We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven in Chile”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Valparaiso, Valparaiso Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amzerinas
Rochester, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Heaven in Chile”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2017

We had asked Gloria and Hector to help us to experience the real Chile.... that's what we got... beyond our best expectations! They picked us up from our Airbnb in Santiago and pointed out the various sights and background stories as we made our way to their home in La Retuca. We visited many different areas... a farmer's market, wonderful wineries, a tour of Valparaiso including a train ride from Quilpue, Isla Negra, and many other sights along the way. We saw the countryside and heard its history. Gloria and Hector's home is warm and comfortable.... out of the tourist areas, but well situated to visit those areas after a short drive. Their home prepared breakfasts and dinners are super.... and if you like organic, this is the place for you! Did I mention Pisco sours on the porch!!! Lots of fresh air, fresh food, and wonderful conversation! Always heed their advice.... they are very familiar with the area, and will guide you to the best places. We couldn't imagine trying to find the places by ourselves, or trying to navigate the winding streets of Valparaiso and Vina del Mar on our own. Also, they gave us advice on joining our cruise ship which worked perfectly.... no lines! And, they even put us in contact with a wonderful couple who gave us a very special tour of Lima..... there's no substitute for good people who only want you the have the best possible experience! The only bad thing was leaving.... we only wish we had met Gloria and Hector a long time ago... it's good to say that we have friends in Chile! Gloria and Hector are the best.... if you have a special request, just ask them....

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2018
Thanks so much! We really appreciate your visit and company...the good moments shared will be always in our hearts! We'll continue doing our best to make our visitors feel at home and enjoy their stay in Chile!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoulderSt...
Boulder, Colorado USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great start to our Chile trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Gloria and Hector were wonderful hosts. They picked us up at the airport and stopped by a winery for a tasting on the way to their house. The breakfasts and dinners were excellent, even had pisco sours on our porch the first night. An excellent trip to wineries the next day, then a day in Valpo. Showed us wineries we wouldn't have tried, and the best neighborhoods in Valpo. We didn't need a car for this portion of the trip. The best thing was peaceful mornings and evenings talking with both Gloria and Hector, about Chile, philosophy, and just about everything. Gloria introduced us to a cafe in Valpo where we returned later in the trip and bought a painting that they are shipping back. Thank you, Hector and Gloria!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don6471
Plymouth, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bed, Breakfast . . . and Dinner!”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On the advice of a relative of our friends, we decided to stay at the B and B for five nights on our first trip to South America. Gloria and Hector are a remarkable team. They made us feel welcome and comfortable as soon as we arrived. The house is cozy and charming. We were able to see much of the Chilean countryside with the distinct advantage of learning the local stories and history of the country. Gloria and Hector are very open and warm. We had lovely meals together and the food was beyond our expectations. They are very accomplished hosts, cooks and tour guides. We have nothing but rave reviews for our time with them. We were able to relax and thoroughly enjoy our vacation time with them. We are grateful for their kindness, warmth and care during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erich545
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Exceptional B&B close to Valparaiso, Chile”
Reviewed February 8, 2018 for a stay in November 2017

This was the highlight of our nearly 3 week Chile vacation. It was quiet and relaxing, but the owners made it so very interesting. The room, house, and grounds were a delight, and the Casablanca vineyards were only a short drive away. I can't say enough about Gloria and Hector (and little Jolie) - you must meet them in person and enjoy their company and hospitality. But since both breakfast and dinner is included, you will really enjoy those also. Superb, authentic cuisine was presented at each meal - the best food we had in Chile - and the welcome pisco sours and local wine made for stimulating conversation. Our entire visit was wonderful - and much too short! Go out of your way to stay here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2018
Thanks so much Erich & Terri! It was wonderful to have you at home, the nice moments shared will be for ever in our menmories...you'll be so very welcome anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing