We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort, luxury and the personal touch too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Gangotena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Gangotena
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Comfort, luxury and the personal touch too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here three times during our recent travel trip to Ecuador and it was fabulous to keep coming 'home' in between our various trips to somewhere so comfortable and friendly. The room was enormous, the bed very comfortable, the decor of the whole place amazing. We loved the view from the rooftop terrace. Unfortunately we made the mistake of only dining once in the hotel as we had been recommended lots of restaurants to try in the old town. Believe me, the restaurant in the Casa Gangotena is the only one worth eating in and I wished we'd stayed put. The food is superb and no more expensive than many others.
The General Manager took the trouble to come and chat to us several times during our stay and many of the staff called us by name which is always nice - particularly on return visits.The location is great for exploring the old town. Although some of the guidebooks say it's not safe to be out at night we had no problems - the old town has been massively cleaned up over the last few years and there are plenty of policemen around to provide reassurance. Why stay in the new town in a concrete block when you can experience part of the history of Ecuador in this beautiful hotel? I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    35
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
124
334
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at Casa Gangotena for three nights. The property has been lovingly restored and is in a perfect location for visiting the old city. The only problem is that your visiting is confined to the daylight hours as the historic area is not very safe at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MustiMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Casa Gangotena before and after our trip to the Galapagos and I can say I have never stayed in a more beautiful hotel. The mansion that houses the hotel has been lovingly restored and the modern decor and furnishings give it an eclectic and contemporary flair. The hotel exudes a calm and serene ambience in its elegant atmosphere. The guest rooms and bathrooms are impeccably clean and tastefully decorated and the staff is truly welcoming, professional, courteous and efficient. We had breakfast there each morning and the food was beautifully presented, fresh and delicious.
We were a group of women traveling together and one of the evenings when we were staying at the hotel, we returned from dinner about 11 PM and went over check out a concert that was going on at the plaza across the street from the hotel. I noticed a security person following us to the plaza and realized that the hotel had sent a security guard to accompany us. While nothing happened, we were so grateful to the hotel for ensuring our safety in the city that evening.
I would highly recommend Casa Gangotena to anyone lucky enough to visit the beautiful city of Quito

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stella8083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Having spent 4 weeks crossing South America and staying at a number of 5* hotels, Casa Gangotena was by far and away the very best hotel we stayed in. It was the most luxurious, our bedroom was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was extremely well appointed. Staff were very professional, friendly and nothing was too much bother. Breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Although fairly new, this hotel ranks quite highly on our list of places to stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful and the location is excellent. We stayed here both on our way to and our way back from the Galapagos with both visits being prepaid. Once I had checked out the first time I noticed that they had overcharged us on the room. (Shame on me for not noticing earlier but we left very early in the am for our flight.) When we checked in the second time we pointed out the error and it was fixed without issue. We would certainly stay at the Gangotena again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Restaurant is great! It is nicely decorated, staff is extremely helpful, food is very good. Even though it was late evening the hotel staff were willing to offer a site inspection of the rooms and public areas which are nicely decorated!

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Juanepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I love this hotel. We spent one night in it and it wasn't enough! The rooms are quiet despite being on the mail square. The food is fabulous and the service even better. The location is perfect. And the decor is genuinely interesting and lovely at the same time.

Just a perfect place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LDGrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
18.5 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
0.5 km away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#8 of 114 in Quito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.4 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
4.0 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
1.8 km away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gangotena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gangotena

Property: Casa Gangotena
Address: Bolivar Oe6-41 y Cuenca, Quito, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 Hotels in Quito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Gangotena 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a newly-restored historic mansion overlooking Plaza San Francisco, the three-story Casa Gangotena harbours 31 rooms, a showcase of eye-catching style, contemporary design, antiques, fine furnishings, modern technologies and quintessential comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Casa Gangotena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing