We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fabulous little hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hotel outdid all expectations. The manager, Claudio, is super-friendly, bilingual, WARM, helpful with EVERYTHING. The rooms have wonderful mountain-top view of the city and are in the midst of the tourist (hilltop) district of the city, within easy walking distance of restaurants and shops. We aren't shoppers, but the shops are there if you want them. I would go back here in a heartbeat! -- Mom traveling with 21-year-old daughter

Room Tip: Would return in a heartbeat
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    51
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
149
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I stayed here over Christmas 2015. Everything about this hotel is awesome - ideal location, very nice clean rooms, the owners and staff are super friendly and their prices are good. The owner's English is very good. It is a nice quiet atmosphere which I enjoyed. If you're a party animal this would not be the place for you. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Valparaiso.

  • Stayed December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadaisc00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We arrived to Hotel Manoir Atkinson and Claudio greeted us so warmly. We knew we were in the right place. A classic, old style hotel with tables set in the foyer for breakfast. He showed us around and to the incredible view from the roof balcony. The beds and sheets were incredibly comfortable, fluffy down comforter and nice towels. Breakfast is usually served at 8:30a but we had to leave at 7:30a so Claudio got up early and made us the most delicious coffee, bread & jam and the traditional cheese & ham. Easy parking right in front with our rental car and so centrally located, we walked to a yummy dinner around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, Vt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed at the charming Manoir Atkinson on two different occasions in March 2016. Claudio was a most gracious and helpful host offering suggestions for places to visit and eat and helping us with arrangements such as a rental car. Our rooms overlooking a terrace on the third floor were small but lovely and perfectly adequate for our needs. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace in the evening with a glass of wine looking out over historic Cerra Concepcion. Highly recommend Manoir Atkinson for your stay in Valparaiso.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016

As part of two weeks in Chile, I was advised by a Chilean friend to spend several days in Valparaiso. He also recommended finding a place to stay high up on one of the famous hills. He suggested the Cerro Concepcion and we found this hotel.
From my initial contact with the owner, Don Claudio, it was clear that our stay would be special. Located on the top with a fabulous view, especially from the roof deck, the Manoir Atkinson enjoyed an ideal location. There are numerous restaurants nearby and descending to the downtown is a quick walk or elevator ride.
The house is charming, with an attractive reception/dining area adjacent to the desk.
The rooms are of varying sizes and views, and prices. Ours was on the top floor with easy access to an outside balcony and the stairs to the roof.
Claudio, the inn keeper was enjoying a second career and he and his wife were involved in all aspects of running the establishment. Breakfasts were home-made, generous and often featured special pastries. Claudio was available for consults on the best tourist destinations and provided drivers to take us to" La Sebastiana", the local Neruda house, and on an excursion to wineries and to Isla Negra to another of Don Pablo's residences at a very reasonable cost.
The striking Paseo Atkinson on which the house is located sits just above a number of famous tourist spots, including the Cinzano restaurant and the Plaza Anibal Pinto.
The warmth of our hosts was exemplary.

Room Tip: Upper rooms would be a little quieter, as there is some local foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschoenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woongarrah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel after a rocky start from a hopeless taxi driver who delivered us a considerable distance away. (Beware unhelpful and expensive pick ups from cruise ships). We initially met up with other family members who had stayed for a few days before we arrived and who took us to their room , which was spacious and had a good view, while we waited for our room to be ready. Our room was smallish but very comfortable and had everything we needed. We were able to use the lounge area downstairs when we needed and had drinks on the roof top view area in the evening. Breakfast was fine, if a little sweet for our tastes but perfectly ok and staff went out of their way to assist and meet our requests.Reception staff very friendly and helpful and we really had a good time.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the street tend to be more noisy-there was a barking dog.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2016

This very charming tiny hotel offers great views of the city and the ocean and is perfectly located to explore the nicest parts of Valparaiso on foot. We had a nicely furnished and spacious suite on the top floor, including a private balcony with ocean view. Claudio and his wife are extremely friendly and helpful hosts. If we have a chance to return to Valparaiso, we know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: Recommend upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorsten925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
673 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
493 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#16 of 35 in Valparaiso
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Atkinson

Property: Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Address: Paseo Atkinson 165 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manoir Atkinson 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoir Atkinson is all about warm hospitality and dedicated service. A charming French Hotel-boutique located in the very heart of the historic district of Valparaiso, this old patrimonial home was completely restored in a manner that is respectful of the neighborhoods singular traits and the essence of its first European owners. Strategically situated on the renowned Paseo Atkinson, the Manoir is the rendezvous lieu of tourists and foreigners of all origins, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manoir Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Atkinson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing