We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The service was fantastic, everyone bent over backwards to help. We stayed for 2 days before our Galapagos cruise and then returned and stayed for another 4 days afterwards.
We had to remind housekeeping at the beginning that there were 3 of us in the room but once that was done, we had no issues. The concierge helped organize tours. There were 4 restaurants, the breakfast buffet and lunch buffet was unbelievable, so much choice.
The hotel is located withing walking distance of the new town and very close to a modern and large shopping mall and supermarket.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write to us.Our commitment is to make our guest feel no less than satisfied,your comments are truly appreciated.
We hope we can serve you in a near future.

Warm Regards
Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
J W Marriott Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

Highlights of the J W Marriott Quito include the lobby bar area, nicely appointed rooms, elegant spa/fitness area and one of the best Executive Lounges we've encountered. While the entire staff was excellent (front and Concierge desks), the Executive Lounge team was extraordinary. Other J W Marriotts should visit the Quito hotel to understand how they maintain this level of service (and perhaps copy their hiring model).

Only down side to the experience? The American music playing loudly by the outdoor pool everyday. With all the wonderful local music, why resort to American pop?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

My wife and I stayed two nights on the way to the Galapagos and one night on return. All was arranged by Celebrity Cruise and they selected a superb hotel.

The lobby is huge and full of fresh flowers. The staff and the service are excellent. The rooms are huge with all the amenities you desire. The bathroom includes a soaking tub, and separate shower stall. The beds are out of this world.

Keep in mind that Quito is close to 9400 feet above sea level. .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed at the JW Marriott Quito for 3 nights before a Galapagos Islands cruise. From the minute we landed in Quito to the time we left, the staff went out of their way for us. They met us at the airport, recommended restaurants and tour companies and helped us with flight issues. The general manager introduced himself to us when we checked in and asked us to contact him if we had any issues. We had none, so we didn't see him again. But we appreciated his warmth and professionalism.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUBuckeyesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The Marriott in Quito was selected by Celebrity cruises for before and after its Galapagos trip, and was well chosen. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the TV huge (with cable stations in multiple languages), the bathroom containing shower and separate tub. Safe in closet, easy to operate. The staff was cordial and helpful, without being intrusive. The outdoor pool was heated, large and delightful. Breakfast buffet contained many wonderful hot and cold selections. The gift shop was small but contained a comprehensive collection of sundries and souvenirs. (TIP: Buy bottled water in the gift shop if you need more than the free two bottles in the room: it's a fraction of the cost of that in the honor bar.) Celebrity's pre-arranged dinner was delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredtraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

You don't go to a Marriott for an experience - actually you want the opposite. The hotel itself is located very conveniently in Quito. The rooms are clean and the lobby offers many spots for sitting and relaxing, while the on site restaurants are reliable. Perfect for the business traveler and the quick trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrd550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I always start my Marriott reviews with the same statement “Well what can I say; Marriott is like home, worth every penny. I love Marriott hotels in general because they always make me feel like I am at home” This hotel is perfectly situated not too far from the airport ($5.00 Cab Ride) and quite close to all of the great restaurants in the neighborhood ($3.00 cab ride). It is quite new. Rooms are new and pretty spacious. I will admit that most Marriott’s are very standard, however, this one is quite cool. Not only is the service impeccable, executive lounge is great but the way this hotel looks from the outside is pretty cool. Overall it’s a great place to stay. Quite inexpensive for JW Marriott.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bburagos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
4.0 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
701 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#21 of 113 in Quito
1,431 reviews
2.4 km away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#5 of 113 in Quito
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#14 of 113 in Quito
1,017 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#17 of 113 in Quito
779 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $217 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing