We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
US$134
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$189
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hostal Quito Cultural(Quito)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
US$67
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$450
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$410/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
285
127
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
127
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza san franciscoold towntea roomcentral courtyardhistoric quitosmall restaurantperfect locationfamily run hotelcommon areasold houseeggs to orderwooden floorsbeds were comfortablemain plazawe loved our stayliving roomlight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 449 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We were very happy that we chose this as our hotel for our time in Quito. It was conveniently located in the historic part of the city - just off the Plaza de San Francisco. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast delicious and filling. A previous reviewer mentioned feeling unsafe, but my friend and I (both women 65+) felt quite safe. The office where the keys hang happens to be on the third floor, and the outer door to the hotel is generally kept locked. It seems unlikely that someone could just casually walk in off the street and grab a key. Our only complaints were that we didn't get a room with a window, and every chair in the place was clearly chosen for appearance and not for comfort. I recommend the Boutique Portal de Cantuna and would stay there again myself.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Once an old convent this is now a supurb little hotel. It still has a tiny chapel. Our room was big and well lit by windows overlooking the courtyard. Good comfy bed. Nice sized bathroom. Great tasting freshly cooked breakfast. The public spaces are full of old furniture and places to sit and enjoy the peace, check your emails or take a cup of tea. Great atmosphere. The hotel is also in a great position to explore Quito by foot as it is adjacent to the Plaza San Francisco and the map they give you has some great walks on.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Character and Quaintness abound in this unique place. Located just steps away from the Plaza San Francisco and the center of old Historic Quito. Lots of sights, restaurants, and shops with in easy walking distance. Upon entering the central glass roof courtyard, you feel like you have entered the library of an eccentric Uncle. Many interesting furnishings about. There is an upstairs covered "observation platform" which offers a nice view of El Panecillo Hill and the Virgin of Quito Statue. You have to climb a ladder to get up to this platform. We had room 6 on the ground floor, down the hall to the right from the courtyard. This room has two beds in a semi separate sleeping area. This is the room where the front window looks into the hall and a side window that looks into the laundry area. There is a very large step down into the bathroom, so turn the light on before you step!

Two things that keep this from being a 5 start review:
There was a miscommunication about our return to airport transportation. Which resulted in us paying twice for that. We had prebooked/prepaid for Sun transfers to take us back to the airport. This was communicated to the desk staff the day before our departure. The hotel staff ordered a taxi for us thinking that we needed a transfer.
Just before our scheduled early morning departure, we were summoned outside for our transfer by the night watchman. The time was 10 mins early, but Our names were on the drivers list so we just assumed all was good. Due to language barriers we didn't know we were on the wrong van until we got to the airport and Sun transfer was calling to see where we were. We had no choice but to pay the other taxi driver. Lesson learned, if you have prepaid for a transfer, make sure the driver produces some form with the company name on it and proof of payment

The room was very noisy at night. The upstairs has wooden floors and walk way around the upper part of the courtyard. Given the age of the building it transferred noise very well. Ear plugs were needed to sleep.

Room Tip: get an upstairs room if you're a light sleeper
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlbeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2017

We stayed here our first night in Quito. We arrived late and left the next morning for Banos. Staff were friendly and helpful with arranging airport transport. The staff member who we mainly communicated with spoke English and also provided an overview of the recent election and what it meant for Quito. Eggs made to order at breakfast which is served in a quaint restaurant in the courtyard facing outside. Only complaint was our room didn't have a window.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel was clean and comfortable although basic. This is a beautiful old home turned Bed and Breakfast right across the street from the Plaza de San Francisco. It is a wonderful location. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was bread, jam, yogurt, fruit, coffee and eggs made to order. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank CaliTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews