We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safe and Sqeeky Clean”
Review of Casa Helbling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Helbling
Ranked #9 of 231 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Safe and Sqeeky Clean”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The hostal arranged transfer from the airport was perfect, and I would highly recommend this cheap luxury upon arrival. I think it may be difficult for a taxi driver who was unfamilar with this place. If you do take a taxi, just make sure you know the closest intersection street names.

Good location at edge Mariscal, just a few blocks from many bars and restaurants, easliy walkable. The police presence made us feel safe....but who knows, maybe it was just an illusion:) A taxi was a couple bucks to old town. Probably less if you speak Spanish.

We booked a room with private bath with 2 beds for $35.00 per nights/no breakfast. Depending on the comfort of the bed, sometimes we only need one bed but we always book 2 beds "just in case'" The beds were 1 twin and 1 double in our room. The double bed was comfortable, which was a good thing as the twin bed probably needs a new mattress in the near future as it was a bit sloped and uncomfortable. The bathroom had a lovely hot shower and was super clean, with daily maid service.

Both my husband and I enjoyed the common areas for reading and using the wi fi. The wi fi had a strong signal even in our room.

The breakfasts were fine, very good coffee. I thought the price was fair, especially in light of how convienient it was.

Both Claus and Hubert were extremely helpful and both had delightfully quirky sense of humor. They were always willing to share their knowledge of the city and help us "gringos" out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    35
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
71
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
271 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Safe hostal in a city that has a dangerous reputation. Helbling is perfect. Explore the house as it's quite special...like a old villa with lots of nooks and crannies!

$25 double (shared bath) at first seemed a bit high for a room without TV but the facilities make up for that. The common areas are great and free WiFi was fast with good signal everywhere. But to use their computer, $2/hour is quite high!

We wanted to find a secure and comfortable hostal for 3 nights where we could cook and relax in the evenings since we heard/read so many robbery stories and didn't feel that it was worth the risk or the hassles of needing to take a taxi for just a few blocks.

Rooms are large and well kept. Beds are firm. Rooms in front can be noisy during the day but there isn't much traffic at night. Every room seems to be different.
Kitchen is well-stocked, even has hot water tap and microwave. Large dining table too. The guests seem to be 30+ group and not the big party kind. (It felt like an adult WG in a nice cozy way)

Shared bathrooms are spacious with nice extras like bathmats, hand soap, etc. (one even had a bathroom scale!)

Lots of indoor and outdoor hang-out areas, even has a toilet in the outdoor part.

1 for 1 book exchange with huge selection of books, esp German ones.

There is also a nice café area downstairs with drinks and snacks/breakfast for sale, but was a bit pricey in our opinion.

The German management is very helpful. Claus will explain all the ins and outs of Quito in an entertaining, hyper-animated way.
There is a SuperMaxi nearby for groceries.

The public transport in Quito is top notch. We arrived in the south bus terminal Quitumbe where the great tourist office gave us a map and instructions to get to the hostal. Between 11-4pm, the transport is not crowded and Ruta Suroriente bus starts there so we got prime seats in the back as we have big backpacks. You need to transfer (same track) at Marin Chillos for the Ecovia route for the last 10 mins or if it is too busy just take a taxi from there. Get out at Galo Plaza and it's only 3 blocks away.
It took about 40 min total. 25cents with (taxi is around $10 and take also 40 mins as they don't have special lanes like the bus does!). Note: DON'T DO THIS DURING RUSH HOUR OR AT NIGHT.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Whilst not a bad place to stay I have to say we thought it failed to live up to the reviews. Positives: good area, well placed, clean, safe. Negatives: Whilst well priced by European standards was quite expensive compared to what else was available locally, breakfast good but pricey, seemed fairly under staffed; we never waited less than 20 minutes to speak to someone and although they claim to be multi lingual we only found 1 member of staff who spoke good English. Usually this is to be expected in South America and I wouldn't mention it but if you advertise as speaking a language then I think it's good to be able to speak it! Luckily we got by with our Spanish but it might be a struggle if you don't speak much/any. Finally are the bathrooms - if you do decide to stay and have a shared bathroom go explore - we were told there was one bathroom for us to use and never waited less than 60 minutes to get in to it, one day we waited 2 hours before giving up! However on our last day we found out there was another bathroom further up we could have used but hadn't been pointed out. There was an extra toilet on the ground floor which was invaluable. Apparently there was also a terrance that we weren't shown either. Free wifi was a bonus. Laundry could be done much more cheaply localy. Not a bad stay but quite frustrating!

Room Tip: Get a private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie_hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The double room was a steal at $25 with 2 shared, super clean bathrooms. They arranged airport pickup and it was very easy after a long day of travel after arriving in Quito late at night. We enjoyed the breakfast as it was convenient, had good coffee, and was a large amount of food to get us through a day of exploring.

We were always aware of our surroundings and felt safe, but we heard stories of other travelers being robbed. (my husband is tall and imposing which may help!)

The hotel is next to fast public transport and easy to get to old town. The Mariscal is within a quick walk and has lots of restaurants for tourists. We loved the central location of Casa Helbling, the clean rooms, and quaint public areas!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danicwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Not an easy place to find as there is no big sign but once that you find it you will feel right at home. They opened the cafeteria for us at midnight to warm us up with hot cocoa and a big smile. Overall a cozy place, very clean, and no annoying tvs. Free internet access, and the sheets really pleased us as they were lint free. Wooden floors over all are not squeaky, but the stairs are, specially if you step on them as a mad Germain :). Breakfast is not included but continental is only $3.50. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlitaPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

By far the best value we had in Quito, you should book early if you would like to stay here, as it's likely that all of their better rooms will be booked up. They offer reasonably-priced rooms with or without private baths, as well as shared dormitories. The showers are warm and relatively clean, and the bed is comfy enough. I did not find breakfast to be a good value ($5 will buy more food outside the hostel), but everything else is a boon to the budget, and given Helbling's proximity to New Town, there's plenty of places to eat. The other guests vary in age, but tend to be older, some with families, which lends a polite, quiet atmosphere to the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Casa Helbling won us over for several reasons, the top being the owner's personality & helpfulness. Claus & Jessie speak fluent English & German were full of great recommendations for food accommodations as well as places to visit equipping us w/ a map & easy to follow walking directions. Claus even hunted down a vegetarian restaurant that was only blocks away & turned out to be our best meal in Quito. Claus's laugh is infectious & larger then life:[).
Conveniently located, large facility w/ lots of balconies & a well stocked kitchen. Breakfast was great & the rooms are large & comfortable. Internet access & two rooms that were stocked w/ books & maps.
When we arrived the airport transport was waiting as promised. Our room was always clean & we felt comfortable sleeping in the sheets (which we cannot say about other hostels we have stayed in), & the water was hot.
The floors were a little squeaky but hardly noticeable & w/ the great location the time we spent was right outside of the hostel at the market or enjoying great restaurants.
There is a enclosed seating area in front that allows smoking; however, we did not find it smelled inside the hostel or that the area confined the smoke. Being non smokers & sensitive to the smell we did not believe it was obtrusive or took away from our great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.4 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.8 km away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 km away
Yellow House Hotel
Yellow House Hotel
#28 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#12 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Hotel Alameda
Mercure Hotel Alameda
#16 of 114 in Quito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.2 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Helbling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Helbling

Property: Casa Helbling
Address: General Veintimilla E8-152 y 6 de Diciembre, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing