We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
70
29
8
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
29
8
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two nights panama hat eggs old world charm beautiful hotel rooms are spacious other hotels juice excellent location would stay here again each morning walking distance courtyard ecuador furniture museum taxis
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 117 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and really enjoyed this hotel, and would stay here again. For S. America this is a very nice hotel. Excellent staff and most speak/understand English. Good breakfast in the mornings, nice courtyard if you wish to relax or enjoy a drink or cigar. Very close to walk to many shops, dining, coffee in Cuenca. This is clearly the best place we stayed during 2 weeks in Ecuador (including best bathroom and water pressure). Only drawback...hard pillows.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

Based on the rooms and their size I would like to rate this hotel higher but it is bought down by a few important things. Firstly noise, if you are in the front part of the building you will hear the bing bong of the front door sensor every time the front door opens or closes any time of the day or night so don’t expect to get uninterrupted sleep or any sleep if a light sleeper. Second wifi in the rooms is sketchy and frustrating. Traveling requires planning and these days we need reliable wifi. Lastly breakfast offering below average and even the stuff that was meant to be hot was stone cold. A bit of a shame overall as location is good and staff friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sheila1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very confortable and the people working here are very friendly. I just have a few comments about it :
- they serve a good buffet breakfast, good food and with enough variety for different tastes, however, the eggs heater was not working as it should because they were warm cold instead of hot during the 2 days I stayed there.
- the shower did not have a steady temperature. It never got cold, but it was not steady.
These are just 2 small observations. I completely recommend this place, but if you are a shower perfectionist, you will not get it here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank DianaUIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

Beautiful historical hotel with lots of old world charm. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and very large and roomy. The bathrooms are also spacious and have a tub/shower combo and wonderful toiletry products. There is also a bar fridge in the room. Our room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the courtyard and was quiet at night. The breakfast buffet was adequate, however the scrambled eggs were always runny. The location was great, as walking distance to the Panama Hat Factory and Musuem, flower market and central square. Lots of great restaurants and shops in easy walking distance. The only downside to this hotel is that the wifi is expectionally poor and was very hit and miss. Also, if you want to get laundry done, unless you are prepared to pay a small fortune (Ritz Carlton prices) don't do it. A few members of my travel group had small bags of laundry done and it cost them almost $60 US! I believe they were charged $10 for a pair of jeans.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlegirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

We found this hotel noisy - the staff is up banging around and talking at 5:30 am - and since the rooms are all off a large open atrium it carries directly to the rooms. Large hard pillows, hard bed, no windows in the room so quite hot and stuffy even though Cuenca is cool. Very marginal buffet breakfast. Not a great stay especially, as another reviewer noted, we simply couldn’t sleep, even with sleeping pills.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank robin_kuritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews