We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Ranked #6 of 247 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is very well located (walking distance to all the sights in old town) and in a quiet courtyard behind one of the main squares. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Right in the old town, near trolley and other public transport. It is a beautiful house that used to be a convent. Staff is helpful and super friendly.
As old house not everything works perfectly well, but this is also part of the charm.
The breakfast is nice but they do not pay attention to special needs of the visitors. Though in Ecuador is easy to replace wheat bread with gluten free options (yuca bread or bollos de verde), in this hostal they did not find an option for our celiac members of the family. We had to search and buy it ourselves yuca bread to accompany the eggs and fruits.

We tried 5 different rooms as we came back three times and we had two rooms each. Our advices are:
If you love navigating online from your bed (as I like reading the nees in the morning), this is possible only from room 12.
Best rooms have windows towards the exterior, they have light and you can ventilate them.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Portal de Cantuna was a great choice for our family. The location in Old Town was perfect. The hotel and rooms had something of interest to catch your attention every turn. The staff were very friendly and helpful with every request and went out of their way to welcome us. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay there again if I have the opportunity to return to Quito.

Room Tip: Room 9 is by the office. Some noise as a result, but didn't interfere with sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This hotel is quaint and beautiful. The staff was wonderful, and very friendly- they were so helpful in pointing out locations they thought we might enjoy. Wonderful location, in the heart of the historic district. And Sonia cooks a wonderful breakfast for her guests!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We reserved two nights on booking.com about 3 months in advance. The hotel is in old town, which has all the UNESCO heritage sites and great colonial architecture...but not much for tourists to do in the way of eating (in our opinion). The street the hotel is on is a little bit run down looking and beware there is construction going on right around the corner on the METRO. this creates lots of noise during the day and sort of kills the old colonial mood of the place. that being said, the staff was pretty helpful. it's a family business. they let us check in early since our flight was an overnight flight, and we got to eat breakfast that morning -- eggs, tea, fruit, bread. The room had good hot water, functioning bathroom, reasonably well lit, if chilly. we also had some problems with the safe which the owners helped us manage so we could use it. There's a lot of noise as the hotel is an old house with central lobby area and tables right outside the rooms, so you really hear everything. we were able to sleep 6 hours after our overnight flight with a good fitting pair of ear plugs, and we slept fine overnight with ear plugs. beds were comfy. Things were going fine until the next morning when were about to head out to explore and we were told that there was some booking problem and we had to leave -- basically we were being sent to another hotel in old town to accommodate "a big group." this was not appreciated as it was our last full day in quito to explore. so, they helped us walk our luggage (3 bags) over to another hotel, and we got settled in there, etc. they apologized and gave us a gourmet chocolate bar as compensation. My sense was that the booking problem was known already when we arrived, yet no one told us. This was annoying. Because of that and it seemed a little disorganized, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: avoid room right next to office
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Staff were friendly.

The hotel is full of chacter as it was once a grand home converted to a hotel. We booked on line and it came with breakfast. The building was very old had a lot of charm and the rooms were quaint . The roof over the courtyard is glass and ornate metal which is stunning.


The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel arranged for a private car for us to be picked up at the airport for 40 usd great value as we arrived very late in the evening the driver was inside the airport waiting for us. we were asked for more money as the driver had parked the car and he had to get out of the airport it was a long drive approx. an hour.

if we got a regular taxi it would have been $30 but you would have to find one that could speak English and know where you wanted to go not something you want to do this late in the day. The roads were deserted and not in a desirable area, so we were happy we had arranged this prior to our arrival.

Front desk clerk was waiting for us on the stairs to carry our bags up to our room as everyone was in bed and they wanted to keep it quite.

The rooms was nice but it had a window to the inside of the hotel it was just for the first night and we were tired so we just went to bed. The bathroom was small clean and basic, Breakfast in the morning was bread jams fruit and eggs coffee and juice. it was adequate.

The safe in our room was not working, so we took our passports with us when we went to explore We had only got down the road and our back pack had been opened lucky for us another tourist noticed it and advised us before they got to our money, but it scared us as we did not feel a thing. Tip:. put a lock or a tie a clip anything on the zips. Pick pockets are in a abundance in the area.

Our second room had a working safe, but it overlooked the yard where the staff parked their cars and there was street sellers in the day using it. In the evening the noise from the street was not good from cars using their horns, dogs were barking and howling until the early hours, and then the trash carts came and there was a lot of shouting. we did not get a very good sleep and we were pleased we only had booked 3 nights,

hotel arranged for taxi back to the airport this time it only cost us $30

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Passionisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights of our Ecuadorian vacation extravaganza! This hotel is the perfect location for walking to all the Old Town sites. The rooms are good sized - the bed was a double and the shower had amazing water pressure and got very hot - something I value a great deal when I'm traveling! The rooms are decorated in an eclectic and old Spanish style - truly unique and one of a kind! This hotel is family run and everyone is so friendly and helpful. A great breakfast of breads, fruits and eggs is served every morning making this place a truly great value - especially when you factor in the location.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
3.4 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
0.1 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
701 reviews
0.9 km away
Casa El Eden
Casa El Eden
#1 of 113 in Quito
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Hostal de La Rabida
Hostal de La Rabida
#6 of 113 in Quito
531 reviews
4.1 km away
Vieja Cuba
Vieja Cuba
#19 of 113 in Quito
454 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna

Address: Bolivar Oe 6-105 | Centro Historico, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing