We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
316
62
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
62
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles turn down service garden room main building piano player turn of the century old world lovely hotel order eggs ceviche small bathroom overlooking the garden lobby area restaurant staff king bed three nights old building
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 393 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2016

We stayed during our trip in Ecuador two nights at this wonderful Boutique Hotel. It is located in the old town in a restored colonial mansion. The reception and service are very good and professional. The hotel has a nicely furnished courtyard where our room gave out but we had also a nice view on the garden. Rooms differ dependent on their location which, of course is related to the original structure of the building. I guess it is important to have a room with an outdoor window. We had the “Sirena”, consisting of a sitting room, a sleeping room and a separate bathroom with toilet and shower. The room is wonderful with nice furniture, several ornaments and sculptures. All amenities are available. There is free WiFi that works well, complimentary drinking water and a safe that you open and close with your credit card. The room has no airco but a stand-alone heater. At the turndown service two hot water bottles were delivered (?) and in the Gourmet restaurant a heater was active. In Cuenca they are very afraid to get a cold, I guess. There is no mini-bar and the Bar is closed on Sundays. You can order drinks in the patio however, so that is not a problem. The Casa Alonso Gourmet restaurant offers international and Ecuadorian food. The service is somewhat slow and minor misunderstandings do happen. The food was very good. The wine list gives ample choice but is relatively pricy. A positive element in the wine list is that they offer half bottles for white and red wine, a good option.

Room tip: have a room with a view on the gardens
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurits V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansion A, Guest Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the atmosphere and decor of our hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Thank you for choosing Mansión Alcázar.

Best Regards,

Mansión Alcazar Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2016

This hotel was excellent. It is well placed for exploring the old city. There is a good restaurant on site and pleasant patio gardens to sit in. We spent two nights here in a deluxe suite for two that was very comfortable and spacious. The room had some lovely touches, with plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space and a good comfortable sitting area. There is free WiFi in the rooms and an altogether relaxed feel to the hotel.

Room tip: We enjoyed the deluxe suite as it was very spacious and comfortable but could not comment on other rooms as we did not see any of them.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansion A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Boutique Mansión Alcázar and our Gourmet Restaurant Casa Alonso, during your recent visit to Cuenca and for your kind review. We really appreciate your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Daniela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2016

This was the venue for renewing our wedding vows, we did not spend the night here, unfortunately. SO GLAD we chose the Mansion Alcazar! Every single inch is impeccable, beautiful, attention to every bit of detail. The interior, perfect. From the grand inner sanctum, the various rooms with antique furniture where we had photos taken, the gardens, WOW!! Not only absolutely gorgeous, but the warmth of the service. We felt like we were with family. Sandra the manager is AWESOME!!! She treated us like royalty and was SO cool and FUN!! The bartender who was so warm and personable and doubled as the pianist!! The wait staff at the restaurant. The other LOVELY people at the desk. Out of words for how amazing this place is. If anyone has an event in Cuenca and needs a perfect venue, this is it. IF ONLY we had booked a room for the night, we had unfortunately already pre-paid at another place. Next time we are in Cuenca for SURE we are spending the night here! We are looking forward to trying out the "sister" hotel here in Cotacachi, La Mirage. But we could not recommend Mansion Alcazar any more highly. THANK you, Sandra!! And everyone else!! Mansion Alcazar is beyond outstanding, inside and out!!! This was a very important event for us on every level and Mansion Alcazar far exceeded our expectations!!

Room tip: We did not spend the night, venue for renewing our wedding vows. But we peeked into a room WOW
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ecuadorisbest246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansion A, Public Relations Manager at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2016

Dear guest,
We are thrilled that you had such a great stay. Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating and for taking the time to mention the reasons why you liked Mansión Alcázar.
Please consider us your home away from home.

We want nothing more than to see you again.

Warm regards,

Daniela M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2016

I stayed here 2 nights over New Year's and I wish I could have stayed 2 weeks. It's a lovely little hotel, well-maintained and renovated the right way -- sophisticated and extremely comfortable but not anonymous or corporate in any way. The service is excellent, and it's a terrific base to explore Cuenca and the surrounding towns.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank onlyslightlypicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansion A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of Hotel Boutique Mansión Alcázar. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed different aspects of the Hotel and its location.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Daniela M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2016

We were here in January 2014. This is such a unique place to stay in Cuenca and was the highlight of our visit to the city. The turndown service, décor, and staff are all great. We also enjoyed eating breakfast out in the garden. There is certainly some history here, and locals still meet in the afternoon and evenings to rehash old times and have drinks while listening to the piano. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetluxury283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansion A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mansion Alcazar Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Mansión Alcázar. I am glad to know that you liked the different aspects of the Hotel.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again.

Best regards,

Daniela M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews