We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
289
130
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
130
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza san franciscoold towntea roomcentral courtyardhistoric quitoperfect locationsmall restaurantold houseeggs cookedcommon areaswooden floorsbeds were comfortablemain plazawe loved our staylight sleeperliving roompresidential palace
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 456 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2017

The whole staff here is just truly amazing. They really help with everything from helping to get a cab, to helping arrange day trips, to helping with pre-arranged driver's.

The rooms are very amazing and quaint. They have great hot water. The breakfast is amazing. And they can also cater to allergies at breakfast...the cook even bought me lactose free milk just to be nice .

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel for your next stay! I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Indy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

If you look for a cozy unique place to stay, this is a great Hotel. With only 12 rooms it is very quiet, though directly in the center of the old city. We booked private tours with Diego and he did an amazing job touring us to the market in Otavalo and Cotopaxi. We highly recommend this place!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Uli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017

This hotel served our purposes near the historic center of Quito. They were accommodating and helpful, but no frills or anything extraordinary. The room was adequate, not great, but it slept well and was clean enough. The best part was the great water pressure in the shower. When we had questions, they had good answers and did what they could to help us. Breakfast was good and worked to start us out right. Worth the price we paid for the location, but don't expect anything mind-blowing.

Room Tip: Stay Near the Courtyard as the Internet only works in Public Spaces.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 26, 2017 via mobile

We were very happy that we chose this as our hotel for our time in Quito. It was conveniently located in the historic part of the city - just off the Plaza de San Francisco. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast delicious and filling. A previous reviewer mentioned feeling unsafe, but my friend and I (both women 65+) felt quite safe. The office where the keys hang happens to be on the third floor, and the outer door to the hotel is generally kept locked. It seems unlikely that someone could just casually walk in off the street and grab a key. Our only complaints were that we didn't get a room with a window, and every chair in the place was clearly chosen for appearance and not for comfort. I recommend the Boutique Portal de Cantuna and would stay there again myself.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2017

Once an old convent this is now a supurb little hotel. It still has a tiny chapel. Our room was big and well lit by windows overlooking the courtyard. Good comfy bed. Nice sized bathroom. Great tasting freshly cooked breakfast. The public spaces are full of old furniture and places to sit and enjoy the peace, check your emails or take a cup of tea. Great atmosphere. The hotel is also in a great position to explore Quito by foot as it is adjacent to the Plaza San Francisco and the map they give you has some great walks on.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews