We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem in Quito”
other travellers have booked this property
Wantara Garden Suites
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
Wantara Garden Suites
Suite Luna and Sol
private terrace
kitchen
dining table for 3
view into the garden
modern wood burning stove for cool nights
bedroom on first floor
double bed (180 x 190 cm)
convertible in two single beds
two single beds (90x180cm)
comfortable desk
Suite Luna and Suite Sol are  also apt for a family or friends sharing one terrace
mountain view
enjoy the garden
gazebo with barbecue
Suite Luna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quito, Pichincha Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
halifax20...
Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
2 reviews
“A little gem in Quito”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Hosts greeted us at the gate, had a fire going in the fireplace and enough food in the fridge for breakfast the next morning as we arrived in the late evening. There were flowers inside and out. The apartment was cozy, clean, functional and comfortable. Everything worked well including the Internet and it's location in Old Quito allowed us to walk every where in the Old City. It was safe and secure. Our Hosts also arranged pickup and delivery back to Quito airport and we were thankful for that. The driver was safe, courteous and reasonably priced.
My wife and I highly recommend Wantara a Garden suites.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopjud
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High end garden apartment minutes from Old Quito”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We loved everything about our stay but the warmth of our hosts was one of the highlights. Upon arrival Andi sat with us with provided map and marked off highlights, restaurants, supermarkets etc as well as the nearby bakery. Wolfgang was charming and extremely helpful as required. The apartments are located behind a wall and when entered you are greeted by a large flowering garden.

The suites are well appointed with top of the line kitchen gadgets, three coffee makers, toaster, oven, micro, and lots of glasses. We only cooked one dinner when we were there but there would be no problem preparing meals every night - everything was there.

We stayed in the Estrella Suite which had a large bathroom with a very big shower and a lovely deck to sit and enjoy morning coffee and the garden birds. All of this a 5 minute walk from La Ronda and Plaza Santa Domingo. It is quite safe to walk to old town and La Ronda during daylight hours but a taxi ($2 or 3 from Old Town) after dark.

WiFi is good, totally secure and tranquil. Why would anyone stay in a hotel if they could stay here?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Hosts and location
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMLBill
Huddleston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm in the midst of a chaotic city”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed for a week in Wantara Suites upon our arrival in Quito. We cannot say enough about the thoughtfulness and hospitality of Andi & Woflgang. They even sent someone to meet us at the airport (at 2 am) and bring us into town to their lovely little refuge.

The unassuming white wall with the large wooden door along the street does not even begin to provide an idea of the paradise it guards. Once the door opens, the world transforms into a heavily landscaped, green oasis. The rooms are scattered around the grounds, with several "community" areas in the garden for guests to gather and exchange stories & tips.

Our suite (Tortuga) was extremely well equipped. The kitchen included everything one could possibly need to cook a very complete meal. No gadget, pan or utensil is missing. The room has a wood burning stove for the cold nights and great hot water in the shower. It is clean, clean, clean - like any hotel one might find in Germany. The bed was the most comfortable of any we've slept in for a very long time. The down comforters were absolutely awesome. (The only drawback to our room was that whenever the folks above us were awake, so were we. Their footsteps on the floor above simply could not be ignored. We wished they would just take their shoes off!)

The entire property is VERY safe and secure. Quite a contrast with the world outside the walls. It was very calming to know that our "stuff" was always safe and that we didn't have to worry about it. It was great to start the day with our own pot of coffee/tea and breakfast, served on our own private patio in the garden. It was great to be able to stock a fridge with whatever we might want.

As for location, it is hard to do much better than this in Quito, especially if you want some peace & quiet at night.

This one is a keeper! If you are going to Quito, and plan to be there long enough to qualify to stay at Wantara Suites (I think the minimum stay is 5 days), this one should be at the very top of your list!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aileen2
The Blue Mountains, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tranquil place to stay in the historic centre, the only place to stay”
Reviewed December 21, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent nearly two weeks at Wantara Suites and it was a wonderful stay. Wantara Suites is like returning to an oasis when you come back after day tours or visiting sites in Quito. The peaceful, garden atmosphere where one can sit outside and listen to the birds and enjoy the flowers was such a treat after a day out in busy Quito or first thing in the morning as we sipped our coffee. We used our wood stove every night to take off the chill and cozy up our suite, which was well appointed and had all the necessities for cooking when we felt like it. Andi and Wolfgang were very welcoming and left us a breakfast in the fridge as we were late arriving. It is about a ten minutes, easy walk into the Plaza Grande and surrounding sites. Our unit, Lagarto, was like a small house. It was wonderful - light and bright and very quiet at night, especially if you keep the bathroom door closed. And it offered a chance to meet others. I would highly recommend this place to those wishing a self-cateirng holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor access and ability to sit outside.
Liked least: There was nothing I didn’t like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P B
Gatineau
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wantara suite is an oasis and the owners are terrific!”
Reviewed November 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 teen daughters) stayed a week in the Estrella suite. It is well located, within a few minutes walking distance from historic Quito (our favourite area to visit), and inexpensive and efficient taxis and buses will get you anywhere you want to go. The most welcoming hosts are informative, friendly, positive. Wolfgang arranged special transportation for us and made excellent recommendations of restaurants and sightseeing. The apartment was very clean, with a well-stocked fridge for our first morning breakfast. The design is modern incorporating original structure and the surrounding gardens are most enchanting, especially when one considers it is smack in the middle of a bustling city. We enjoyed aperitifs outside after touring all day and picked fresh herbs from the garden for our evening meals! I highly recommend a stay at Wantara.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJA480
Olney, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis in Quito -- We will be back!”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My adult son and I spent the first four days of a week-long trip to Ecuador at Wantara Suites. It was a lovely, peaceful oasis in Old Town Quito. Wolfgang and Andi were wonderful hosts, always happy to answer questions and make suggestions. Our suite (Estrella) was very clean, inviting, and cozy. The kitchen was well equipped (three different types of coffeemakers!), and the upstairs bedroom had a lovely view of Quito and the mountains. We had a lovely terrace outside to enjoy the gardens and hummingbirds.

We could walk to La Ronda in about five minutes, and to other Old Town sites in 10-15 minutes...so convenient! The driver who met us at the airport was wonderful, and everything went very well during our stay. I hope to return soon (next time with my husband!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden with the sound of the tree frogs at night -- hummingbirds too...and our cozy suite
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan W
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding locale”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We discovered Wantara on Trip Advisor, the reviews speak for themselves. The suites are very comfortable , very well equipped and the location in the historic district is outstanding. Wolfgang and Andi were welcoming, helpful and very knowledgeable. It was great to see the photo-journal of the resurrection of the property, an impressive and successful project. We visited museums, hot springs and of course restaurants, the owners always came through with great recommendations. Wantara is a safe-bet for old town Quito.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing