We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Valparaiso
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming old hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Very central to the main centre of Valaraiso overlooking the city and harbour/port. Very friendly helpful staff and lovely breakfast. There is a very high roof lookout sit down area on the roof which is worth going up and looking around as you have a 360 degree view. The only down side is the old flooring tends to be very noise as people wail around in the stair area.

Room Tip: Get the highest possible room because less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    51
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
15
149
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Our 3 nights over NYE in Valparaiso was made so much more extra special by staying here! Claudio, our host was just wonderful and we have become special friends. Right from the beginning when I was emailing to make sure we had our room, he was always quick to respond and allay my worries. The house is just beautiful with a great location overlooking the bay and the hills! Breakfast was gourmet and something different every day.
The house has a rooftop terrace with incredible views 360 degrees! Our NYE party on the rooftop terrace was just magnificent, celebrating with the other guests and all of Claudio's family. The NYE fireworks were fantastic and we had the most amazing view of it all. We left with special memories of spending time with new friends. A time we will always remember. A special hello to Claudio and family from Lucia and Russell!!!

Room Tip: Mer & Monde has the view over the street and the bay from our window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_and_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

You are made to feel really at home from your first greeting in this quaint hotel. The view from the terrace is fantastic and breakfast is is also very good. The room has all we wanted and was very clean. The creaking floor boards added to the character of the hotel. Thank you for a great experience can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampe, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We loved the feel of this hotel. It's rooftop tables allowed for a beautiful nighttime view of the city and the harbor. We only wish that we had more than 1 night to spend here. The breakfast of crepes, fruit, strawberry juice and more was excellent. When we make it back to Valparaiso we won't even look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sespol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The Hotel Manoir Atkinson is located on a hillside overlooking the Port of Valparaiso with breathtaking views of the hills surrounding this beautiful city. Claudio is a wonderful host and is eager to meet your every need. The hotel is over 100 years old and in some aspects it is showing it's age, but it is a warm and inviting experience. Breakfast is included and adequate. The rooms are small but comfortable. Note that there is no elevator, so if you have several heavy suitcases, getting them up to your room might prove to be a challenge. Would we return?...sure would!

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockhart, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this little gem prior to a cruise! The hotel manager, Claudio, greeted us and gave us many great recommendations for walk, restaurants, coffee all close by! The hotel contains stairs and no elevator so make sure you can carry your luggage up and down stairs. No A/C but nice ocean breeze. The rooftop terrace is a perfect spot for wine, wifi and sunset! Nice continental breakfast, great coffee and friendly service. Short taxi ride to port.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LonghornTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We stayed for only one night prior to boarding a cruise ship, and what a delightful overnight we had! We were greeted warmly by our host, Claudio, who took care of our every need throughout our stay. We dropped our bags off and checked in before continuing on a tour of the area. Upon our return, Claudio had us settled into our room on the second floor with a nice view of the sea as well as the little plaza below (great spectating of folks strolling and an occasional guitarist entertaining passersby.) Then, he suggested a few restaurant choices all within a 5 minute walk on Concepcion Hill (where we were located.) We enjoyed a brief visit to our rooftop terrace (accessible from the 3rd floor with views to both the back and the sea via another spiral staircase.) Breakfast the next morning was in the charming main floor dining/living area, and included fresh juice, pastries, ham, cheeses and lovely baked goods. When we checked out, we were sent off with warm wishes and even a hug!

Room Tip: Worth a little extra for sea view. Note, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grrr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valparaiso hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
Casa Galos Hotel & Lofts
#1 of 35 in Valparaiso
672 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fauna
Hotel Fauna
#4 of 35 in Valparaiso
486 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
Hotel Da Vinci Valparaiso
#3 of 35 in Valparaiso
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
Grand Hotel Gervasoni
#20 of 35 in Valparaiso
320 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Casa Higueras
Hotel Casa Higueras
#2 of 35 in Valparaiso
492 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Terranostra
Hotel Terranostra
#17 of 35 in Valparaiso
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manoir Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manoir Atkinson

Property: Hotel Manoir Atkinson
Address: Paseo Atkinson 165 | Cerro Concepcion, Valparaiso, Chile
Region: Chile > Valparaiso Region > Valparaiso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valparaiso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manoir Atkinson 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manoir Atkinson is all about warm hospitality and dedicated service. A charming French Hotel-boutique located in the very heart of the historic district of Valparaiso, this old patrimonial home was completely restored in a manner that is respectful of the neighborhoods singular traits and the essence of its first European owners. Strategically situated on the renowned Paseo Atkinson, the Manoir is the rendezvous lieu of tourists and foreigners of all origins, all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Manoir Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Atkinson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing