We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hostel, mixed service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life
Ranked #45 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We arrived to the hostel in the evening after returning from the Galapagos very tired. I had corresponded directly with the hostel to arrange our reservation, and had a confirmation email. When we arrived, they did not have our reservation on the calendar and until I could locate the confirmation the staff were not especially welcoming of us as guests. The room we booked was not available, though they did find another option for us for the night. There was plenty of hot water and the beds were comfortable. We were asked to purchase bottled water as the tap is not potable and the hostel doesn't offer filtered water. We were given good tips on restaurants nearby by the gentleman.The breakfast the next morning was basic and minimal, not to the description on the website. When we asked for seconds for an item we were told there would be an additional charge. The way it was presented really put a sour note on us, especially since not everyone in the family opted to have breakfast. I was really hoping for a better experience as friends of ours recommended this place.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2016

The room was ok, clean and big enough for the four of us. Location very good. But the lady makes all the difference with the others places nearby, she is helpful and really friendly. Recommended for people who prefer to speak spanish.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The hostal is in a very good position, the staff is very helpful and the rooms are great for the price. Just an example of the great attention to the customers the staff has: my airline delivered my lost luggage at 4 AM and the director of the hostel woke up to receive it!
Will always come back to this hostal when passing by Quito.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GiacomoJackR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Good location, friendly and helpful owners and staff, great breakfast, and safe.
Internet and hot water 24 h.you can notice that the staff are doing all their best all the time. spacial thanks to Rodrigo that recommended us a lot of things to do and see.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

For the location and price, this is a very nice hostel. Service and breakfast are impeccable (getting actual milk in a hot chocolate is fairly unusual) and being a family-run business the whole place is all the more friendlier.
We also used the agency next door (same name) to book our trip to the Galapagos

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Creadbrumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

I was back home in quito.
The room was clean and comfy , hot water and great braekfest
And a good location in the town
And most important Los the owner was just AMAZING felt like my mom taking care of me

Very very very recommended

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shahar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We stayed here before our wonderful Galapagos tour. It is very casual, minimalist, and basically a hostel. There are no luxuries. Other guests were either on their way to or returning from a Galapagos trip, so everyone was happy. My husband and I slept well.

Room Tip: Bring eye covers for dark if traveling from far time zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 116 in Quito
800 reviews
16 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
15.5 km away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
3.3 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 116 in Quito
721 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Galapagos Natural Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Galapagos Natural Life

Address: Pinto E8-64 y 6 de diciembre, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $15 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Galapagos Natural Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Galapagos Natural Life Hotel Quito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing