We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostal for Adults”
Review of Hostal El Arupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal El Arupo
Ranked #37 of 291 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2017

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. We loved it! Staff was so sweet and accomodating. our reservation was screwed up. We were quoted $33 a night but discovered it should have been $60. It was more than we had wanted to spend so they offered a compromise of $45. We slept well even though in Mariscol (the club district) the street noise is abundant). Breakfast was included and simple. Great juice! Even at full price this would be a good value.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPRamsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hostel was perfect for our overnight stay in Quito. A great location, close to restaurants and not too far to walk into the old town. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had problems with a car we had rented and they helped us contact the car hire company. Good memories of Quito. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

If you need to visit Quito, and want to find a comfortable place in a good location, with many restaurants, and buses that can take you all over town, then this is the place. Helpful staff, good breakfast, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to get room near the back, the rooms on the street can be noisy, especially late at night when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WJD_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Good value for the money. We had a room with "garden view". It was lovely to observe the humming-birds close by. We were also satisfied with breakfast. The location is pretty good, in center of town. Therefore it can be a bit loud in the evenings on weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank migrosmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

This hostel is very well located in the tourist area of Quito (Note: this is not at all the same as the old town, it is a six block area devoted to hotels, bars and restaurants, well-policed and safe). Right across the street is the Achiote restaurant which I loved.
There are also some noisy bars nearby, if you want to go to sleep early you may want to bring some ear plugs.

The price was great: $33 including breakfast; hotels are actually very expensive in Quito, in the Swissotel you are lucky if you get a room for $200, the top hotels cost $500/night and up.

But understandably this is a primitive family-run establishment. Do not expect a Best Western-type property, you would be disappointed. You will however get a clean room, one towel, a small bar of soap, a small private bath with a shower, all one really needs. So if you are willing to accept the Arupo for what it is, you will not regret your choice.

Don't miss the amazing fireplace in the main floor sitting room

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

I was supposed to be here for 5 nights, but I am checking out after just one. I read that some rooms can be noisy so I asked for a quiet one. The place is decent enough for the price but the sound insulation is very poor - club music, car alarms, people shouting. It's a pretty noisy area and I simply couldn't sleep. Maybe it's just me...

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Bambos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Located near Plaza Foch which is full of bars and nightlife, be wary at night-time as dodgy characters walk the streets of Quito. Hostel is very cute with a lovely sitting room area for chats and beers which are available for sale at low cost in the hostel. Breakfast was included for our two night stay and it was good as they made you eggs and you could make toast and get fruit.
The old town of Quito is located a bit away from this area but can be reached by the tram system in the city after a short walk, just ask reception for help.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NiallODonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.2 km away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#32 of 113 in Quito
193 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue House
Blue House
#14 of 291 in Quito
222 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Urbana Hostal
Casa Urbana Hostal
#9 of 291 in Quito
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
The Secret Garden Quito
The Secret Garden Quito
#18 of 291 in Quito
430 reviews
0.4 km away
Travellers Inn
Travellers Inn
#16 of 291 in Quito
211 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arupo

Address: Juan Rodriguez E7-22 y Reina Victoria, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 291 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Price Range: $39 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal El Arupo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Arupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing