We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hostel - no English speaking staff and can be noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Ranked #47 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, nice family run hostel but nobody speaks English - hard to even say I wanted a room for 2nights in basic Spanish but the owner just didn't get it! Location is good if u want to be near bars and clubs (Foch square) but I stayed here so I wasn't in the 'party hostel' vibes across the road yet I could still hear music till about midnight, car alarms and dogs barking... and the hostel itself has extremely squeaky beds and floorboards so it's always noisy. Breakfast was good though - bread with 1 egg, bowl of fruit salad, juice drink and a tea/coffee. Wifi was also pretty good. Showers were never hot for me - others managed to get one

Room Tip: At the rear of the building so your not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSeaSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days.
Very friendly and family feeling! The owner is very nice, and will help you with anything you ask.
The breakfast is very big and good.
Only two problems is that the family speaks only Spanish, so if you don't know Spanish it's a problem.
The other problem is that you can't leave your bags in the hostel after you check out.
But apart from that, very recommended and very good hostel!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Amit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The family were unwelcoming and unhelpful. On the final day of our stay we were not allowed to leave our bags or shower. This is a wannabe guesthouse and unsuitable as a backpackers hostel. Stay in vibes instead!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank zoe1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Been travelling for three months now, two in India, and this hostel may possibly be the only place where the owners don't let you leave your bags or shower after you check out. So you're basically screwed for any physical day trip you have planned for your final day in Quito. My room was basically a shed out back that was blighted by freezing night time temperatures and a colossal colony of ants. The Baltic shower and extra two dollars per night for said room didn't really add much either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovebreaks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
You can use the bathroons but take a shower!
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
You threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
I am sorry, but you must review our reservation policies.
your room are priced at $ 15 and you made ​​a $ 3 discount, ants have not, but for $ 12 also offer a deluxe room rates include breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at this hostel are the rudest I have ever encountered. They seemed to go out of their way to make our lives difficult, and despite having stayed at the hostel for 3 nights, refused to allow us to even use their toilet as soon as we checked out, making our final day in quito extremely difficult! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
You can use the bathroon, but take a shower, you do think is correct take a shower after your check out without additional payment.
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
to what you threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
sorry I have not understand our reservation policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is by far the most unfriendly hostel I have been to so far! The location is good but don't be fooled into going here if Vibes or Blue house are full! The owners were unwilling to help us in any way and wouldn't even let us leave our bags for the day without kicking up a fuss. Quito is a great place but avoid this hostel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ellie1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GalapagosNaturalLif, Gerente at Hostel Galapagos Natural Life, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I am much regret what happened
but I want to mention that our check in time is 12:00, after this time if they wish to continue in their room must pay an extra value.
you can use the batrhroon, it is possible, but It is not possible take a shower
We store your luggage until 5pm, you came back and wanted to take showers.
we accept store your bags, but it is not permissible to use the showers.
to what you threatened us with very annoying to write a review on tripadvisor.
I am sorry if you don´t review our reservation policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Rude and unfriendly owners. Wouldn't even let us use the bathroom after checking out when we had been staying there for 3 nights. The couple is very strict and mean. It's a shame because it could be a nice place if the owners weren't evil.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonierharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#18 of 116 in Quito
801 reviews
16 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
15.5 km away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
0.9 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
0.3 km away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#33 of 116 in Quito
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galapagos Natural Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Address: Pinto E8-64 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: C$15 - C$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Galapagos Natural Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing