We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2016

As part of two weeks in Chile, I was advised by a Chilean friend to spend several days in Valparaiso. He also recommended finding a place to stay high up on one of the famous hills. He suggested the Cerro Concepcion and we found this hotel.
From my initial contact with the owner, Don Claudio, it was clear that our stay would be special. Located on the top with a fabulous view, especially from the roof deck, the Manoir Atkinson enjoyed an ideal location. There are numerous restaurants nearby and descending to the downtown is a quick walk or elevator ride.
The house is charming, with an attractive reception/dining area adjacent to the desk.
The rooms are of varying sizes and views, and prices. Ours was on the top floor with easy access to an outside balcony and the stairs to the roof.
Claudio, the inn keeper was enjoying a second career and he and his wife were involved in all aspects of running the establishment. Breakfasts were home-made, generous and often featured special pastries. Claudio was available for consults on the best tourist destinations and provided drivers to take us to" La Sebastiana", the local Neruda house, and on an excursion to wineries and to Isla Negra to another of Don Pablo's residences at a very reasonable cost.
The striking Paseo Atkinson on which the house is located sits just above a number of famous tourist spots, including the Cinzano restaurant and the Plaza Anibal Pinto.
The warmth of our hosts was exemplary.

Room Tip: Upper rooms would be a little quieter, as there is some local foot traffic.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pschoenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Manoir Atkinson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel after a rocky start from a hopeless taxi driver who delivered us a considerable distance away. (Beware unhelpful and expensive pick ups from cruise ships). We initially met up with other family members who had stayed for a few days before we arrived and who took us to their room , which was spacious and had a good view, while we waited for our room to be ready. Our room was smallish but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We were able to use the lounge area downstairs when we needed and had drinks on the roof top view area in the evening. Breakfast was fine, if a little sweet for our tastes but perfectly ok and staff went out of their way to assist and meet our requests.Reception staff very friendly and helpful and we really had a good time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street tend to be more noisy-there was a barking dog.....
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bewkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This very charming tiny hotel offers great views of the city and the ocean and is perfectly located to explore the nicest parts of Valparaiso on foot. We had a nicely furnished and spacious suite on the top floor, including a private balcony with ocean view. Claudio and his wife are extremely friendly and helpful hosts. If we have a chance to return to Valparaiso, we know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: Recommend upper floor
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thorsten925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

Great location and very helpful owner who lives on site. Also, the breakfast was something special with homemade tart and jams plus real coffee with bread rolls, ham & cheese.
We had the standard room which was quite good value but looking at the deluxe rooms at the front of the house, you would be advised to spend the extra $20 to get one of the deluxe rooms which have more space and a nice view. The standard rooms are a little cramped for space.
Overall, it is good value for a small boutique hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a deluxe room at the front
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

The crepes,bread,juice,coffee and fruit kebaps in the morning breakfast were simply a wonderful way to start our day!!Add to that, the fact that it was actually served in our table, which traduced it a more personal service. Claudio Leiva and his wife, who actually live in the premises, were simply wonderful. Claudio went out of his way to help us connect with a Viña del Mar couple whom we had met back in 1982 and this was actually a high point in our trip. The location, steps away from the Atkinson Boulevard (Paseo Atkinson)made it ideal for a charming stroll and you can see the whole city, from the hills to the Ocean from the hotel roof. I took some time to go to the roof at night to take some beautiful pictures from there. The Concepción elevator is also very close and you can take it to go to the lower part of the city and the port. When we departed,it felt as if we had left two good ol' friends. CARLOS AND RUTHIE PORTUGUES,SAN JUAN PUERTO RICO. STAYED MARCH 11/12 2016.

Room Tip: Our room in the second floor was very quiet,even 'tho it was next to the wooden starters. We had...
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubbyportu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We were on the top floor and it was like a furnace! We opened the windows to get a breeze but the barking dogs and singing drunks kept us awake all night. Sparse breakfast, plus they asked if we wanted a coffee upon arrival and then charged $5 for it on check out. Owner & wife very pleasant and helpful... Very limited english.

Room Tip: DON'T stay on top floor. Extremely hot..
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016 via mobile

The owner treated me with warm welcome instantly I arrived at this perfectly located hotel. He would show me around this hotel and tell me where to go and see in details. The hotel also has a roof top terrace with great view of the harbour and the hilltop of the city. I had a very early checkout to catch a flight. The owner would arrange the taxi for me and got up 4 am to make coffee and see me away. He is genuinely caring for all his guests. I had wonderful time there. The room is also very clean.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank kunfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
679 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
493 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
457 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
501 reviews
1.2 km away
Verso Hotel
Verso Hotel
#6 of 35 in Valparaiso
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Atkinson

Address: Paseo Atkinson 165 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range: $139 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manoir Atkinson 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoir Atkinson is all about warm hospitality and dedicated service. A charming French Hotel-boutique located in the very heart of the historic district of Valparaiso, this old patrimonial home was completely restored in a manner that is respectful of the neighborhoods singular traits and the essence of its first European owners. Strategically situated on the renowned Paseo Atkinson, the Manoir is the rendezvous lieu of tourists and foreigners of all origins, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Manoir Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Atkinson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing