We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
289
130
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
130
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza san franciscoold towntea roomcentral courtyardhistoric quitoperfect locationsmall restaurantold houseeggs cookedcommon areaswooden floorsbeds were comfortablemain plazawe loved our staylight sleeperliving roompresidential palace
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 456 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Charming colonial-era hotel located just steps away from Plaza San Francisco and all Old Town attractions. Walk to Plaza Grande, La Compania Church, Presidential Palace in minutes. The rooms are well appointed and Sonya, the proprietor, serves up delicious breakfasts daily (fresh fruit juice, home-made breads, yogurt, granola, and eggs). Sonya and her family are wonderful hosts who go out of their way to make guests feel welcome, and share their knowledge of local restaurants and places to visit. We had a lovely 6-night stay, and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We stayed here for three nights a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is very well located (walking distance to all the sights in old town) and in a quiet courtyard behind one of the main squares. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile

Right in the old town, near trolley and other public transport. It is a beautiful house that used to be a convent. Staff is helpful and super friendly.
As old house not everything works perfectly well, but this is also part of the charm.
The breakfast is nice but they do not pay attention to special needs of the visitors. Though in Ecuador is easy to replace wheat bread with gluten free options (yuca bread or bollos de verde), in this hostal they did not find an option for our celiac members of the family. We had to search and buy it ourselves yuca bread to accompany the eggs and fruits.

We tried 5 different rooms as we came back three times and we had two rooms each. Our advices are:
If you love navigating online from your bed (as I like reading the nees in the morning), this is possible only from room 12.
Best rooms have windows towards the exterior, they have light and you can ventilate them.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mariana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Portal de Cantuna was a great choice for our family. The location in Old Town was perfect. The hotel and rooms had something of interest to catch your attention every turn. The staff were very friendly and helpful with every request and went out of their way to welcome us. Breakfast was delicious. I would stay there again if I have the opportunity to return to Quito.

Room Tip: Room 9 is by the office. Some noise as a result, but didn't interfere with sleep
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

This hotel is quaint and beautiful. The staff was wonderful, and very friendly- they were so helpful in pointing out locations they thought we might enjoy. Wonderful location, in the heart of the historic district. And Sonia cooks a wonderful breakfast for her guests!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews