We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
209
205
62
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
205
62
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtlovely little hotelsmall hotelold townbars and restaurantswithin walking distancequiet at nightflat screen tvdouble beddesk staffeggs cooked to orderrooms were very cleanmin walkhot watereach morningnice stayplaza foch
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 487 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

This cosy quaint hotel was a good base for us as we took day trips and overnight trips outside Quito. The rooms are compact but clean and comfy. Beware, this is an echoing and busy hotel, so like other reviewers have shared, there's very little sound insulation. We got woken by groups coming back at 1am, and then by early leavers at 5am. There's nowhere quiet for phone calls. It's also on a busy crossroads so we also didn't open the windows much. The staff are helpful, but as it's such a busy working hotel for tourists, attention isn't so personal. If you'd like somewhere quieter, we also stayed at nearby Hotel Antinea for 3 nights (also a boutique colonial style place, but with bigger courtyards for breakfast and more social areas for quiet times) for a great price and found it offered a much more personalised service (fewer guests!) Finally, like all the hotels we've stayed in in Ecuador, there's no hot water in the rooms, so if you want fresh coffee or tea (rather than three lukewarm stuff they have in thermoses downstairs), you might want to bring your own travel water boiler.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Hugh1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018

The Vieja Cuba is a pretty little hotel in the Mariscal district of Quito. Our room was small but adequate. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Each room has a safe and free wi-fi is provided. Staff helped us move our large cases up and down stairs .
Good breakfasts and evening meals.we were provided, plus breakfast boxes when we had to leave early. Slight drawback was that I couldn't fit my laptop in the room safe,

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidA7393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a large old home which has been converted into a cozy and quaint hotel. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable. The included breakfast includes cereal, yogurt, eggs cooked to order, juice and coffee or tea. In addition to the charming building, the outstanding part of staying here is the unusually friendly and helpful staff. Danielle at the desk was particularly helpful in answering questions about facilities in the neighborhood, and in calling taxis. Maria, who works hard each morning to serve breakfast was a joy to start the day. The only downside is that the hotel is not close to the major tourist sites, but taxis are readily available. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Eileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

This was a fantastic place to stay in Quito.
Check in was fast and pleasant and the staff were very friendly and spoke excellent english to make up for my poor attempts at spanish.
The rooms were clean and well presented, there was no air con so could be a little warm but opening the windows provided a cool breeze. It could be a little noisy if you had elephants in the room above (only one night for us fortunately).
The staff helped us organise a taxi tour to the middle of the world monument and our driver for this was excellent (make sure you go to the actual gps centre too).
The hotel is near a big supermarket so you can pick up anything you need and there are some ok restaurants along the road. We didn’t have any security worries while staying here but we didn’t stay out too late (beyond 9pm) as the hotel advised.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Was traveling north and south of Quito, so my tour company put me up here, 3 times. As a result sampled a number of rooms. In the adjacent building: interior room #26 I think on the window well is indeed noisy and quite small. Conversations from other rooms just float up. Stayed in ground floor room, tho not very private due to foot traffic and window facing into hotel office, was much more quiet. Best room was #6 main bldg. a corner room, lots of windows and door to tiny balcony overlooking the street.

Breakfast is tasty, fresh and substantial. And the serving lady is a dynamo doing most of the work alone and with a smile. A good way to start the day. Reception staff a bit more reserved, but efficient.

Traveling alone I really didn’t want to venture far. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and coffee shops in walking distance. Try El Tapeo and Coffee Uv across the street. And Museo Mindiale is worth a drop in.

Found Vieja Cuba clean and well located.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews