We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Helbling
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
US$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$112
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa El Eden(Quito)
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
131
40
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
40
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot water worksnice place to stayimagine ecuadorplaza fochold towngreat accommodationclean roomsinternet accesshot showershort walkecuador triprecommend staying herestayed longercommon areasfew blocksincluded breakfastbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 180 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Safe hostal in a city that has a dangerous reputation. Helbling is perfect. Explore the house as it's quite special...like a old villa with lots of nooks and crannies!

$25 double (shared bath) at first seemed a bit high for a room without TV but the facilities make up for that. The common areas are great and free WiFi was fast with good signal everywhere. But to use their computer, $2/hour is quite high!

We wanted to find a secure and comfortable hostal for 3 nights where we could cook and relax in the evenings since we heard/read so many robbery stories and didn't feel that it was worth the risk or the hassles of needing to take a taxi for just a few blocks.

Rooms are large and well kept. Beds are firm. Rooms in front can be noisy during the day but there isn't much traffic at night. Every room seems to be different.
Kitchen is well-stocked, even has hot water tap and microwave. Large dining table too. The guests seem to be 30+ group and not the big party kind. (It felt like an adult WG in a nice cozy way)

Shared bathrooms are spacious with nice extras like bathmats, hand soap, etc. (one even had a bathroom scale!)

Lots of indoor and outdoor hang-out areas, even has a toilet in the outdoor part.

1 for 1 book exchange with huge selection of books, esp German ones.

There is also a nice café area downstairs with drinks and snacks/breakfast for sale, but was a bit pricey in our opinion.

The German management is very helpful. Claus will explain all the ins and outs of Quito in an entertaining, hyper-animated way.
There is a SuperMaxi nearby for groceries.

The public transport in Quito is top notch. We arrived in the south bus terminal Quitumbe where the great tourist office gave us a map and instructions to get to the hostal. Between 11-4pm, the transport is not crowded and Ruta Suroriente bus starts there so we got prime seats in the back as we have big backpacks. You need to transfer (same track) at Marin Chillos for the Ecovia route for the last 10 mins or if it is too busy just take a taxi from there. Get out at Galo Plaza and it's only 3 blocks away.
It took about 40 min total. 25cents with (taxi is around $10 and take also 40 mins as they don't have special lanes like the bus does!). Note: DON'T DO THIS DURING RUSH HOUR OR AT NIGHT.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Whilst not a bad place to stay I have to say we thought it failed to live up to the reviews. Positives: good area, well placed, clean, safe. Negatives: Whilst well priced by European standards was quite expensive compared to what else was available locally, breakfast good but pricey, seemed fairly under staffed; we never waited less than 20 minutes to speak to someone and although they claim to be multi lingual we only found 1 member of staff who spoke good English. Usually this is to be expected in South America and I wouldn't mention it but if you advertise as speaking a language then I think it's good to be able to speak it! Luckily we got by with our Spanish but it might be a struggle if you don't speak much/any. Finally are the bathrooms - if you do decide to stay and have a shared bathroom go explore - we were told there was one bathroom for us to use and never waited less than 60 minutes to get in to it, one day we waited 2 hours before giving up! However on our last day we found out there was another bathroom further up we could have used but hadn't been pointed out. There was an extra toilet on the ground floor which was invaluable. Apparently there was also a terrance that we weren't shown either. Free wifi was a bonus. Laundry could be done much more cheaply localy. Not a bad stay but quite frustrating!

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie_hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The double room was a steal at $25 with 2 shared, super clean bathrooms. They arranged airport pickup and it was very easy after a long day of travel after arriving in Quito late at night. We enjoyed the breakfast as it was convenient, had good coffee, and was a large amount of food to get us through a day of exploring.

We were always aware of our surroundings and felt safe, but we heard stories of other travelers being robbed. (my husband is tall and imposing which may help!)

The hotel is next to fast public transport and easy to get to old town. The Mariscal is within a quick walk and has lots of restaurants for tourists. We loved the central location of Casa Helbling, the clean rooms, and quaint public areas!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Not an easy place to find as there is no big sign but once that you find it you will feel right at home. They opened the cafeteria for us at midnight to warm us up with hot cocoa and a big smile. Overall a cozy place, very clean, and no annoying tvs. Free internet access, and the sheets really pleased us as they were lint free. Wooden floors over all are not squeaky, but the stairs are, specially if you step on them as a mad Germain :). Breakfast is not included but continental is only $3.50. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlitaPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2011

By far the best value we had in Quito, you should book early if you would like to stay here, as it's likely that all of their better rooms will be booked up. They offer reasonably-priced rooms with or without private baths, as well as shared dormitories. The showers are warm and relatively clean, and the bed is comfy enough. I did not find breakfast to be a good value ($5 will buy more food outside the hostel), but everything else is a boon to the budget, and given Helbling's proximity to New Town, there's plenty of places to eat. The other guests vary in age, but tend to be older, some with families, which lends a polite, quiet atmosphere to the place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews