We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-26
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$211
US$116
View deal
SAVE US$95
Free cancellation until 21-06-25
Expedia.com
US$211
US$116
View deal
SAVE US$95
Free cancellation until 21-06-25
eDreamsUS$136
CheapTicketsUS$116
Trip.comUS$211
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
222
86
12
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
222
86
12
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cerro alegre basement bar few minutes walk away hotel building chilli great balcony overlooking the bay easy walking distance old house balconies terrace views city furnishings pablo properties earthquake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 321 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2020

This is a lovely small hotel with just a few rooms, well placed in the old part of Valparaiso known as Cerro Alegro. Our room was on the 2nd floor at the top and was large with a jacuzzi bath and stunning views of the sea from it's terrace. Breakfast was a little bit limited but fresh. Easy walking distance to lits of nice restaurants, bars and local craft shops.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank McClos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2020

This is one of the better properties in Valparaiso, in Cerro Alegre, which together with Concepcion are more or less the only decent parts of what is a very neglected city. We wouldn't go back to Valparaiso which is such a pity for this well-run, friendly and comfortable hotel. If you're staying in the city we'd recommend this place.There are good restaurants near by too, La Concepcion was very good, a few minutes walk away.

Room tip: The east side faces the sea, better views.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W3730LYjeremyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2020

A great stay in a great location. Beautiful old house, immaculately restored. Great breakfast, with great coffee. The staff were so helpful, and I liked the small scale of the place. A little pricey, but it proves you get what you pay for.

Room tip: The rooms with the views and private balconies are exceptional!
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveltales_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelacontraluz, Front Desk at Hotel Boutique Acontraluz, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2020

Dear Traveltales_Joe!
Thank you very much for your comments!
We are very glad that you had a pleasant stay! We hope you come back some day!

Best regards!

Karin Junge
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Stayed for three nights and the location and staff cannot be faulted plus great views across the bay but...... the room was beyond small with little if anywhere to unpack etc, the bathroom even smaller and the door onto the balcony could not be locked.

Perfectly adequate but needs some TLC especially in the bedrooms to offer a higher standard than currently on offer

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank pdg345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2019

marvellous place, we were upgraded due to quietness of hotel (becuase of recent upheavals in Chile). The rooms is much nicer than it appears on the Trip Advisor photo, the view is absolutely fab. loved the location, the area is arty and quirky. The staff are charming including the much mentioned pablo. We felt we had an earthquake whilst we were here but we learned that 6.2 is nothing to raise an eyebrow for - just a regular tremor - nevertheless Pablo took us to the basement bar and settled our nerves with a brandy- what an experience - I thought the house would fall down, but no - we went outside and everything was continuing completely normally, only the tourists noticed. Nice people, nice hotel, nice place. Loved the shops and make sure you find La Dulceria, beautiful little sweet shop nearby.

Room tip: front for view, but there are balconies to sit anyway
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cocofamilyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews