We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
289
130
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
130
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza san franciscoold towntea roomcentral courtyardhistoric quitoperfect locationsmall restaurantold houseeggs cookedcommon areaswooden floorsbeds were comfortablemain plazawe loved our staylight sleeperliving roompresidential palace
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 456 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Right in the old town, near trolley and other public transport. It is a beautiful house that used to be a convent. Staff is helpful and super friendly.
As old house not everything works perfectly well, but this is also part of the charm.
The breakfast is nice but they do not pay attention to special needs of the visitors. Though in Ecuador is easy to replace wheat bread with gluten free options (yuca bread or bollos de verde), in this hostal they did not find an option for our celiac members of the family. We had to search and buy it ourselves yuca bread to accompany the eggs and fruits.

We tried 5 different rooms as we came back three times and we had two rooms each. Our advices are:
If you love navigating online from your bed (as I like reading the nees in the morning), this is possible only from room 12.
Best rooms have windows towards the exterior, they have light and you can ventilate them.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Portal de Cantuna was a great choice for our family. The location in Old Town was perfect. The hotel and rooms had something of interest to catch your attention every turn. The staff were very friendly and helpful with every request and went out of their way to welcome us. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay there again if I have the opportunity to return to Quito.

Room Tip: Room 9 is by the office. Some noise as a result, but didn't interfere with sleep
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

This hotel is quaint and beautiful. The staff was wonderful, and very friendly- they were so helpful in pointing out locations they thought we might enjoy. Wonderful location, in the heart of the historic district. And Sonia cooks a wonderful breakfast for her guests!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017

We reserved two nights on booking.com about 3 months in advance. The hotel is in old town, which has all the UNESCO heritage sites and great colonial architecture...but not much for tourists to do in the way of eating (in our opinion). The street the hotel is on is a little bit run down looking and beware there is construction going on right around the corner on the METRO. this creates lots of noise during the day and sort of kills the old colonial mood of the place. that being said, the staff was pretty helpful. it's a family business. they let us check in early since our flight was an overnight flight, and we got to eat breakfast that morning -- eggs, tea, fruit, bread. The room had good hot water, functioning bathroom, reasonably well lit, if chilly. we also had some problems with the safe which the owners helped us manage so we could use it. There's a lot of noise as the hotel is an old house with central lobby area and tables right outside the rooms, so you really hear everything. we were able to sleep 6 hours after our overnight flight with a good fitting pair of ear plugs, and we slept fine overnight with ear plugs. beds were comfy. Things were going fine until the next morning when were about to head out to explore and we were told that there was some booking problem and we had to leave -- basically we were being sent to another hotel in old town to accommodate "a big group." this was not appreciated as it was our last full day in quito to explore. so, they helped us walk our luggage (3 bags) over to another hotel, and we got settled in there, etc. they apologized and gave us a gourmet chocolate bar as compensation. My sense was that the booking problem was known already when we arrived, yet no one told us. This was annoying. Because of that and it seemed a little disorganized, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid room right next to office
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Staff were friendly.

The hotel is full of chacter as it was once a grand home converted to a hotel. We booked on line and it came with breakfast. The building was very old had a lot of charm and the rooms were quaint . The roof over the courtyard is glass and ornate metal which is stunning.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel arranged for a private car for us to be picked up at the airport for 40 usd great value as we arrived very late in the evening the driver was inside the airport waiting for us. we were asked for more money as the driver had parked the car and he had to get out of the airport it was a long drive approx. an hour.

if we got a regular taxi it would have been $30 but you would have to find one that could speak English and know where you wanted to go not something you want to do this late in the day. The roads were deserted and not in a desirable area, so we were happy we had arranged this prior to our arrival.

Front desk clerk was waiting for us on the stairs to carry our bags up to our room as everyone was in bed and they wanted to keep it quite.

The rooms was nice but it had a window to the inside of the hotel it was just for the first night and we were tired so we just went to bed. The bathroom was small clean and basic, Breakfast in the morning was bread jams fruit and eggs coffee and juice. it was adequate.

The safe in our room was not working, so we took our passports with us when we went to explore We had only got down the road and our back pack had been opened lucky for us another tourist noticed it and advised us before they got to our money, but it scared us as we did not feel a thing. Tip:. put a lock or a tie a clip anything on the zips. Pick pockets are in a abundance in the area.

Our second room had a working safe, but it overlooked the yard where the staff parked their cars and there was street sellers in the day using it. In the evening the noise from the street was not good from cars using their horns, dogs were barking and howling until the early hours, and then the trash carts came and there was a lot of shouting. we did not get a very good sleep and we were pleased we only had booked 3 nights,

hotel arranged for taxi back to the airport this time it only cost us $30

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Passionisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews