We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little gem in Quito”

Restaurante Maitane
Ranked #6 of 1,785 Restaurants in Quito
Price range: US$16 - US$70
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In Maitane Restaurant passion, love and constancy is our shield; quality, taste and service is our strength; creativity and innovation is our greatest effort and achieving the satisfaction of our customers is our highest priority.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

I had Spanish food in Spain and many other places and this restaurant is the real deal. They actually serve black paella! and it was delicious!
The "pulpo a la gallega" was very tasty - they did not hold back on the paprika. And their clams are highly recommended.

Service was outstanding, wine recommendation was spot on.They even called a taxi for our ride back to the hotel.

Overall, a very nice evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank freddy37064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha R, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante Maitane, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2018

Hello Freddy,

Thank you for your honest review, we are very happy to hear that your experience in our restaurant was wonderful. We are always working and improving for our customers to be satisfied. We wish you the best and hope you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 330 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

My grandson and I chose this restaurant because of the TA reviews. We were greeted by the chef and owner This small restaurant is very clean and appealing We were shown the fresh clam selections. We chose the ceviche selection and the whole Galapagos fish. The 4 different (2 raw, 2 cooked) were amazing! The fish with garlic oil was moist and flavorful. My grandson finished with the chocolate cake which I also enjoyed. This restaurant is a must. He will soon be opening an Italian restaurant in the Swissotel.

Thank LoraineMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha R, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante Maitane, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2018

Hello Loraine, thank you for visiting us and for your flattering review. We always do our best to see our customers happy, we are delighted to hear that you and your grandson enjoyed your evening in our restaurante. We wish you the best and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

Last night, I went with my husband, sister- and brother-in-law and nephews to Maitane. We arrived late for a reservation and the owners were regretful that we had to wait even a few moments while they set up a new table for us!

The restaurant is small and bright, with an open kitchen concept so you can watch some of the food preparation (which I love). The hostess greeted us warmly—but our Spanish as a group is uneven, so her son Cristian came out to talk with us in English. He is an owner and the head chef—a very engaging, informative man.

Cristian made some wonderful recommendations. We started off with chorizo croquettes with a Bechamel sauce (my husband said they were the best he’d ever tasted), tuna ceviche (my favorite), pulpo Gallegos (a traditional octopus and potato preparation) and charcuterie. For our main course, we had beef cheeks, ribeye and paiche (a great South American fish) with garlic and olive oil. After all this, we could not fit in any dessert!

All in all, the evening was magnificent. Great food, great company and a great host.

1  Thank SashmiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha R, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante Maitane, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words and review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your food last night. All the personnel at Maitane sends their regards and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2018 via mobile

We were greeted as family when we entered this tiny, charming restaurant. The service was exceptional, appetizer and dinner recommendations were perfect - including our wine pairings. There were 6 of us, we’ve been travelling in South America for 2.5 months and we all agreed that this was the best food and dining experience since we’ve arrived!
Highly recommended and you can use open table to book reservations.

Thank obmmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha R, Public Relations Manager at Restaurante Maitane, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind words and review, we hope that you enjoyed your meal last night. All the personnel at Maitane sends their regards and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip in Ecuador.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

What a revelation! The local is elegantly simple, but the cuisine is truly outstanding. I have eaten at many top restaurants in Spain, and Maitane comes in at the top. We had two different fish, one a mero and the other one from the Amazon, and both were memorable. The small organic salad was ideal. Desserts, a mousse and a torrija, were also great. The chef and owner explained to us each course with grace and loving enthusiasm. We even got to meet his mother, very charming, who told us the great cooking went back in the family history. What a wonderful evening! Not to be missed. Highly recommended!

Thank Ran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Maitane, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2018

The personnel of the Maitane Restaurant we send our greetings and deep thanks for your comment, we are honored to have attended and we are pleased with your visit. Your comment motivates us and fills us with joy. We hope you have a good trip and we look forward to your return to Ecuador and it will be a pleasure to serve you again at the Maitane Restaurant.
You, our customers are our highest priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Maitane also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Restaurante Maitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing