We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Guayasamin Museum
from US$87.00
More Info
from US$115.00
More Info
Reviews (1,136)
Filter reviews
1,136 results
Traveller rating
854
232
38
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
232
38
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capilla del hombre oswaldo guayasamin amazing artist guayasamin's home his life social justice personal collection guided tour pre columbian private collection artist house contemporary art human suffering impressive collection house tour art lovers taxi ride
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,136 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2018

This former residence of the artist has been converted a museum containing his large collection of pre-Columbian art as well as paintings by the artist and his contemporaries such as Chagall and Picasso. It appeared that only a guided tour is allowed. Two different videos featuring interviews with Guayasamin and his methods were very important to understanding and appreciation of his life and work. The house and grounds, perched high above Quito, are exquisitely maintained with sweeping views.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank reachingdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018

We'd not heard of the man but so glad we followed a personal recommendation and visited. You need a taxi to get there as it is out of the central area but there is a line of taxis outside to get back at the end of your visit. Guayasamin came from very humble surroundings. We were stunned by the work on show - firstly his collection of artifacts in his wonderful house and secondly by his humanistic and large scale art in the museum. Our guide took us around the house and we felt we had plenty of time there. Another guide then took us around the museum and then left us to go back on our own. WE really enjoyed our visit and learning about this artist and his life and work.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Morris23burghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018

The Guayasamin museum and ajoining home celbrates Ecuador's greatest artist Oswaldo Guayasamin.
The museum is beautifully presented and showcases his work admirably.
The adjoining home of Guayasamin has lots of memorabilia and gives great insight into the man.
This is a must do in Quito.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank grahame g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We are not museum fans but this is a MUST-visit when in Quito, Guayasamin is an Amazing artist and this Museum is an experience. It is well guided and his art is very moving. We were truly stunned.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank SimoneGadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

Take the time if you're in Quito to learn about this artist and his work. The guide was informative. The home/museum well worth the trip.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank luna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews