We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't hurt to smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My friends and I have stayed in this hotel twice and have found it both times less than satiasfactory. The hotel is quite cheap so we weren't expecting luxury however, dirty rooms, broken lights and cold showers which leak all over the floor were not what we had in mind. To be honest we could have looked past all of these problems and more if it wasn't for the staff at the hotel being so unhelpful. They are VERY unorganised, our first stay they had not booked our rooms properly, the second stay they 'misplaced' my deposit and tried to get us to pay an extra $50'000. Mistakes are easily made but the least they could have offered us was a smile but apparently that was too much to ask for. We only returned a second time because we were completely stuck, but needless to say we will not be back a third.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

Yes, the rooms are VERY small, but that's fine you're not there to hang out in your hotel room, right? The pros: good showers, hot water good pressure. Good location, close to a few restaurants and a funicular. The cons: just about everything else... First the bed, while it was comfortable it did not have a mattress cover on it, nor did the pillows have liners. I looked inside the pillowcase to see a gray (yes it was no longer white or even beige) foam pillow. At night the thin bottom sheet would come off the mattress and you'd find yourself lying on a bare mattress. No one came to clean the room during out 2 night stay or give us clean towels. The room "looked" clean although I had dirt stuck to my socks when I walked around without shoes. The door handle on the cupboard/closet was broken adding to the run down feel of the place. Breakfast was a roll with guacamole or jam and coffee. The "staff" was almost nonexistent, and were not overly helpful. If you're staying in Valpo more than a night or 2, spend the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Valparaiso is the port city 70 miles north of Santiago. Very little rooms with no room to walk; have to watch cable tv while lying down. The room was clean as was the private bathroom. The price is right. The city is crowded, small, with winding, very steep, hilly, narrow streets. There are still funiculars all over taking you up hills. Staff at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was adequate and although they say no parking, there are 3 tight parking spaces. It's actually better to take a taxi from the ship disembarkation and rent a car when you leave the area. We were told the buses in all of Chile are wonderful and a good way to travel. Many people we spoke to said they take a "Pullman Bus" to Mendoza, nearest Argentinian city, with sleeping facilities on the bus. They say the lower level of the bus is most comfortable but upper level is OK and cheaper.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrannybabyFSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gonzalo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paloma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sylvie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank francoissylvie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Reina Victoria
Hotel Reina Victoria
#32 of 35 in Valparaiso
71 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
460 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Valparaiso
Ibis Valparaiso
#13 of 35 in Valparaiso
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
Hotel Latitud 33 Sur
#19 of 35 in Valparaiso
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Ecomusic Hotel
Ecomusic Hotel
#22 of 35 in Valparaiso
97 reviews
0.9 km away
Ultramar Hotel
Ultramar Hotel
#16 of 35 in Valparaiso
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso

Address: Monte Alegre 244 | Cerro Alegre, Valparaiso 2370541, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Price Range: $51 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Montealegre de Valparaiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing