We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly ”
Review of Cafe Alhambra

Cafe Alhambra
Ranked #33 of 44 Dessert in Quito
Price range: US$1 - US$3
Cuisines: Cafe
Description: Traditional expressions as: "Good day, follow nomas" O "Right away there table" have been pronounced without interruption for 58 years in the traditional Cafe Alhambra in the historic center, San Blas in Quito. Breakfast: with cooked tortilla, scrambled eggs and sausage or ham, american coffee passed with the best Ecuador artisanal coffee, natural juices: tomato, soursop, blackberry, strawberry, babaco, pineapple ... And the best traditional Quito bread. And, other traditional delights of Quito: tamales, tamales, quimbolitos, breaded chicken, pork or traditional sandwiches of hot cheese and ham. And traditional snacks as: moncaibas, chimborazos, and more...Ahh, and do not forget traditional hot prepared to take: chocolate or ponche which have not changed since opening. Listening to the best classical and instrumental music, unique collection only heard in the Cafe Alhambra.
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional expressions as: "Good day, follow nomas" O "Right away there table" have been pronounced without interruption for 58 years in the traditional Cafe Alhambra in the historic center, San Blas in Quito. Breakfast: with cooked tortilla, scrambled eggs and sausage or ham, american coffee passed with the best Ecuador artisanal coffee, natural juices: tomato, soursop, blackberry, strawberry, babaco, pineapple ... And the best traditional Quito bread. And, other traditional delights of Quito: tamales, tamales, quimbolitos, breaded chicken, pork or traditional sandwiches of hot cheese and ham. And traditional snacks as: moncaibas, chimborazos, and more...Ahh, and do not forget traditional hot prepared to take: chocolate or ponche which have not changed since opening. Listening to the best classical and instrumental music, unique collection only heard in the Cafe Alhambra.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

I'm sorry but when I read the previous reviews I was expecting more. I would be cheating to say the food was amazing. It's okay. A lot of people go there and yes it can be considered as a must see, but I'm expecting more to give it a 5 stars. A lot of Ecuadorean restaurants are overrated. But the staff is very friendly and hard working!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank FrankvanOdiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2016

I went here to grab a coffee before meeting a friend. It was close to my hotel and seemed to be less touristy and more like a normal place that Ecuadorians go. I was right! It is a little hole in the wall and packed with locals. No pictures, nothing in English and everyone enjoying a typical breakfast. I ended up having an older Ecuadorian couple sit with me because there were no other seats available. I asked them about the food they were eating and drinking and ended up ordering some of the same. They also gave me advice on places to go, when to go, and how to get there. I would definitely recommend it if you want to be less touristy and just act like you live there.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UDFlyer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga Marina F, Propietario at Cafe Alhambra, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2016
Google Translation

Muchisimas gracias por la espontaneidad y fortuna de haberle tenido en nuestro tradicional Café Alhambra. Espero que vuelva otra vez, y que mejor si nos recomienda a sus amigos viajeros, que descubran Café Alhambra donde todo el mundo disfruta comiendo, conversando, y escuchando la mejor múscia clasica e instrumental del mundo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

While walking the streets of Quito we came across this little gem of a café and started in on a couple cups of Americana coffee . From there we sampled a couple of quimbolitos and one of the best giant almond cookies I've had in my travels. This is definitely worth the stop if you are in the area!!!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2015

It is a true institution the food amazing the service the greatest, one of that places that you are treated with a lot respect and do not have to pay $$$$$ for it. The food is to die for it Humitas and Quimbolitos the best you will not go wrong at all.. the owner is 24/7 there taking care of every detail

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank MbA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2016
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Alhambra also viewed

 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Cafe Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing