We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Quito
Ranked #12 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We were booked here as part of a Galapagos cruise. It is not our usual accommodation choice as we prefer boutique hotels. We were pleasantly surprised in all respects. The staff were attentive and genuinely warm. Excellent breakfast and a good choice of restaurant options, without the need to go outside the property. We enjoyed the sushi bar. Downsides are that it is a 10 to 15 minute taxi ride to the old town. The hotel car was $8 while the taxi we picked up in the centre of the old town was $2.50. Food and alcohol are expensive compared to local prices, however the counter to that is that it is consistent and service is excellent. We strongly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,096 - 1,102 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

While in Quito for a 2-week business trip I stayed at the Torres de Suites, an apartment type offering connected to and directly behind the Marriott - perfect for the business traveler wanting something more home-like than a hotel room. My one-bedroom apartment offered a complete kitchen (stove/oven, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, and needed plates/utensils), stacked efficiency washer/dryer, wi-fi, and a nice walk-in closet with organizers. You can take advantage of room service from the Marriott with their usual excellent service. The apt is cleaned daily with fresh linens and towels. There are several shops and restaurants in the Marriott is you don't want to explore the city after work. While the furnishings may not be up to those offered in the main hotel suites, for the price and amenities I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grannietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Our stay at the Marriott was wonderful! The hotel is beautiful, filled with huge, fresh floral arrangements. The staff was extremely accommodating. They arranged for one of their drivers to take us on a tour of the area since we wanted to explore rather than doing a formal tour. He was a wonderful companion and we felt like we received the the insiders scoop. We even walked to the local coffee shop where he buys his beans.
After all of our traveling, I had a stiff neck and found relief from a massage in their spa.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAOSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

After a 7 day medical mission in amazonia, I was giddy to be welcomed into the J-dub Quito for a cold-turkey return to civilization. Nobody does it as well as Marriott. No matter where you are in the world, you'll always get the same excellent service and facilities. One real bonus of this hotel is the hotel-owned taxi/shuttle service....no screwing around with the local cabbies.

Room Tip: You can go a lot cheaper than Marriott in Quito, but the quality falls off fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest:
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us.
We are truly glad, you had the excellence service level that you deserve,We work hard and effectively to keep our high standard levels. Our goal is to make you feel satisfied.

thank you so much once again,and we look forward to serve you again soon.

Regards,


Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
JW Marriott Quito Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This hotel was a lovely surprise. I learned that the rose capital of the world is in the highlands of Ecuador, and this hotel showcased countless varieties everywhere, including your own room. I learned that it's lovely all year round in Quito and it doesn't snow like one might imagine in the at such high altitude. I think about the tasty potato soup served in the main dining room, locras de papas, and have been searching for it ever since my trip. The pool area was wonderful if a bit cool. The atrium was full of light and thirst-quenching drinks to sample passing through. The location was perfect as we walked to parks, malls and our Spanish School. A $3 taxi ride will take you to the old town or the aquarium.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Guest:

First of all I would like to thank you for such a gracious comments,and for taking the time to write us, we truly appreciate them. We are glad you had a nice stay. This will make us go higher
in keeping high levels of excellence.

Look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
JW Marriott Quito Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We have stayed at other JW Marriott’s and this one was not as nice as the others, but I would still highly recommend it. Prior to arriving, I ordered up the hotel car for pickup. The charge was only $15, and when we were trying to depart the terminal at 11:30 pm, it was a crazy madhouse. It was very nice having someone standing at the luggage area with a sign and my name on it to assist. When I went to check in, I was told that my room on the Executive Level that I had reserved months prior was sold out. They put us in a different tower in a suite with decor equal to a Holiday Inn. I was assured that the next morning that our Executive Level room would be ready, however, after being told it was going to be longer, I got the manager involved. The room appeared and we got re-checked into it by 11:00 am. This was our only negative experience.

The hotel itself is very nice, with excellent reasonably priced restaurants and great food. There are fresh flowers everywhere in the hotel which are quite impressive. All of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful during the entire stay. The Executive Level lounge has a nice buffet breakfast, snacks in the evening, bottled water, etc. Cocktails are not included but the cost is reasonable. You cannot drink the tap water and two bottles of water are supplied in your room. If you don’t have the executive package, additional bottles are charged to you. The rooms in the JW tower were very nice and well appointed, quite a difference from the first night. There is a large soak tub and separate shower with granite floors and tile.

Other reviews indicated the area did not appear safe or it was not near shopping. We did not find that to be true. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance or for a dollar cab ride. (All currency used is US dollars which is nice). There is a very modern three story giant shopping mall that is about an 8 minute walk on a well paved sidewalk from the hotel called El Jardin.

For our day trips prior to the cruise we went up to Mindo which is in the "Cloud Forrest" in the Andes. The drive is long (2 hours) but quite scenic. There is hiking, river tubing, and an impressive butterfly farm. The next day we went horseback riding at Palaluhua Hostel, which is about 1 1/2 hour drive. It is a quaint Inn and very clean. We rode for two hours in some breathtaking scenery at a cost of $20 each. If you are going to make these excursions, get the driver from the hotel. I tried to save some money on the second trip and hailed a cab. The driver did not really speak English and got lost, and it cost the same as what the hotel would have charged. None of the four of us that went are horse people, but we had a ball and had some great cold beer after the ride!

We were leaving on the Celebrity Xpedition to the Galapagos Islands and rolled our stay into that pre-cruise package. This included a City tour with lunch, dinner that night, transportation to the airport both ways and another night at the JW at the end of the cruise. This is a must do if you are going on that cruise. You don’t have to think or worry about a thing. (It is the trip of a lifetime).

If I was not going on the cruise I don’t think I would have visited Quito, which is just another big city. However, there are things to do outside of it and the JW Marriott is a good base in which to see them from.

Room Tip: Stay on 9th floor executive level, that is where the lounge is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2011

Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us,we truly appreciate your comments
We want to assure you, that we are committed to meeting your travel needs with outstanding customer service,we will continue to evaluate our operations and service assuring that our costumers are completely satisfied.Our intention is to provide a superior customer experience. We work hard and effectively in keeping a high level of excellence.

Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely

Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
JW Marriott Quito-Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Amazing hotel with a 5 star ambience.....Well decorated and superb glass lobby and room size is bigger than other hotel rooms. Though we were there only for one night, it was very very comfortable. They also have a nice bar with different music playing on different days. Nice place to just chill out. Their spa looked very inviting but didnt have time enough to go there. If you go be sure to book way in advance cause it gets full quickly.

2 pools, one for children and one warm pool for adults. Trust me it helps a lot in the cold weather.

Room Tip: Any standard room is good. You wil lhardly spend anytime in the room given the hotels facilities (un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purav00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanico B, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Guest :
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, We truly appreciate them,it is our goal to keep our guest satisfied in any single aspect. I am glad you Had a nice experience with us.

We look forward to seeing you again in a near future,
Warm Regards

Germánico Benalcázar
Manager on Duty and Quality
JW Marriott Quito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
4.0 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
700 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Colon Quito
Hilton Colon Quito
#22 of 113 in Quito
1,430 reviews
2.4 km away
Sheraton Quito
Sheraton Quito
#5 of 113 in Quito
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Swissotel Quito
Swissotel Quito
#15 of 113 in Quito
1,015 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
778 reviews
0.7 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Quito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Quito

Address: Av. Orellana 1172 y Av. Amazonas, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Quito
#4 Business Hotel in Quito
#4 Family Hotel in Quito
#6 Luxury Hotel in Quito
#11 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: $217 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Quito 4.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Quito, Ecuador in style when you stay in the JW Marriott Hotel Quito. Our luxury hotel is ideally located near the area's best dining, shopping, attractions and entertainment. Take advantage of our full service spa, decadent restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and gorgeous pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Quito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Quito
Marriott Hotel Quito
Marriott Quito
Quito Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing