and appreciate the time for reviewing us.

We are a family hotel located in a century-old building in downtown Santiago, so the spaces are not as large as newer hotels however we pride in providing the best service with our gracious staff, we truly appreciate you commented on that, and regarding the breakfast option, this is something we're definitely working on to improve even further.

We thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you in the near future,

Cecilia Solé
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018

This hotel is the chosen starting point for a travel group I often use.

Pros: The desk staff were nice enough. It's in a good location, with amenities close by.

Cons: It was noisy if you had a room at the front looking out to the street. I slept in the narrowest single bed I've ever encountered. In fact one morning I rolled from my back to my side and fell out of the bed! (And I'm not *that* big!). Breakfast was okay.

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank MooseTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews