We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in Quito”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the JW Marriott in Quito after our 7-night Galapagos cruise. it's located in the Mariscal area not too far from Plaza Foch which is the heart & soul of Quito's nightlife full of bars, clubs & restaurants. There's nothing around the hotel to stroll around and it wouldn't be a good idea to do so especially at night. Even if Plaza Foch is walkable, they advise taking a taxi. The hotel is a 10-15 min taxi ride to the Centro Historico (Old Town), a World Heritage site that is the colonial center of Quito. A must see & explore area by day & night. But Old Town sleeps early while the Mariscal around Plaza Foch is just beginning so it's a good place to hang out at night with caution though. The hotel lobby is magnificent filled with beautiful floral arrangements. The rooms are very nice, spacious & comfortable. The bathroom is big with separate shower. Everything is clean. There are plenty of upscale restaurants in the hotel. The daily breakfast downstairs, if it's included in your room rate, is somewhat limited as I've seen other hotels offer more. The cleaning staff is very efficient & courteous. The reception staff is OK but not too accommodating. I give the JW Marriott Quito 4 stars and I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celestial G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,160 - 1,166 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2011

Go to the Holiday Inn across the street instead (I stayed at both), it has free wi-fi, free business center, a wonderful free breakfast, gorgeous rooms and friendly staff!

As for this Marriott, the front desk was friendly and the building itself is beautiful. However, I prepaid through Expedia.com and that included free breakfast. When we checked out, they charged us $40 for breakfast because I didn't have printed out proof that we had vouchers! It's literally $3 for 2 people to eat breakfast anywhere else in Quito. I would've printed it, but it costs $4 to use their computers!

I finally printed it out, brought it back and asked them to refund me the money. They tried to give me "Marriott points" instead which aren't worth much. I insisted on the money back and they said it won't show up on my credit card for 3 months.

That was just the first issue. The worst was that I prepaid for my parents as well, but their flight got delayed. So I told the front desk when I checked in to hold their room and not cancel it. The guy brushed me off and nodded yes like he understood. Well when my parents got there the next day, they said there was no reservation and that "Expedia.com must've pulled the reservation when they didn't show up." So not only did I have to pay for those two nights, but they made me pay for yet another night. No refunds. So that was one night for the price of three. They tried to make us pay for breakfast AGAIN even though the front desk who booked it said breakfast was included. Glad my father put his foot down so we didn't get charged.

Terrible terrible terrible customer service. I will never stay at a Marriott again.

On a side note, the beds were also hard as bricks.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TippyCanoeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My spouse and I stayed at the JW Marriott Quito for two nights in mid-February 2011 prior to a Celebrity Xpedition cruise to the Galapagos and again for one night in late-February 2011 after our cruise. So much has been written about this hotel that I'm not sure that I have much new information to share, so I’ll just focus on some of the things that I haven’t read before. Windows in the rooms open (or a small part of the large window opens), so you can get fresh air in your room. No beer is served on Sundays in either the bars or the restaurants; however, you can have alcohol delivered to your room via room service to “skirt the issue”. Smoking is permitted in the lobby bar and outside the main entrance. The breakfast buffet is rather extensive, as others have said, and if you want a Diet Coke or something that you don’t see on the buffet, just order it - we didn’t have to pay extra for a few carbonated beverages at breakfast. Although we reserved a suite on the cruise, we weren’t placed on the executive/concierge level in this hotel; however, all the suite passengers seemed to be located together in the hotel on a high floor with views of the swimming pool.The rooms were spacious, as were the bathrooms, with separate standing shower and soaking tub. This is a nice Western-style hotel, and foreigners need not worry about feeling comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffnfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed at the JW Marriott twice this summer on our way to the Galapagos and then again for a tour of Ecuador. I thought it was a wonderful choice. This hotel is not up to the usual JW standards you will find in Europe or the US, but it was very nice for the area. The local drivers told us the hotel was one of the very best choices in Quito. Standard rooms were fine - about what you would expect of a regular Marriott, but if you can upgrade to suite on the 10th floor ... it is certainly worth the extra charge. We only paid a little extra to move to a suite with club access. Views from the higher floors are great - city lights at night and we could see the snow-capped mountain during the day. Be sure to request a room with a view, even if you do not opt for a suite. The 9th floor club lounge has a little patio area that is a nice spot to enjoy a drink or quick bite to eat. The food quality in the main lower level restaurant and room service was okay, but nothing was great. Again, this property is not JW quality. If you expect Marriott/Hilton type of general fare, you will not be too disappointed. The service at the hotel can be a bit slow, but the staff members were friendly, helpful and always professional with us. The concierge staff arranged special tours for us that were really inexpensive (private cars, English speaking drivers) and most enjoyable. No need to take the group tours! We also got help from the staff to have oxygen tanks delivered to our room upon arrival to help with the altitude the first night. There is not a physician requirement in Quito and you can just request the oxygen for a slight charge. The city and surrounding areas were a treasure to see. Certainly anyone traveling to the popular Galapagos Islands should add a few extra days to spend in Ecuador. if we were traveling back to Quito, we would select this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Opt for a 10th floor suite, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stilloutthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott Quito just one night before flying to the Galapagos the next day. Although we weren't there long enough to enjoy many of the hotel's ammenities, we were so impressed with the friendly staff and professional setting. The employees spoke excellent English and made us feel instantly welcome. The lobby was full of gorgeous, fresh flower arrangements, and the gentleman waiting to take our luggage to our room presented me with a long-stem rose from one of the arrangements while we were checking in; a sweet touch!
Our brief stay included a full breakfast buffet that offered a great variety of standard fare and more unique fruits and pastries. We would absolutely stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for accommodations in Quito.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randainwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is the best Marriott Hotel I have stayed. The rooms are very comfortable and luxurious. The public spaces, large gym, sauna, bars, restaurants etc were superb. The service was also excellent - a genuine welcome. Helpful and friendly manner from every member of staff I met or spoke to. Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguelito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had stayed here for 3 nights with Adventures by Disney. Great hotel in center of Quito, central to attractions. Breakfast buffet and dinners were great. The front desk went beyond expectations in terms of customer service the first day when we had wet clothing in our luggage because of American Airlines. The front desk took our clothes to the laundry service and dried them for us, free of charge. When we called American Airlines, they said to come with the wet clothing and luggage to the airport to file a claim and were very unresponsive. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktkmeeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
4 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
714 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#22 of 113 in Quito
1,465 reviews
1 km away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#13 of 113 in Quito
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#7 of 113 in Quito
1,191 reviews
1.7 km away
Le Parc Hotel
Le Parc Hotel
#6 of 113 in Quito
557 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Quito
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Quito
#3 Family Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#5 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $210 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing