We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Home away from Home with the Best Hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room from Front Entry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room from Front Entry
Dining Room  from Kitchen Dining area from Kitchen with Living Room on the left. Half Bath door is at the center of the photo.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Living Room from Front Entry
Dining Room  from Kitchen
Dining area from Kitchen with Living Room on the left. Half Bath door is at the center of the photo.
Kitchen from Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom looking out to garden
En Suite Master Bath with Rainshower head
Master Bath
Second Bedroom with double bed next to shared bathroom
Secon 3/4 Bath next to Second Bedroom
Front Bedroom next to half bath
Front Entrance
Street View
Looking up
Yanuncay River walk one block away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cuenca, Azuay Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
worldlywi...
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Perfect Home away from Home with the Best Hosts!”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment was everything we could have wished for. As long term travellers we truly appreciated this superbly equipped apartment. We felt like we were at home living in a real house.

There was loads of linen and everything we needed in the way of kitchen utensils, including a blender, toaster, sharp knives. On top of a fabulous apartment there is a nice supply of basics such as oil,vinegar, rice, spaghetti, coffee, tea, sugar, salt and to top that off the fridge had enough eggs, milk, cereal, butter, jams, sauces - enough for our first meals.

It was super clean and very well maintained. The beds were comfortable and the linen was really nice quality, and there were thick luscious towels. It had the bonus of an outdoor area complete with a beautiful garden, not to mention the beautiful hummingbirds in the trees right outside. The WIFI was fast and reliable. The apartment was impeccably clean and the neighbours were super friendly. The location is in a perfect neighbourhood, very safe and within 10 minutes walk to the supermarket and the bus and taxis are close also.

The hosts Rex and Cheryl are the nicest people you could meet and did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. They are super helpful and friendly - oh and we loved the company of their friendly pooches too. We highly recommend this apartment to anyone staying in Cuenca, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - it was the Perfect Home away from Home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
I cannot believe that we missed this fabulous review and the opportunity to respond and thank our guests, who were wonderful to host. They too deserve a 5 star review and will be welcomed by hosts wherever they travel in the World. Thank you for staying with us and may your travels be rewarding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaCH41...
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great choice for a rental in Cuenca. We were 2 adult couples visiting Cuenca for the first time. We had a great experience staying at Cheryl and Rex's flat. As described in TripAdvisor, the apartment is spacious and beautifully decorated. The location is perfect. We rented a car but we left it parked at the house parking lot and took taxis. Cheryl and Rex were great hosts who treated us like family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
it was wonderful having these two couples as our guests. meeting wonderful people is one of the fringe benefits of being hosts. Thank you for the lovely review and it pleases us to be able to ret4urn the compliment. They will be welcome by hosts wherever they go.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariuxiSC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to rest. Nicely decorated and owners very helpful. Also very clean and well furnished.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Great help from owners. The house is nicely decorated and clean. Well furnished and located away from the downtown but a great place if you want to rest at the end of your sightseeing.
Rex and Cheryl are very helpful. and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to friends and family. We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house itself and the helpful owners
Liked least: water heater and distance from downtown.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Hosting these guests was a pleasure. They are a delightful couple who were fun to interact with and who kept the apartment immaculate.They are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lrumple20...
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW!!! Beautiful flat, wonderful hosts, overall, great experience!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was an excellent choice for our family! We traveled with three adults and two small children. The place was spacious, had a beautiful back yard, very tastefully decorated interior and was great for our kids! The owners, Cheryl and Rex were so helpful and incredibly kind and gracious hosts! When we arrived, they helped us inside, with all of our stuff, made sure we were comfortable and gave us any information that we needed about Cuenca! They also had stocked the fridge with the essentials, including; milk, eggs, butter, juice and a couple of other things. They had also bought pancake mix and syrup for our first breakfast and provided bottled water! The kitchen is fully stocked (and beautiful!!). They also had maps, brochures about different activities around Cuenca, and cards printed up with information to show your taxi driver, in order to get back to the house! So helpful! We will be staying here every time we visit Cuenca! Thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Having these travelers stay in our apartment was a joy. They have booked again and will be welcomed as friends as well as customers. We recommend them unconditionally to other hosts.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter k
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a total dissapoinment”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

noise from rooster and stray dogs-cant flush your toilet paper waste-put it in a can(disgusting)--no oven just toaster type bakes-location required call taxi to go anywhere-
bed squeaks with every move-no tv for 2 days-requested shortened stay after 2 days but nothing done-only told we are working on it-
no front door lock-latch broken
flies and mosquitos every day-paid for 14 days and stayed 8-
only pluses was pretty house if you do not mind sharing with the owners who live upstairs-and pretty backyard -

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
To those potential future guests who are reading this review, we’d like to present the other side of the coin.

First, it saddens us to have to write this rebuttal. First and foremost, Flip Key/TripAdvisor clearly states on their website (cancellation policy) there will be no refund within 5 days of the check-in date. In this case, the guest cancelled six days of their stay 8 days AFTER they checked in. Once a guest has checked in, the reservation cannot be cancelled or modified; therefore the online calendar was blocked out for their entire stay which prevented us from being able to accept any bookings during that period of time. We did have other inquiries which we had to refuse.

We had problems with this guest before they even arrived. They wanted to book a month, so we offered them the discounted rate that only applies to stays of a month or more. Then, they changed their mind and reduced it to two weeks, but we chose to give them the discounted month-rate. On top of that, they felt they shouldn’t have to pay the standard booking fee which Flip Key/TripAdvisor charges them, even though the fee was clearly stated online when they submitted their booking request (which implies acceptance of all terms). This was our first booking, so we chose to offer them the discounted rate and we split the cost of the booking fee.

Their dog barked incessantly while they were away from the apartment. To get him to stop, we brought him into our home, for which they thanked us in an email. After the guests checked out, we discovered the dog had caused significant damage by clawing at the newly finished front door. The guest also broke a window pane in the master bath and took apartment supplies (i.e.; extra rolls of toilet paper, large bottle of shampoo, etc.) with them.

Their Issues
‘Noise’… unfortunately noise is common in Cuenca and other Latin American cities. It’s very difficult to find anywhere in the city where you don’t hear dogs barking, car alarms, horn honking, busses/traffic, festivals, etc. Our house is in an unusually quiet neighborhood. That is why we chose it. We also provide guests with a sound machine and suggest people bring ear plugs.
‘Flushing toilet paper’….this, too, is very common here and in other cities throughout South America. The plumbing in the building is not always the problem. Antiquated city sewage systems cannot handle solid waste.
‘no oven’…Very few short-term rental guests are interested in doing full-on baking. However, we do provide a convection/toaster oven which can bake many things…even chicken, plus a 4 burner gas cooktop.
‘taxi’…. The location is stated clearly in the listing and one can clearly see where the apartment is located by viewing the online map. Taxi’s cost no more than $2-$3 to go most places in Cuenca. in addition, this guest had difficulty walking. Why complain about having to use a taxi when walking is a challenge for him?
‘Bed squeaks’… Now that we know about this, it has been fixed.
‘No TV’…not true, it was available from day 1. Over the air Spanish channels (does anyone remember Rabbit Ears?), Wi-Fi for streaming and a library of DVDs are provided. He wanted Netflix connected. We spent hours working on his computer adding security software to his laptop (he had none installed), installing other software, etc. so he could connect his laptop to the big screen. When the TV and computer he was watching Netflix on went to sleep, we immediately came down, corrected the issue and explained to him how to ‘fix’ it in the future. The reference to ‘No TV’ refers to the fact that two days into their stay we installed a WIFI booster to increase the reliability of the signal.
‘No front door lock’…not true. There is a working deadbolt which is secured from either side with a key. He is referring to a small sliding bar used for privacy purposes (which has since been removed).
‘Flies’….yes, flies live here in Cuenca. They are a fact of life pretty much everywhere.
‘Sharing with the owners who live upstairs’…The listing clearly states we live in the upstairs apartment…no surprise. It came in handy to have us on call when needing cabs, ‘fixing’ the sleeping computer, providing information on internet services , interpreting and asking all the questions people have when moving to a new country.

‘only pluses was pretty house’…We also provided them with extra supplies when they ran out, we called taxis for them, we researched their ability to have internet installed in the new home they found, we took care of their dog, we even prepared food for them when they announced they were diabetic (but hadn’t bought food with them).

We saved them nearly $400 by reducing our rate and absorbing fees which brought their costs down to less than the cost of a basic hotel room with a bed and bathroom… this is a 3br, 1200 sq. ft. apartment! We also take pets, a rarity in short or long term rentals in Ecuador. Yet, even with that they demanded we give them money back because they chose (well into their stay) to relinquish the last 6 days of their booking. That demand plus a threat of a bad review was formalized in an email to us.

Even after all this, we refunded the full $200 security/damage deposit to this guest.

As a result, they are clearly seeking revenge by posting a damaging review. Please take the comments in this review in context. We look forward to proving to future guests the review is unjustified.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, Ecuador
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, easy access to El Centro. Truly a beautiful city and a good location.
Liked least: A little cool and rainy for us coastal people, but that's Cuenca during the winter.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
It is wonderful to have guests who travel with their dogs as members of their family. Our guests were lovely, as were their furry friends and they took wonderful care of the apartment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$59
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing